Recent Searches
Clear

Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting

star-4.5114 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cancún, Mexico
 Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting

From USD138.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 days  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Combine two top tours at one discounted price over two days with a Cancun Super Saver. This Viator Exclusive provides early access to Chichen Itza and Holbox Island before most of the crowds arrive. An archaeologist guide leads you around each site in the morning, providing fascinating facts about ancient civilizations as you check out ruins like Chichen Itza’s El Castillo, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the paradisical Holbox Island set on the turquoise waters of the Caribbean.
  • Enjoy two bestselling tours at one discounted price with this Cancun Super Saver
  • Avoid the crowds with early access to Chichen Itza and Holbox Island
  • Hear about ancient Maya civilization from a certified archaeologist guide
  • See ruins like El Castillo and the Temple of the Jaguars at UNESCO-listed Chichen Itza
  • Be wowed by Holbox Island's stunning Caribbean location
  • This Viator Exclusive can't be booked anywhere else

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

Both of these insider tours allow you to explore two of Mexico's important historical sites in the quiet hours of the morning. Not only do you beat the crowds, but you are back at your hotel in the afternoon, providing some time to still enjoy the rest of your day how you wish.
Saved to wishlist!
Round transportation from the meeting points
Bilingual guide
Chiquilá boat to Holbox
Access to Cenote Hoyo negro Yalahau
Buffet lunch on Chichén Itzá day
Optional gratuities
Chichen Itza Tax (30 USD)
Transportation within the island
  • Crown Paradise Club Cancun , Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 18.5, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    Crown Paradise MP (GO MART VILLAS DEL REY) at 05:00 am

  • Beach Palace® All Inclusive Resort , Km 11.5, Blvd. Kukulcan, El Rey, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    Beach Palace MP at 05:15 am

  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort, an IHG Hotel , Blvd. Kukulcan Km 7.5, Punta Cancun, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    Presidente Intercontinental PARADERO at 05:40 am

  • Ocean View Cancun Arenas , Blvd. Kukulcan Km 2.5, Kukulcan Boulevard, Zona Hotelera, 77500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    PARADERO HOLIDAY INN-LAS PERLAS at 05:50 am

  • Crazy Hot Coyote , Av Tulum, 4, 477500 Cancún, Q.R., Mexico

    CRAZY HOT COYOTE at 06:10 am

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    Day 1 or Day 2 — Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

    In the very early hours of the day, your tour begins with hotel pickup in Cancun for the drive to Chichen Itza, where you’ll arrive before most visitors, allowing you to enjoy a peaceful and in-depth experience with your archaeologist guide.

    Listen to historical details about the well-preserved ruins of Chichen Itza, a pre-Columbian city that played an important part in Maya civilization from approximately 600 to 1200 AD. Still believed to be sacred by the modern-day Maya community, the site was a pilgrimage and worship destination until the arrival of Spanish conquerors. Hear about the discovery of the site by archaeologists and its UNESCO status, and learn about the mythology and philosophy of some of the ancient ruins. You’ll see sites like the Temple of the Warriors, Temple of the Jaguars, the Observatory and the Temple of Kukulkan, aka El Castillo.

    Your tour ends back in Cancun.

    Day 1 or Day 2 — Viator Exclusive: Holbox Island Excursion

    Your tour starts with pickup for the excursion to Holbox Island. Venture to the stunning turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea and take a boat to the natural reserve. Enjoy free time to explore the area and learn more about its colorful houses, delicious food (own expense), and marine life.

    Enjoy the drive back to Cancun, where your tour ends.

    Viator Exclusives combine unique experiences and great deals — from traditional tours to once-in-a-lifetime experiences — and are not available from other 3rd-party online sellers.
    Itinerary
    Pass By:  
    Cancun
    Stop At:  
    Chichen Itza
    It's one of the seven wonders of the modern world. With the knowledge in archaeology and Mayan culture it will be easy for you to imagine how the Mayas once inhabited this city. As we walk through the sunrise in the well preserved ruins we will tell you about Mayan mythology, philosophy and cosmology, to reach a deep understanding of the meaning behind the stone sculptures and platforms. And so you will see the famous ruins in a new light. You will experience up close the mysteries of the acoustics in its architecture, which to date are not fully understood. You will clearly hear a whisper from 159 feet away on one of the platforms on the colossal ball court where the Mayans practiced this sport.
    Duration: 3 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    Stop At:  
    Piste
    Here we will have a wonderful buffet lunch on Chichén Itzá day
    Duration: 1 hour 
    Admission Ticket Free
    Pass By:  
    Isla De La Pasion
    This island is known by its exceptional flora and fauna
    Pass By:  
    Isla Pajaros
    This island is known by its exceptional flora and fauna
    Stop At:  
    Holbox Island
    It is one of the islands known for its paradisiacal landscapes of flora and fauna in the Yucatan Peninsula, Holbox has a very crystalline sea, different shades of blue, as well as a unique sand bank that allows you to walk inside the sea along the island. We will cross by boat which will take us to the island Pasion and Pájaros where we will cross and get off at the dock. We will give you free time to explore and get to know much more about this tropical paradise such as its gastronomy, marine species and colorful boats and houses. In the centre of the island you can find the famous lobster pizza which is one of the great attractions, as well as the local dessert called "Marquesita"
    Duration: 4 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • All visitors to Chichen Itza need to pay a local tax. Only credit card payment the day of the tour or before by paypal.
    • It is recommended that you wear comfortable clothing and shoes
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
    • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Mexico
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitisation during Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting?
    A:The policies on sanitisation are:

    • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
    • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
    See all safety measures taken by Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting.

    Traveller Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveller Tips


    • "The only advice had some coffee if you drink and carry some snack because they serve while returning which is kind of late maybe because of schedule meet" See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    114 reviews

    Reviews by Viator travellers

    Showing 1-10 of 114 reviews
    star-3
    Not bad, but not early access
    Adam_M
    , Nov. 2019
    The guides were good, informative, they kept us in the shade as much as possible, and the transportation was on time and stress free. The only reason why we didn't give it 5 stars was because it really wasn't early access, you just arrive when the sites open after about 4 hours in the bus picking everyone up. Unfortunately, both times the tour guides started the tour, they moved us away from the popular areas, so when we finally had free time for pictures, the site was quite full with tourists. It would have been very nice to have had some free time to take photos first when it was quiet, then start the tour. We booked this early tour (leaving our condo at 4:30am) so that we could see the sites as empty as possible, but that just wasn't the case.
    icon Response from Host , Nov. 2019
    Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology. We would like to follow up on your case. Regards Amigo Group
    star-5
    Early Access to Chichén itza
    Hameed_S
    , Jul. 2019
    We booked this tour with viator and the communication good with the local tour operator (Amigo tour) via email picked up right time and drop off at our location. The guide Carlos with through knowledge and he doing this for a long time excellent explanation for the site and entire route. The only advice had some coffee if you drink and carry some snack because they serve while returning which is kind of late maybe because of schedule meet
    star-1
    A Horible Experience
    Geraldine_K
    , Jun. 2019
    Amigo Tours is unreliable and certainly not worthy of Viator. Unfortunately Viator did not respond to our complaint and simply said they checked with Amigo Tours. Of course they said they provided the service as advertised but that was not true. The guide barely spoke English and was not interested in helping the four English speaking participants. We got no tour and there was no archaeological guide. We were dropped off and left to fend for ourselves. We did not even go the second day since we could not find out what time we were going or where we would be picked up. It was a huge rip off and Viator refused to make good on it.
    icon Response from Host , Jun. 2019
    Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology and assure you we're working to provide the best service for all our friends. Best regards, Amigo Group
    star-3
    Decent introduction; wish I booked different tours
    Seth_A
    , Apr. 2019
    Logistically everything worked out, but not without worry. They initially canceled my Tulum trip, then switched days. For Tulum, the van was 15 minutes late, so I was concerned. The tour guides, Cat for Tulum, Frank for Chichen Itza, we're knowledgeable and informative but not particularly friendly or warm. Both sites were incredible, but far too much time was spent talking while standing in place. SHOW THE RUINS. I appreciate the history lesson, genuinely, but was mainly there for the photography and not given enough time or insight. In Chichen, we weren't shown either the Caracol or Monjas, two of the prime sites. My vacation to Playa del Carmen is now over and I'm already looking at how to go again, just to go on better tours.
    2 travellers found this review helpful
    star-5
    Well worth the early start
    KennyDies
    , Aug. 2018
    After a bit of confusion (my fault) we missed the pick up from the hotel as I mis read the time. The tour company were able to re-organise the following day for a small fee. Always responded to my emails (thanks for bearing with me).Both tours were amazing. Mary (Tulam) was knowledgeable and well organised. Marco (Chichen) was great, passionate, knowledgeable and was so fascinating we didn't even realise we had overrun on our time. The only oddity is that Marco said there were no sacrifices at Tulam and Mary said there were,I highly recommend the early tour. It is an early start but you sleep on the coach and looking at our photos it looks like we were the only people there. When we left Chitchen the temperature was creeping to a very uncomfortable level and the crowds were ramping upHigh recommend.
    1 traveller found this review helpful
    star-5
    Excellent Early Access Tour with Fabulous Guide
    allyson11156
    , Aug. 2018
    We had the early access tour with Marco. I highly recommend it. He was incredibly knowledgeable, personable and very passionate about the ruins. He provided amazing information and insight that we just would not have gotten without an experienced archaeologist. It was also well worth the early trip to beat the crowds.
    star-4
    Chichen Itza was great and styling was ok
    Kurt_B
    , Jul. 2018
    Chinchen Itza was fantastic. Our driver Raphael was great and our guide Marco was fantastic. Marco was terrific and kept the group interested and the tour went so quick. Wish we could have stayed longer. The next day we went Ron Tulum and the guide Abraham was horrible. He spoke for about 15 minutes and then left us to wander around by ourselves for over 2 hours. To me this was not a “guided” tour.
    star-3
    The first day was absolutely...
    Ian G
    , Jun. 2018
