Recent Searches
Clear

Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona

|
Barcelona, Spain
Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Make a pilgrimage to Santa Maria de Montserrat, a monastery near Barcelona and one of Spain's key religious sites, during this visit. Join your guide as you scale Montserrat Mountain on the cogwheel train, enjoying striking vistas of the mountain's surreal rock formations and Barcelona off in the distance. Then visit Benedictine abbey and the Royal Basilica, to view La Moreneta (the Dark One) a 12th-century carving of Our Lady of Montserrat. This Montserrat visit also includes entrance fees and transport by air-conditioned coach.
  • Tour of Santa Maria de Montserrat from Barcelona, led by a guide
  • Ride the cogwheel train up Montserrat mountain for panoramic views of Catalonia
  • Visit the Benedictine Santa Maria de Montserrat, one of Spain’s most important pilgrimage sites
  • See the 12th-century La Moreneta and learn about its importance in Spanish cultural and spiritual life

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

This combines a tour of Montserrat with a ride on the mountain cogwheel train, all in just a half a day.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Expert bilingual guide
Cog-wheel train ride
Tasting of 4 typical liquors made by the monks of the monastery
Radio guide system
Entrance to the audio visual exhibition in Montserrat “Espai Audio visual Montserrat”.
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Carrer d'Alí Bei, 80 , Carrer d'Alí Bei, 80, 08013 Barcelona, Spain

Julià Travel Gray Line Spain, Estació del Nord, ground floor, platform 19

This activity will end right where it started.
Explore one of Spain's most important religious sites at Montserrat, a monastery situated high above the city of Barcelona in greater Catalonia. The spot offers sublime views, a variety of religious artifacts, and insight into the history and spiritual traditions of this region of Spain.

Begin your excursion by boarding an air-conditioned coach in central Barcelona, continuing on a ride through the scenic landscapes of Catalonia on your way to Montserrat. Your guide provides details about the region's history as you go, offering details about the mountain of Montserrat and the monastery that lies near its peak.

Upon reaching the foot of the mountain, climb aboard a cogwheel train for the climb to the peak, enjoying panoramic views along the way. Listen as your guide explains how hundreds of years of erosion have sculpted the striking pink rocks visitors see today. Make sure to also keep your camera handy for great shots of the mountain's unique rock formations with Barcelona and Catalonia in the distance.

Arrive at Santa Maria de Montserrat, the Benedictine abbey that occupies the mountaintop. Learn about the critical role the monastery plays in the cultural and spiritual traditions of Catalonia via an audiovisual presentation. Then check out the Royal Basilica of Montserrat, situated adjacent to the monastery. The Basilica is home to the 12th-century wooden carving of Our Lady of Montserrat, a sacred object also known as La Moreneta (the Dark One).

Spend some free time exploring the grounds at your leisure, stopping at the monastery gift shop for a tasting of three local liquors. Then head back to your air-conditioned coach for the trip back Barcelona, stopping at the original departure point.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Montana de Montserrat
Montserrat is a rocky mountain located 50 km to the southwest of Barcelona. It is considered the most significant and important mountain of Catalonia. The etymology of Montserrat comes from Catalan Mont (mountain) and serrat (serrated). The importance of this mountain is due to the legend of the miraculous appearance of the Madonna and Child in one of the caves. This cave received the name Santa Cova (The Saint Cave). To this day the wood carving of the Madonna and Child are kept in the Church of the monastery and it is possible to visit it. This image of the Madonna is popularly known as La Moreneta (The Black Madonna) for its dark color. You will climb the mountain inside the Rack Railway (Cog-Wheel Train).
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Abadia de Montserrat
During the first part of the tour you will enjoy an introduction to the history of the monastery. Once the guided tour has ended, you will have free time to enjoy de fabulous land scape by yourself, to visit the local food market, to visit de audiovisual exhibition and to taste some typical liqueurs.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants travel free provided they do not occupy a seat
  • Note that the La Escolania children's choir does not perform in the afternoon
  • Correct dress code is requested to enter the Basilica at Montserrat. It is not permitted to enter with tank tops, strapless shirts, short shorts or sandals
  • The duration of the tour includes the round trip to the destination.
  • Queues to see the Black Madonna may occur depending on season.
  • Please note that there are different departure times depending on the seasons.
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Julia Travel S.L
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona ?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona ?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona .

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "Also, bring a warm jacket as it gets really cold up there." See review
  • "Also all restaurants close early so if hungry grab some food before going off on your own." See review
  • "Expensive,its mainly the bus trsnsportation and guide spesks both Spsnish and English so you have to listen to both." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
659 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

Showing 1-10 of 659 reviews
star-3
Montserrat , it’s history and amazing scenery is a must when visiting Barcelona and area.
Lynne_M
, May 2022
Loved Montserrat. So much to see and so interesting. Tour guide was knowledgeable and also pointed out various places of interest on route. There is so much more to see and we found the tour to be extremely rushed ie given tickets for liquor tasting and audio visual experience. Staff at audio visual gave no explanation about the experience or where to go. Many on the trip left after the initial video not knowing there was more to the experience. We barely had time to enjoy this and no time to visit the toilet etc before the tour started. We would recommend visiting Montserrat by train which is a very easy option. Had we been aware this is the option we would have chosen.
star-5
Outstanding!!!! A must see while in Barcelona!
Richard_F
, May 2022
What an amazing tour! Our tour guide was great! The whole experience was well organized from start to finish! They give you plenty of free time, taste of liquors was good and the guided tour. We took the bus and than the train. One of my favorite experiences!
star-4
Worthwhile trip
keith_C
, May 2022
Beautiful place great views also . Our bus unfortunately had a break down which resulted in us returning to the city much later than expected, missing a dinner appointment as well as walking some quiet streets after dark which made my partner very nervous
star-5
A memorable visit to Montserrat Black virgin
eglal_N
, May 2022
Bus location could have been explained better. Once at the station we expected to see clearly Viator tour. The guides were excellent and very helpful.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Monsarat tour
Gary_K
, May 2022
Location and view were amazing. However, audio device did not work so hearing guide was not possible unless I was right next to her.
star-4
Nice trip away from the city.
NickGalotti
, May 2022
Beautiful area to browse & admire the mountains. Cathedral is amazing too! Could’ve used more time too
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-3
Tour guide was awful! Venue is amazing... I'd do it on my own if possible in the future
Catherine_S
, May 2022
Cog train was wonderful! Glad we did one-way train and one-way bus. However, overall -- the tour was VERY rushed! Guide (Christina? Christin? ) was awful! "Just a job" attitude--kept changing instructions regarding meeting times & places. Provided minimal information (You can go watch video and be back in 20 minutes or 15 or no make it 20. How long was video? Oh -- there's a museum to walk through with more videos. How long should that take? Do we have time to do it? Was not told any of this!) Meet here - no up those stairs -- Oh no... meet here we need to walk around that way. Final meeting place a "seven minute walk". Ya right! OBSERVE your crowd! Many older folks -- one with a cane. Oh and walk is UPHILL the entire way! Unfortunately NOT a great overall experience of an amazing site.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Catherine_S I am glad you enjoyed the visit to Montserrat and the cog-wheel train ride, even though you were not entirely satisfied with the tour organization. Please note the increased number of visitors in this time of the year might challenge the tour development Best regards,
star-4
Need to see
Ruth_W
, May 2022
Nice experience although timing wasn’t great. Definitely a key place yo visit anx the afternoon tour fif our schedule. Organized well leaving and bus and cog-railway were nice. We went o the audiovisual museum during the first free time which was great. When we went to the liquor tasting in second free time, only had 5 minutes before the store closed. I was thinking of buying bottles, but they wanted to close at 4:40. Folks were very late to the bus to leavecwhich was a bummer
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Enjoyed the company of a...
MAGDY_S
, May 2022
Enjoyed the company of a lively group and our guide was amazing. Breath taking mountain views. Wish if it was longer to stay more time on top of muntain
star-4
A can’t miss!
Lewis_M
, May 2022
Simply majestic and a moving experience. Even though not my religion, the story behind Montserrat was very interesting. And the art work and sculpture were fantastic!
star-5
Montserrat
Barbara_B
, May 2022
It was a beautiful experience. The bus was clean and efficient. Caroline was caring and enthusiastic. Monserrat was breathtaking and interesting. A great tour!
star-5
Beautiful monastery
RevathiRaman
, May 2022
Excellent attraction must see Julia travel was very goodl I don’t know what else to write except we all enjoyed it very much
star-1
poorly structured instructions by Viator
Szmi_C
, May 2022
Start time of 3o' clock highlighted, to the contrary of other viator bookings no arrival before this was flagged up, it was hidden in "Before you go" section, absolutely unexpected. We showed up exactly at 1 3 pm but transfer bus already left, they did not try to contact us. I needed to catch up by taxi in a haste that led to my leavimg camera in taxi. I was in pieces and very disappointed. Decided never going to use Viator for booking activities. The guide was very kind, not for young children this is for adults that wasn't really suggested in tour description.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Szmi_C, I regret to learn the the inconveniences you experienced to join Montserrat Tour by not being at the departure place when it started, Please note the departure time is indicated on the voucher, the tour does not starts earlier. On the conditions it is not indicated that the customers will be contacted if they don´t attend the meeting point on time, they are requested to be at the starting place when the tour begins. Thank you for your comments on our guide, Best regards
star-5
Monserrat Tour
Julie_K
, May 2022
Jonathon, our tour guide, was knowledgeable and friendly. Monserrat is beautiful. This tour is well worth the time and money. The setting is magnificent, and the history is interesting.
star-5
A WONDERFUL TRIP TO A VERY SACRED PLACE
JP_B
, Apr. 2022
A very fine tour and our guide was very kind and a great guide of Montserrat...we so enjoyed our tour....since i have difficult walking she was kind enough to get me a wheelchair at the end to get me back to the bus...a super experience
star-4
Peaceful trip outside the city
Ashley_M
, Apr. 2022
This was an easy bus trip from Barcelona. The monastery was very peaceful and the views from high above the city were amazing. We took the English guided tour which provided all the background we needed to appreciate the history of the area. The only reason I wouldn’t give it 5 stars is because we did the late afternoon tour and when we went to use our voucher for wine/cookie tasting it had already closed. Other people in the group who did that first did have the opportunity to finish the tasting but we wished we knew to start with that just so we could taken advantage of it but it was not essential to enjoy the visit.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-2
Waste of $$
WendyCrosetti_C
, Apr. 2022
You can take the same train from downtown Barcelona for 12 Euro and have the same experience. The commentary via radio was very hard to hear and understand.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear WendyC, I regret to learn the Montserrat tour didnt live up to your expectations due to the audio devices and the accent of our guide. Please note we didn´t receive any other complaint from the rest of the attendants on your tour, Best regards
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-2
Lovely location - not so lovely tour.
Shawn_H
, Apr. 2022
We had the 4.5 hour tour. I’ll start with the good… The guide was kind and friendly. The site is stunning from the views to the sanctuary and everything in between. There were little shops and tons of picture ops. However, this is a walking tour in a mountain- lots of stairs, inclines etc so be prepared. There was too much standing and not enough movement between sites. Having to wait for English and Spanish translations doubled the amount of time spent standing. We were expecting the train ride all the way up but stopped at first stop and then took bus ride back down. So only one train ride up was disappointing and it wasn’t spelled out in the online description. It was a 50 min bus ride to the train and the seats were terribly uncomfortable. This was not spelled out in the description. We also felt rushed out because everything closed at 6 and there wasn’t time to visit shops or have a coffee. Limited options for restroom breaks. All would have been better prepared if better description was provided on your site.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Shawn_H Thank you for your kind comments on our guide´s performance, I regret lo learn our Montserrat tour didn´t live up to your expectations, Please note the description indicates it is a bilingual tour, it also mentions the trip from Barcelona will be cover on a bus and the cog-wheel train will be ride only on arrival to Montserrat. Best regards,
star-4
Good value. Great experience
Sysan_S
, Apr. 2022
Fantastic views from the top! An important historical, and religious building with awesome presence! A great way to spend an afternoon in Barcelona!
star-5
One of the most beautiful mountain cities
Jeffrey_H
, Apr. 2022
Honestly you could do this tour on your own, but having the guide allows you to skip the lines. The monastery is a beautiful place and the mountains and city is absolutely gorgeous! Also definitely go with this tour because the cog train ride is absolutely breathtaking! One of the most beautiful rides possible!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona
Montserrat Monastery Afternoon Tour with Cog-wheel Train from Barcelona

star-4658

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD60.01

star-4.57

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD88.37

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD38.19

star-4.5456

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD60.01

star-532

5 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD69.83

star-46

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD60.01

star-4.586

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD42.55

star-5143

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD120.01

star-3.5153

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD53.46

Explore Similar Things to Do