Recent Searches
Clear

Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika

|
Bilbao, Spain
Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Cruise the curvaceous coastline of Bilbao in a luxurious minivan on a guided tour of the city and its sights. See the intriguing industrial areas that propelled Bilbao into prosperity and visit significant landmarks like the Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia and the San Juan de Gaztelugatxe hermitage. Visit the quaint coastal villages that pepper the Basque Coast and absorb the tranquil ambiance of picturesque marinas on this enriching excursion.
  • Visit the Basque Coast and discover its beautiful sights
  • Stop at the impressive Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia
  • Enjoy transportation by car or mini-van
  • Knowledgeable, local guide
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional guide
Transport by air-conditioned coach or minivan
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
Please call the provider 48h before tour date in order to confirm the meeting point
Depart from your centrally located Bilbao hotel and climb aboard your comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Arrive at the colossal Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia and admire its industrial stature, then venture to the colorful neighborhood of Neguri to see crumbling colonial mansions owned by affluent merchants. 

Enjoy the scenic coastal splendor as you venture to the interior of the province; discover the imposing Castle of Burtron then travel towards the charming coastal village of Bakio to see why locals favor the spot for their summer sojourns. Arrive at the sublime San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, a location hailed as one of the Basque Coastlines most picturesque and admire the rugged rock formation that protrudes from the sea. 

Continue to Bermeo, a tranquil fishing village replete with winding narrow streets and impressive monuments like the Juradera Chruch and the Ercilla Tower. Enjoy some relaxed free time to explore the sights independently and allow your guide to recommend rustic restaurants for lunch (own expense). 

Next, travel to the site of Mundaka, a mirador that offers stunning views of the Urdaibai Biosphere, a UNESCO World Heritage-listed site. Conclude your tour with a visit to the village of Gernika to see the Basque sacred tree and the elaborate Law House stands beside it. Return directly to Bilbao in time for an afternoon siesta and bid farewell to your group and guide.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Puente Colgante Vizcaya
Photostop at the Vizcaya Bridge
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
San Juan de Gaztelugatxe
Photostop at the viewpoint, no ascend to the church included
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Bermeo
Short guided walking tour
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Casa de Juntas
Guided visit to the Assembly House
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Please note that the Access to San Juan de Gaztelugatxe is not included on this tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Chldren will have 50% discount if accompained by 2 adults, from 2 to 12 years old.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 54 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Servicios Turisticos Integrales
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
50 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
star-5
Fascinating regional overview
Keith_M
, May 2022
Stefan managed a complicated set of hotel picks and dual languages well, interesting overview of the area and its history.
star-5
I had a great overview of...
Jhoeland_M
, Oct. 2021
I had a great overview of the Basque history from Gernika and the daily lives of the locals. A glimpse into the historical houses of the aristocrats was a great add on and the Butron castle. The ride and the several stops along the Basque coast is not to be missed. The people their livelihood and the terrain that shape the locals was a great eye opener. The picturesque and small quaint villages were just so mesmerizing. Stephane was a great tour guide. Multitasking and managing the wheels at the same time. He did give a great understanding and melding things together for his tour. This is a nice piece of heaven I must say, truly a world heritage site that everyone must see at least once in their lifetime.
star-3
A good taster
Emily
, Aug. 2021
Beautiful things to see but very little time for interaction. You see the bridge, but cannot ride it. You see a castle but cannot walk around our inside it. You see the wall from game of thrones but cannot descend it. Best part was the time spent around Gernika and the explanation of the tree. The trip was good but could be great if extended to a full day. Spanish stronger than English but Stephan held his own- very polite.
icon Response from Host , Sep. 2021
Thank you for you comment. As it is a half day tour, it gives a general view of all our jewells. Hope you will come in a near future in order to discover them with more time :)
star-4
Good experience of Basque culture through beautiful landscape
Flora_2012
, Aug. 2021
Compact survey of the Basque landscape and culture. Interesting parcour with short photo stops, friendly quides.
star-5
Very relaxing bus tour 👍
LiMei_N
, Jul. 2021
Our tour guide is very professional and it’s nice to pick us up from hotel. Overall spent 5 hrs to see those amazing scenery around Bilbao is great!
star-5
Basque Coast Tour was great
Robert_C
, Jul. 2021
Vizcaya bridge, was interesting as I am an engineer but the time Bermeo was very nice as well. Both guides were very informative and attentive.
star-5
Enjoyed the sights and the history
Carolyn_G
, Sep. 2019
Stephan did a great job informing our tour in Spanish and in English. Really enjoyed my time on this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your comment. We will transfer your feedback to our guide.
star-5
Interesting day in the Basque Country
Bill386
, Mar. 2019
The day was very busy, visiting 4 very interesting places.Each place was very distinct, and with the presentation by the guide Stefan, led to a good understanding of the basque culture and government
icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your feedback.
star-4
I took this tour thinking we were...
Eduardo C
, Sep. 2018
I took this tour thinking we were visiting that island on the picture where the Game of Thrones was shot but disappointingly just visited a look out to see the island from afar. All in all the tour was good. The guide was knowledgeable and gave insights to the fight of the Basque people. It was amazing visiting these little known Basque town on our way to Guernica.
icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
Dear client, I am glad to inform you that we have a new tour in order to visit San Juan De Gaztelugatxe: Gaztelugatxe Reach the Top full day tour. I hope you will visit us and you could enjoy it!
star-1
Not the tour we excepted
Zena_R
, Jul. 2018
The tour that we wanted and signed up for was not the tour we were on. We were very dissapointed that the tour discription on Viator did not match the tour we were on. The tour dates and descritions did not match. The tour we were on was for people who do not want to walk and sit confortable in a bus and see sights. Since, I have kids we wanted a tour that was more interactive . We left the tour midway through as the kids were bored with it. The tour is good for people who do not want to walk and who are very very interested in Basque History.
icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your feedback. We have changed the itinerary and description in order to avoid misunderstoods with future clients! Sorry for the inconveniences generated!
star-1
WARNING: DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF...
Viviana M
, May 2018
WARNING: DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF YOU WANT TO SEE SAN JUAN de Gaztelugatxe . Because you simply won't. You will be taken to a far away viewpoint the farthest of the two and you can see half of it from faraway. I booked this tour to see San Juan de Gaztelugatxe from Bilbao. I made a search using viator search tool and I chose the only tour that said had san juan de gaztelugatxe as one of the stops for Saturday. The tour page had even a nice picture of San Juan another picture of San. Juan would feature predominantly in the confirmation voucher both COMPLETELY MISLEADING!!! to illustrate the point that the tour would stop there. The description on viator page said:... Eventually arriving at your second stop, San Juan de Gaztelugatxe.. and continued to praise its beauty. WHICH YOU WON'T SEE!! Then I took the tour the morning I booked it for and when it came to San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, they took us to a viewpoint the further away one, as I discovered on my own there was another one reachable by cars and a lot closer. They lied to my face saying it was the only one reachable by car, but a taxi came later to pick me up from a closer location and a better Mirador -viewpoint. I hate when people lied to you because they think you won't find out. I went on my own and found out their claims were false where you could hardly see the site too far and covered by trees, I have attached a picture of what we saw from there. Tell me you can call that viewing a site: what a joke! and that, according to them, was that. Our second stop at the site was not at the site, we spent 4 minute, were given a very short explanation of 2 minutes the other 2 minutes were used by me complaining that was not acceptable and they wanted to move on. I felt so cheated. So cheated. We did not see the site, we had a glimpse of it!!!! And this was simply taking the piss out of consumers!!! Really, look at the picture I have enclosed which does not resemble the ones on viator at all and honestly tell me that counts as seeing the site. Obviously not. My only reason to take the tour was to see our second stop. But I WANTED to SEE it!!! Anyway, the information provided to me were clearly incorrect and false! I didn't receive what I was promised. I would have never paid for this tour had I known I would be so cheated and not taken when stated in the description!!! I certainly want a refund!!!! This was a joke! Also tip: you can reach the other destinations by bus and it will cost you about 4 euro. And you will also spare yourselves the Basque propaganda. Obviously this way of doing things simply translates into trying to get money out of people providing the wrong information!!! Anyway, just don't choose this if you want to see San Juan de Gaztelugatxe. You would be wasting your money and time.
icon Response from Host , May 2018
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENT: Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your tour experience and regret any misunderstandings while you were on tour. Please be advised, we have another tour, "Gaztelugatxe, Reach the top," which is the best option to visit San Juan de Gaztelugatxe. You would have had to select this option when placing your booking to receive 2-hours of free time in the area to explore at your leisure. The Basque Coast tour only stops at the viewpoint for a short explanation and photos. This is a 5-hour tour and visits many different places, which is why time is more limited at this stop. We are disappointed to learn you did not continue with the tour and instead chose to leave half-way through but hope you were still able to enjoy your overall time in Spain.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-3
Ok tour to get lay of the land but...
Chase
, Jul. 2017
Ok tour to get lay of the land but not very detailed. some of the major sites you just drive by and see like Butron castle - seen from distance and thought we would get up close. Main site of the hermitage also just see from distance. Bus seats were way too small and not comfortable. ..
star-3
Good tour, experienced guide with...
FEDERICO_N
, Aug. 2016
Good tour, experienced guide with overall good service. We focused the day on the Basque culture, which we appreciated a lot. But one thing let us disappointed: due to lack of time we skipped the Butron Castle, which was shown us through the guide's i-phone. We didn't understand this actually, because in fact we thought the time for a quick visit was enough. We think that to give a high service the tour leader should make as much as possible to guarantee all the tour steps. Anyway, recommended if you don't want to drive by yourself
star-5
We had a wonderful time on our tour...
Arlene C
, Jul. 2016
We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide Stefan was knowledgeable, informative and entertaining, he was great! The scenic drive was pleasant. We really enjoyed Casa de Juntas in Gernikara Guernica and having pintxos with our guide. I only wish there was time to explore San Juan de Gaztelegutxe, perhaps it should have it's own tour. Overall, we had a great time. Definitely recommend this tour.
star-5
My wife and I went on this tour with...
Richard H
, Nov. 2015
My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.
star-4
This tour showed us the overall...
William C
, Oct. 2015
This tour showed us the overall Basque coast and the history of the people. The tour guide Pedro was very informative and made the tour interesting. The driver of the van was very good also, however the company should maintain the vehicle better. Something was wrong with the van and we had to pull over.
star-5
An interesting and informative guide...
Lydia S
, Jan. 2015
An interesting and informative guide who took us through a most magnificent area of Northern Spain. Gary was truly a delight. Money very well spent. The photography of the areas is well worthwhile.
star-5
Great fun and extremely informative...
izzie
, Oct. 2014
Great fun and extremely informative. We were lucky enough to get Garai as our guide on both the tours we took and he was great!
star-3
Interesting trip with Garai, a very...
c_s
, Oct. 2014
Interesting trip with Garai, a very enthousiastic guide.
star-5
The trip was varied and interesting...
Lucy A
, Oct. 2014
The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika
Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika

star-449

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD70.85

star-4.510

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD63.76

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD81.75

star-418

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD69.07

star-41

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD95.64

star-4.58

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD71.20

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD116.89

star-51

3 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD196.59

star-51

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD85.01
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations