Recent Searches
Clear

Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour

star-4.547 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kailua-Kona, United States
Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes to 2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover the dark side of Kailua-Kona as you explore the town by night. With this guided walking tour, explore the haunted houses and spooky sites along Ali'i Drive, visit little-known landmarks such as Hulihe'e Palace and Mokuaikaua Church, and hear stories about Hawaiian kings, gods, and luakini heiau (sacrificial temples).
  • Soak up the atmosphere after dark on an evening walking tour
  • Escape the crowds and visit little-known sites and landmarks
  • Convenient central meeting point in downtown Kona
  • Personalized small-group experience with a maximum of 10 people
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guides
Kailua Pier , Kaahumanu Pl, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

We gather and begin the tour at the Kailua Pier, (75-5660 Palani Rd Kailua-Kona, HI 96740) across the street from the spooky Banyan Tree next to the Courtyard Marriott.

Kona Inn Shopping Village , 75-5744 Ali‘i Dr, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Big Island Ghost Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour?
A:The policy on sanitisation is:

  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
See all safety measures taken by Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "I would probably not recommend this tour unless changes are made in the future." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
47 reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews
star-1
The experience was very...
Valarie_M
, Jun. 2022
The experience was very disappointing. We spent an hour standing in a lighted parking lot with the narraitor talking but we couldn't hear him. We didn't finish the tour. We have requested a refund.
star-1
Uninteresting and disappointing
Diana_L
, Jun. 2022
This is a tour of Zach's supposed experiences with the supernatural on ohter ghost tours. There is little of interest in his stories of moving beer bottles and suspicious shadows. Worst of all, he had a companion surreptitiously take photos of our group of minors and proceded to use those photos to promote himself on social media. The young ladies involved were completely creeped out and felt violated.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
We appreciate your participation and wish you would have notified us sooner (during the tour) about the alleged photos you mention. The ‘companion’ you mention is our backup tour guide and he saw a nice photo moment with the historical bay and heiau in the background. It was not done surreptitiously as you’ve suggested and it’s since been removed from our fan page. Despite your claim, the guests in the photo appear to be having a great time.
star-3
Girls Trip 2022-Kailua-Kona
Kathy_T
, Jun. 2022
I was very disappointed with the ghost tour. It lacked more ghost stories. I felt like I was in a history class. It was not all that.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
We are disappointed with your review and lack of appreciation for the history of Kona which has led to many of the supernatural occurrences we highlight on tour. Perhaps you would have preferred actors jumping out of bushes but Unfortunately we don’t do that. Our tours are a nice blend of history and mystery and It says that on the website and tour description.
star-1
Review
Regina_Y
, Jun. 2022
Tour was a history lesson and disorganized. Not interesting for us at all. We lost interest in it as the presentation was rambling and disjointed. Hearing about old fishing tournaments and restaurant mane changes was of no interest to us on a ghost tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Thanks for your feedback. We’ll take it in to consideration for future improvements. Have a great day!
star-4
Interesting ghost tour
Dawn_R
, Jun. 2022
Zach, our guide, was well informed and very knowledgeable. He showed us some EVP's from previous tours and one of the people on our tour had an EVP app on her phone that gave us some EVP's even though Zach's equipment didn't pick up any. It was fun and gave some insight to interesting places on the island and some of the local history.
star-5
Fun, entertaining and educational
cynithia_r
, May 2022
Listening to the local ghost sightings and experiences. And the history behind the stories gave context and depth.
star-5
Ghost tour 👍🏻
Barry_S
, Mar. 2022
Zach was a awesome story teller. He’s very knowledgeable about the Hawaiian culture, myths and legends. From burial sites to haunting interactions around the Kona area. We were pleased with this tour.
star-5
The stories of the Whit...
Candace_D
, Mar. 2022
The stories of the Whit lady at the palace with the pictures to prove if! Great way to spend an evening and learn more about Hawaii! Zach is a great guide too.
star-5
Haunted Kona Tour
Shelby_B
, Feb. 2022
There were several times during the tour that a shiver ran down my spine. Especially by the gate on the beach. Our guides, Zack and Bob are very knowledgeable. We not only got a ghost tour but a great lesson in Hawaiian history. Our tour also included a wonderful book written by Zack with even more stories. I highly recommend this activity.
star-5
History
GeriJacobs
, Nov. 2021
Great to hear the history of how Kona was settled. Zach has a lot of knowledge and is very great telling the history.
star-5
Great Evening Family Tour
John_B
, Oct. 2021
Great history, nice evening stroll, great group conversation. 1st ghost / haunted tour and Zach made it great. He is very passionate spirits, respect, Hawaiian history
star-5
Enjoyable
Stephen_H
, Aug. 2021
It was very good I enjoyed it had family with me wife brother and his wife kids and grandkids but they have to put in 100 characters is kind of stupid
star-5
Great experience
Chris_B
, Jul. 2021
Very interesting tour. Excellent history on why there is a possibility of spirits on the island. My grandson very much enjoyed it.
star-3
Passionate but Unprofessional
MaKee5
, Jul. 2021
Throughly enjoyed the historical portion of this tour. My party of five could definitely have done without the paranormal devices portion of the tour. (To Cheesy) Comparing this tour to several others we have been on throughout the US, an hour and a half would have been enough, it would have also been better if we walked more while learning, rather than standing still for so long at each point. A lot of homeless visible, one even urinating during the middle of a parking lot during our tour. Our guide was unprofessional, swearing and provoked an altercation with the urinating homeless man. Police or security should have more of a presence to reduce these types of situations. I would probably not recommend this tour unless changes are made in the future.
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2021
Thanks for your OK feedback. As the name suggests, this is a “ghost” tour and not just a “history” tour, hence the paranormal equipment used. That’s what completely separates us from other operators on the island, and there are a lot. 😉 We’ve never had any issues with unprofessionalism and you can read our other great reviews. No altercation was provoked, we only tried to provoke a sense of respect to the gentleman who used the Pier as the restroom despite the bathroom being open and 20 feet away. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and we will take it into consideration as we grow. Mahalo!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Awesome!
Myra_E
, Jun. 2021
We were toured with Lauren and she was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and why certain encounters would be seen. Coming from the mainland with no prior knowledge of Hawaii we came to appreciate the local Heritage.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fun and scary adventure!!
Richard_K
, Jun. 2021
Zac was a fun guide and very knowledgeable. We did experience several eerie things!! Our teenagers loved the equipment he had available for them to participate on the tour. Let’s just say there may have been some spirits on the tour with us!! Can’t wait to to this tour again on our next trip with more friends and family.
star-5
Spooktacular
Kristine_J
, Jun. 2021
Zach is very knowledgeable. I had the BEST time on the tour. I learned about the history, culture, and tales of the past. This is a "must do" while on the island! 5 stars. Highly, highly recommend!
star-5
Great family fun
April_L
, May 2021
My kids loved using the ghost hunting equipment! It was also a great history lesson. All in all, it was a great time for the whole family.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent tour
Steven_B
, Apr. 2021
This tour was such a great experience. There so much history and very informative. We've been on ghost tours throughout the US and I would rank this up there with the best. Great Big Island tour!
2 travellers found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful time
Robin_L
, Apr. 2021
We had a wonderful time learning the historical stories. Zach was so informative and had patience with my 8 year old son who has so many questions about the history and the Paranormal activity that has been occurring

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour
Kona Haunted Hele ghost tour

star-4.547

90 to 120 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD59.00

star-45

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD56.00

star-5123

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD25.00

star-5111

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD25.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations