Recent Searches
Clear

Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch

star-4.5114 reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Tulum, Mexico
Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Escape the tourist crowds and explore the atmospheric Coba ruins in peace during an early access Coba ruins full-day tour, discover the ancient Mayan city of Coba with an expert archeologist guide and gain in-depth knowledge of the site. Ascend to the summit of the Yucatan’s highest pyramid and enjoy a refreshing swim in a secretive underground cavern. If you want to visit two of the most iconic ruins in Quintana Roo, swim in a cenote and taste a typical Mexican buffet lunch, this is your tour!
  • See the famous Mayan city in the early morning and beat the hordes of visitors
  • Discover the archaeological ruins and learn about excavations with the expertise of your guide
  • Visit Nohoch Mul, the tallest pyramid in the area, and snap photos of the breathtaking views at the top
  • Enjoy free time swimming inside a cenote after the tour of Coba
  • Buffet lunch and round-trip transportation
Saved to wishlist!
Round transportation
Bilingual guide
Lunch
Ticket to Cobá
Cenote admission ticket
Chichen Itzá Ticket
Gratuities
Drinks
lifejacket
Taxes (31 USD)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Please provide the name of your hotel
Enjoy a scenic drive to Coba and upon arrival, greet your professional and certified archeologist guide. Enter the iconic site and marvel at one of the largest pre-Colombian settlements of the Classic period.

Enjoy the early morning tranquility as you wander the ambient ruins of Coba, listening as your guide offers captivating commentary. Absorb information relating to the translation of the site’s Mayan name, which means ‘place of choppy water’ and hear intriguing stories of the ancient civilization that occupied the 43-square-mile (70-square-km) city in the 13th century. Visit large stone monuments decorated with hieroglyphic texts and gain insight into how the city maintained a useful relationship with the rainforest and surrounding lakes.

Next, ascend the exhilarating elevation of the 140-foot (42-meter) Nohoch Mul Pyramid to enjoy spectacular sights of the surrounding rainforest. Listen to the calls of exotic birds as you congratulate yourself on climbing the Yucatan’s tallest pyramid.

After admiring the views, you'll enjoy a quick visit to Valladolid before tasting a typical Mexican buffet lunch.

Next stop will be at the Cenote Saamal, where you’ll be able to swim and relax right next to its impressive waterfall before heading to Chichén Itzá.
To end the trip, visit Chichén Itzá, one the seven Wonders of the World. There your guide will give you all the information needed to get you inmersed in the Mayan Culture and the misteries of this archeological site. Then you’ll have free time to explore it on your own.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Zona Arqueologica de Coba
Beat the crush of crowds and explore Coba in peace on this early morning tour with an archaeologist guide. Swim inside a beautiful underground cavern.
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Valladolid
Visit Valladolid
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Cenote Saamal
SWIM IN THIS BEAUTIFUL CENOTE
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Chichen Itza
Visit One of the Seven Wonders of the worl. You'll have a guided tour and then free time to explore
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • For safety reasons, it is mandatory that you wear a life vest during the visit to the cenote (the cost is not included on the inclusions list)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Mexico
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Cobá, Chichén Itzá, Cenote & Valladolid Tour with Buffet Lunch.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "There is a rope to help but beware that quite a few of the steps are rather worn and sloping and can be slippery." See review
  • "It was a long drive from Playa del Carmen but it was totally worth it." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
114 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

Showing 1-10 of 114 reviews
star-1
They did not pick us up
Vanessa
, May 2022
They did not pick us up and now don't want to refund us. We have waited for an hour, we even got to know another traveler who also did not get picked up. We tried contacting them which was also very expensive and then they just said our tour is off the driver would have left already. We ended up taking our own trip with an ado bus.
star-4
RECOMMENDED!
Michael_Y
, May 2022
We started early, pick up was at 5:45AM. Good thing we started earlier, so COBA, our 1st stop was light in traffic. Selva Maya cenote was good stop, especially for people who want to swim there. We stopped by Valladolid, for only 20 minutes, that was definitely too short. Mexican lunch was good, abundant food, but drinks extra. Chichenitza is always a favorite, I was fortunatley enough to be there for the 4th time. Guide, Ruben was informative, driver was excellent. Overall, very happy!
star-4
GREAT DAY FOR Culture
Shawna_H
, May 2022
We were told to arrive at 7:10am at the pick up spot but the bus was about 20 minutes late. There are a lot of tour pick ups in that area so just be alert. Once we were picked up it was amazing. Our group adhered to all the time policies and our guide Ruben was amazing. He taught us so much. He was also very witty and funny. Chichen-Itza was the most informative part of the tour. Ruben explained every aspect of the site and don't shop until the end because the merchants are packing up and ready to make a deal. The Cenote was beautiful and Coba was best on the bikes with a driver because he provided information the pedestrians didn't get. Overall this trip was amazing and I would do it again. 9/10.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Amig@ Excellent comment, thank you very much for letting us know your point of view and your experience. It has been a pleasure to serve you. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-2
Not that what was promised
Manuel_B
, Apr. 2022
The entrance is not included in the price. 40$ come in addition to the mentioned price. I don’t like that. Even it’s not called entrance fee. It’s the tax. However it was nothing special. You just pay for the bus and a meal without a drink. That’s a huge price for that what you get. And it’s not a small group it’s a big group. The Mayan village was missing.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments, we are sorry for your experience. In our tour we try to be as explicit as possible so that the client knows what is included in the package he/she is hiring. If upon reviewing your voucher carefully, you find that you were overcharged, please contact us so that we can clarify the situation. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-1
SCAM - Didn’t pick us up and refuses to give us our money back
Sabrina_M
, Mar. 2022
Wish I could actually review the trip itself, but they failed to pick us up at the meeting spot. Was waiting for one hour and THEY no showed. I called at the time they were supposed to be there and they said they will be there in 5 minutes, they knew we were there already waiting. Once ten minutes passed, we called multiple times and no answer. They knew we were there and they claimed to not have seen us and marked US as a no show. Then had the AUDACITY to tell us to pay for a taxi (over 100 US dollars) to meet THEM at the first stop. This is YOUR company’s fault and I want my money back. Terrible service.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Dear Amig@ We are sorry for the experience, the refund request is approved or cancelled according to your agency's policies. We are sorry for the inconvenience Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Lovely tour combining so...
Marcela_H
, Mar. 2022
Lovely tour combining so many interesting places. Great value. Our guide Daniel Hernandez was excellent. I definitely recommend it especially if it's your first time in Mexico
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Dear Amig@ We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience. We are very happy to know that we did our job; to provide you with an incredible experience. Thank you for letting us know. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Daniel of Amigo Tours is...
pete_h
, Jan. 2022
Daniel of Amigo Tours is an exceptional Tour Guide. I highly recommend him. Worth the trip feom the US.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Dear Amig@ We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience. Thank you very much for letting us know. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Beautiful and historical day
Compass216859
, Jul. 2019
Our guide, David, was really knowledgeable and friendly. Everything was on time. The site itself was incredible but we passed through the ruins so very quickly it was hard to take it all in. The bicycles around the site were super fun! The cenote we visited was very cool, cold refreshing water in a large closed cave with colourful birds flying around. Careful of the slippery steps! Lunch was great, really nice little restaurant with good local food. Our only negative comment was the gift store / Mayan collective where we stopped for souvenirs (first stop too). I wanted to believe that these were just regular people making a buck but the objects were all really overpriced. We compared with exact same items back in Playa del Carmen and they were less than half the cost of what we paid here so I feel ripped off about that. In any case, the day was really fun, I would do it again!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
great tour
Eline_V
, Jul. 2019
We booked this tour by viator because all te excursion of Tui were too expensive. This tour was great, we got picked up in our hotel, right on time. It was a long drive from Playa del Carmen but it was totally worth it. The tour completely got up to our expectations. Coba itself was wonderful and in the cenote were almost no other people. Nice to go in a small group. Really recommand this tour.
star-4
We booked this tour with Viator as it...
m.oen
, Sep. 2018
We booked this tour with Viator as it seems to be the best value. We stayed very near 5th Av in PDC and so were asked to go to HM hotel at 6:15 am to wait for the pick up. The mini-bus was punctual. The next 45 mins was then spent picking up 6 other travellers staying in various places in Playacar. We then travelled another 20-30 mins to another location where we were then transferred to a big coach with probably another 25-30 people. Only after this did we proceed to Coba - arriving there about 9 am, where there were already a few other coaches. We were there in the low season so it wasn't crowded. I am not sure what it would be like during the busy season. I am giving these details so that those booking would be aware that Early Access doesn't really mean very early. A straight journey from PDC would probably only be 90 mins but the journey time here was doubled because of the pick-ups and transfer to the other big coach. We had booked a English guided tour but were the only English speakers in the entire group. The guide spoke Spanish and English but I think the English translation bits of everything he said was probably only about 20-30 of all the info he gave. We got the gist of it but did get rather bored at various times. I guess maybe it was the low season and they didn't have enough takers to make a full English tour. Coba is certainly worth visiting, even if you've already visited Chichen Itza and Tikal. The area is big and the bikes were therefore very useful hire cost included for getting around. If you didn't fancy cycling in the heat or want to save your legs for the climb up the temple, you could pay an extra 50 pesos in sit in a pedi-bike instead. Climbing up the temple is the highlight and the view from the top is fantastic. Going up is certainly less scary than coming down. There is a rope to help but beware that quite a few of the steps are rather worn and sloping and can be slippery. We've heard that they may stop visitors from climbing up by the end of 2018 so were glad we got the chance to do it. After Coba and before lunch, we were brought to the Tamcach-Ha cenote. This is an underground, mostly covered cenote so the water is cooler than the open ones we've been to. You descend into it via a winding staircase and along the way, you can choose to dive off platforms around 10m or 5m above the water. Those in fact were the best bits according to by kids!! The buffet lunch was pretty OK - we weren't expecting too much and was surprised by the variety. Drinks had to be paid for but were reasonable. The journey back was the reverse of the outward journey, with the transfer back to the minibus and the various drop-offs - but probably shorter by a few minutes as it was minus any waiting time for people to arrive for pick up. I think if we had a car, it would have been better to do the visit ourselves to avoid the extra 3 hours of travelling time but in the absence of one, this tour of Coba is worth doing.
star-4
I'm afraid that there were pros and...
Derek K
, Apr. 2018
I'm afraid that there were pros and cons with this tour. We went to Coba a couple of years ago on a tour. At that one, they provided bottled water whenever we needed it, and we were told to bring sandals to walk down into the Cenote. We were also provided with towels. The notes for this tour said that we were supposed to arrive before the gates opened, but by the time we arrived there were already tons of people there. Our guide was awesome, and taught us so much about the history of the Mayans and explained the ruins that he took us to. We were not told to bring sandals, bottled water and towels, and none of these were provided for us. You should stress to people that they really need to bring these things, and to specify that none of them will be provided. Take a bike ride to the main temple, as it's too far to walk. Definitely hike up to the top of the temple, as the view is incredible. It's humid, so make sure you have a lot of water to hydrate yourself. The buffet lunch was o.k.
star-5
We did this tour with Alvaro on...
Robert M
, Mar. 2018
We did this tour with Alvaro on March 7th. We stayed on the north end of 5th Ave and were told to be at the HM Hotel at 6:30 am. Of course there were no taxis at 6 am when we left our condo, so we walked there, which was actually the nicest walk up 5th we had. No one trying to sell us drugs or hassle us to buy crap, or pretend they had been our waiter the night before. I digress, we got there early and waited and waited. Apparently they tell you to be there at the time they think you need to leave your lodging to get there on time. The van arrived about 7:20 so just be aware it's an estimated time. I'd rather by early than late, but our boys were a bit cranky at wasting an hour sitting on the edge of a concrete planter in the dark instead of sleeping. The van was nice. Alvaro was a very good guide and I was amazed at how easily he switched between Spanish and English. Coba was pretty neat. It's very different from Chichen Itza. The buildings aren't carved so it wasn't as beautiful but no human sacrifices were done there, which I considered a big plus! We loved climbing the pyramid. It wasn't bad coming down, we just side stepped without any problems. The bike ride was nice too. We actually saw a monkey swinging through the trees with a baby hanging on, so that was neat. We got good and hot so the cenote was heavenly. That was my favorite part of the tour. The lunch was buffet style and very good. The other people on our tour were very nice. We were back to the HM and walked to our condo by 3:30 pm. It was a good value and we enjoyed our tour.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
This was a great trip. We took two...
Rocco I
, Mar. 2018
This was a great trip. We took two kids and did not want an all-day trip. Bring snacks, as it is a long morning before lunch. Coba was impressive and accessible the climb is a bit scary and probably not for everyone, but the view from the bottom is good too!. Riding the bikes in the jungle was a treat for the kids. The cenote was beautiful and impressive and so was the buffet lunch in a lakeside restaurant. Very nice trip!
star-5
You get a lot for a great price...
Dallas C
, Feb. 2018
You get a lot for a great price!! David was our guide, he was nice and very knowledgeable. I loved that we were able to ride bikes to each location, and the cenote was absolutely beautiful! Made for a pretty early morning, but it's worth it to get there before the heat and the crowds.
star-5
Very nice day, our guide Alvaro is a...
Don_K
, Jan. 2018
Very nice day, our guide Alvaro is a wealth of information on the history of the area and the culture of the Mayan's...And the bus driver was great. The lunch provided was at a restaurant nearby and featured many delicious authentic Mexican dishes. We appreciated being picked up in front of our hotel and dropped off as such. Be sure to dress for warm weather and wear some comfortable walking/hiking shoes, as you will want to climb the ruins for the spectacular view from above. Also, swimwear for the underground Cenote For the price, this would be a tour to book!
star-5
We were picked up on time. This was...
Carol S
, Jan. 2018
We were picked up on time. This was one of the best trips we have ever done. Normally we are people who like to be independent and go to places alone but the draw of the archaeologist made us book this trip. Our guide from Amigo Tours was Alvarro. He's a great guy and very knowledgable. We would not have learnt what we did without him. It was an amazing sight. You can still walk up the pyramid but we didn't. The descent looked too scary for me! The whole sight is fantastic and we are so pleased we booked this trip. Great also to swim in a cenoteh. If you are planning a trip consider this one.
star-4
Tour guide was great, lots of...
KARAM_J
, Jan. 2018
Tour guide was great, lots of background information about the Mayan culture and the Coba Ruins, and very kind and patient. Spoke English and Spanish fluently. It was nice to be picked up at our resort right on time too! and fantastic to get to Coba early before the big crowds. The view from the top of the pyramid was worth the climb. Bikes made it easy to get around the site quickly and were fun to ride, but they definitely need some maintenance work. The downside which was not the tour's fault is we had very young children and people that didn't know how to ride bikes! So a scramble was made to find/hire workers to cart them around. People, if you cannot physically do the activity or your children are too young to appreciate what they are seeing then don't book this tour. And if you must bring young children realize they will get hungry, thirsty and tired. So be prepared with snacks, water and the ability to either carry them or stay back and not insist the entire group wait while you deal with the meltdown. I have children, I get it that things happen, but thought and preparation go a long way in making everyone's experience better. So if people cannot figure out on their own that young kids are not going to enjoy this perhaps the tour company can make a minimum age requirement?
star-5
This tour to Coba was outstanding...
Susan R
, Dec. 2017
This tour to Coba was outstanding Value! Pick up place was close to our location and was on time....very very efficient and friendly staff and drivers....the trip to Coba was comfy in the van and Sarah, our guide was efficient in English and Spanish and addressed all tour passengers politely and effectively. She was very knowledgeable and a very patient and pleasant guide. Everything was addressed and ran in time. We got to see Coba for over two hours...remember the walk to the largest and tallest temple bldg is 2km so do take advantage of a bike or pedi- cab , ,these were included in the tour cost! Extremely cool.and enjoyable visit to the Cenote Tankach-Ha ...the best cave swimming yet! Crystal blue clear waters, good change area with shower and bathrooms.....very Important in Mexico for s cenote was not busy as we took the early morning Coba tour....steps down into the cave cenote have a handrail but remember these are slippery..diving platforms at different levels...beautiful water and cave. Do take your camera!! One good hour there then off to lunch...extremely clean and very pleasant lu cheon...lots to chose from in the buffet...really fresh and good local,foods....the only extras are drinks and they were very reasonable. As in 25 pesos for water and lemonade and 40foe beer...just remember to tip these very pleasant, clean and helpful servers.....nice touristy shop there as well, bit expensive but one of a kind rocks and jewelry creations......no,pressure to buy anything or order more drinks...wonderful. We had a fabulous day, its a 90km triomthat went fast...we left at 7 am and back home in Playa by 4pm....bathroom stops along the way and at each venue.....awesome...you MUST go on this tour with Viator to see the real Mexico....enjoy
star-5
It is always a challenge with trips...
dmstedeford
, Dec. 2017
It is always a challenge with trips like these to get everyone on the bus at the right time! Make sure you know where to meet and arrive early - that is expected. The guide handled it very well and had taxis bring the other guests to meet our bus to stay on schedule. Coba ruins were spectacular and at this time in the morning we had space to enjoy. Take your time climbing - the view is amazing. Bring a towel for the cenote swim and do go in - the water is lovely and warmer than the ocean! The guide was very good, knowledgeable and patient. This is well worth the effort and cost to have a really memorable experience. Well done Amigo tours!!
star-5
This was a great tour and well worth...
Steveski
, Nov. 2017
This was a great tour and well worth the money. Our tour was through Amigo Tours and our guide, Alvarro, was very good indeed. The whole trip was very well organised and it was definitely worth getting to Coba early and the use of the bikes, included in the price, added to the fun. Lunch was OK and the cenote was great and very deep!. The only problem we had was with communicating with Amigo Tours. I sent 2 emails and got no initial reply. Using the supplied phone numbers proved difficult and in the end the Concierge from the hotel managed to get hold of them for me. Amigo Tours did eventually send and email late evening of the day before the tour! So, for the tour itself a 5, but for the pre tour communication a 1. Don't be put off doing the tour, just be prepared to spend a bit of time sorting out the pick up time and place.

Explore Similar Things to Do