    The first day was absolutely fantastic. I got picked up promptly and transferred to a larger coach for the tour. About halfway through the journey Marco, our tour guide, gave us a fantastic intro to the Mayan civilisation, informing us of a lot of things that would then come up during his tour later on, so that he didn't have to explain everything while we were at the site. The tour was maybe a little too long, and we didn't get a lot of free time. We then went through a local marketplace-style area selling souvenirs to pick up the lunch and drove back to the hotel. A note about food: BRING YOUR OWN. The food bag consisted of a ham and cheese sandwich, small bag of chips containing milk, chocolate and a banana. No options for anything else. If you're veggie, vegan, lactose intolerant or don't eat pigs, you don't get to eat. If they're only going to have one option, it's probably a good idea to make it an option everyone can eat! This is given to you around midday, by which time you've probably been up for eight hours leaving too early for hotel breakfast so, remember to bring your own food!! The second day was a slightly later start. Same basic idea. About halfway through the tour Sara, our guide, started priming us, but unlike Marco this was nothing about the site - it was all rules and timings. Sara was enthusiastic but her accent is very difficult to understand through the intercom. The actual tour was zoomed through quite fast with much less detail than the day before, but you do get more free time to walk around. Again, the food was poor - delivery as you got on the bus at 6.30am, you got a chocolate bar and a small cereal bar. Thankfully, the day wasn't as long, and you're back by lunchtime, so it wasn't quite as bad! So, great first day, not as great second day, Tulum is lovely but TBH I'd probably recommend booking the Chicken Itza day on it's own and bringing your own food.
    star-5
    I really enjoyed the early access...
    natasha_r
    , May 2018
    I really enjoyed the early access tours because there were less people at the sites and it was not as hot. It was a little difficult getting up in the morning. However, it is well worth it. For Chichen Itza we were done around 3:00pm and Tulum we were done around 1:30-2:00pm so we had plenty of time to hit the beach afterwards. The tour guide for Chichen Itza was Marcos and the driver was Carlos. Both were excellent. Marcos was very engaging and informative. I enjoyed listening to him and he did an amazing job interacting with us all and involving us during the tour. I recommend this tour especially if Marcos is the tour guide. The bagged lunch consisted of a sandwich chips fruit and a juice. Overall, the tour was great and I would highly recommend it. The tour guide for Tulum was Navarro and the driver was Carlos. Navarra was a good tour guide and very informative, not as engaging as I had hoped he would be but still a good tour guide. Carlos was a great driver. The views were amazing and if you are interested you have a little bit of time to walk down the coast. However, it would have been nice if we had some extra time to explore the coast more or get into the water as well. The bagged lunch consisted of juice carton, a bag of chips, and a sugar wafer. I was disappointed in the bagged lunch as I was very hungry getting picked up at 6:00am with no way to eat since the resort restaurant was not open at that time. Overall, the tour was great and I highly recommend it. Improvement would be needed in bagged lunch and if possible extra free time.
    star-5
    this is an amazing tour... i highly...
    DIEGOF_J
    , Mar. 2018
    this is an amazing tour... i highly recommend it.. very informative comfy transport beautiful scenary... it is absolutely worth it... and not crowds.... amazing
    1 traveller found this review helpful
    star-1
    This was a big mess, the hotel...
    Cynthia_S
    , Mar. 2018
    This was a big mess, the hotel pickup zone was inaccessible to those not staying there. Unable to meet the bus and group due to security. I made sure to drive out to the premises the night before. Contacted Viator from Mexico, what a horrible experience
    star-5
    The Chichen Itza portion of this...
    Xavier M
    , Mar. 2018
    The Chichen Itza portion of this tour was excellent. Our bus/coach was modern and comfortable. Our driver Carlos was a very professional, cautious and smooth driver which made the ride very comfortable. Our guide Frank was outstanding. Frank is Mayan and passionate about sharing his culture and knowledge about the Mayan history. He did a great job at explaining the history and the main monuments of the sites. We were the first bus to arrive at Chichen Itza we arrived at 9am and at to wait a couple of minutes for the parking lot gate to open. The first sight of Chichen Itza in the earlier hour of the morning with very few people around is spectacular is well worth waking up early for. I highly recommend this Chichen Itza Early Access Tour. For the Tulum tour, I will provide a review later.
    star-5
    Our Chichen Itza tour with Super...
    Randy J
    , Mar. 2018
    Our Chichen Itza tour with Super Frank guidewas outstanding! He was a wealth of knowledge and everyone enjoyed themselves! The Tulum tour was also good.
    star-5
    The Tulum tour was a bit lower key...
    Lukas_L
    , Mar. 2018
    The Tulum tour was a bit lower key our guide hurt herself before the tour, so we didn't get to travel as much as we probably could have, however it was still worth it, and Amigo tours delivered on both... the Chichen Itza tour, Amazing! The Tour guides new there stuff even though Frank and Marco had different opinions on some of the historical items it was 100 worth it. Would recommend / do this again in a heartbeat and this tour made my trip to Cancun! From Cancun to Tulum, your looking at about a 2 hour drive, and from Cancun to Chichen Itza, about 3.5... so bring a travel pillow since they are kind of long rides
    star-5
    Choosing the Super Saver package is...
    JENIFFER Q
    , Mar. 2018
    Choosing the Super Saver package is absolutely recommended! We decided to do Chichen Itza on the first day and Tulum on the second. On both days they emailed us the time we would be picked up - on both occasions the bus was on time - we stayed in la zona hotelera in Cancun so we were fortunate enough to be right on the pickup route. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The tour guides on both trips were very informative and you knew a lot about the structures inside of both Chichen Itza an Tulum. They also provided enough time to go off on your own for picture taking and exploring after their talks. Getting into the parks early was definitely worth getting up early. Chichen Itza was almost empty when we got there - the vendors weren't even set up - which made for a very good time to be able to take in more of the ruins. Once it was time to leave there were so many more people so definitely paid off to get there early. On thing to keep in mind - get back to the bus at the time they tell you to. Before the guides let you go off on your own they let you know where to meet back up when it's time to leave. There were a couple of people that were left behind because they didn't get back to the bus on time - and mind you, the guides still gave them about 20 extra minutes before they had to leave. They have everything planned out very well which is why I would understand them leaving those people behind if they had been clear about getting back to the bus on time. On our trip to Chichen Itza we stopped by a restaurant to have lunch - foods was simple and delicious. They also have a small shop where you get to look around and buy stuff if you'd like. On the Tulum trip we just got a small brown sack lunch - chips, juicebox, cookie - nothing special, but as a shorter trip, I understand. All in all, I would highly recommend this package to anyone deciding to go to these two wonderful places in Mexico.
    star-5
    The Mayan experience was amazing...
    LUIZ_V
    , Mar. 2018
    The Mayan experience was amazing, what really took the tour to a higher level was our tour guide Marco. His knowledge, passion and education enhanced the experience. He is a master communicator and storyteller. Thank you Marco for an experience of a lifetime.
    star-4
    Hi All, My gf and I booked...
    Dat_L
    , Feb. 2018
    Hi All, My gf and I booked these 2 tours Chichen Itza and Tulum Ruins on Feb. 1st and Feb. 2nd, 2018 1st day for Chichen Itza: The bus picked us up at the resort 5 min early 5:25 am. The driver Carlos was great, then met up with 2 tour guides 1 guy was with Viator and other guy was from Amigos Company. They were both Mayans people. They both well spoken English and Spanish language. One guy did for English speaking people. Other guy did for Spanish speaking people. They were both knowledgable about Chichen Itza. They were both well organized about the tour, very caring as far as accounting for all the bodies, time, directions. Lunch was included after the tour. It was a very good Mayan buffet style foods, clean, drinks optional for 2.50. We had a great day with Chichen Itza tour. I would strongly suggest this tour to everyone. The price was great 102 for 2 people lunch included. Their price is cheaper or the same as other companies. Viator will not try to up sale me with any other bs tour to charge u for more money like other companies. One day tour for Chichen Itza is perfect. They will pick u up at the resort around 5:30 am and bring you back to the hotel around 3:30pm or 4pm max, the u can enjoy the rest of the day at the resort. Definitely use Viator for this tour. I would give them 5 PLUS STARS for the price, for the tour, for the service, information, tour guides. Thanks so much 2nd day is for Tulum Ruins tour: Huhm!!! This is completely opposite compare to the 1st day at Chichen Itza. They picked us up on time at the resort at 6:05am. Same driver, but Tulum tour was with a female tour guide. She is also a Mayan. Very limited information and the way she conducted the tour. She spoke Spanish i would say 80 to 90 of the time. We were confused what she was talking about. When we got to Tulum, we met up with another female tour guide, then we devided the group in to one for English and one for Spanish. The tour was ok, but our tour guides were just average. Does not seem like this is her things. Our expectation was like Chichen Itza experience. They charged the same money for the Chichen Itza tour which is fine with us 102 for 2 people. The tour is much shorter compare to Chichen Itza pick up at the the resort around 6:05am and back to the resort around 1:30pm or 2pm max, but the views were spectacular. Loved the views, the pictures came out beautiful. One thing that drove me crazy was the way she talking about tips. We all understand that we are in Mexico. We know how tough life is. It is just weird that she kind like demanded for tips. So if i have to give rating i would give this tour 3 stars. Sorry for being too honest
    star-5
    The tour was excellent. The tour...
    Jesus F
    , Jan. 2018
    The tour was excellent. The tour guide, Marco, was knowledgeable and interesting. The Maya lunch was delicious. I would recommend this tour highly.
    star-5
    Tour guide was very informative, You...
    RAKESHKUMAR_T
    , Jan. 2018
    Tour guide was very informative, You will appreciate coming early the site gets packed and hot. Light lunch buffet offered at the end of tour. Dress yourself for HOT weather. Tulum beach is fantastic, bring towel light snack offered on the ride. Great package deal
    star-5
    Marco, the tour guide, is best one I...
    Ye H
    , Jan. 2018
    Marco, the tour guide, is best one I had among all the tour guides I have encountered in the area. His English is way much better than the others. Sophisticated educator on ancient Mayan wisdom, although I would like to hear more critical thoughts on outdated Mayan practice this may be too much to ask from a tour guide...

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting
    Holbox with cenote & Chichen Itzá with Buffet Lunch & Tequila tasting

    star-4.5114

    2 days

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD138.00

    star-51

    14 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD189.00

    star-51

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD107.00

    star-53

    1 day

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD190.24

    star-3.53

    4 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD119.00

    star-00

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD115.00

    star-52

    4 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD119.00

    star-00

    13 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    USD99.27

    Explore Similar Things to Do