Recent Searches
Clear

Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco

|
Jaco, Costa Rica
Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco

From USD128.21

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Whether you're looking to relax or enjoy something more active, this full-day catamaran excursion to Tortuga Island from Jacó will accomplish your goals. The island has some of the most pristine beaches in Costa Rica, ideal for swimming and snorkeling. Make use of the hot tub on board and take a fun banana boat ride if you wish. It is an ideal fun day for couples and groups of friends.
  • Breakfast, lunch, and drinks (including unlimited rum punch) are included
  • Snorkeling gear will be provided
  • The boat has comfortable deck and indoor air-conditioned spaces
  • Enjoy the sea and island views as you cruise
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Use of Snorkelling equipment
Banana Boat Tour
GST (Goods and Services Tax)
Breakfast
Snacks
Soda/Pop
Lunch
Unlimited Rum Punch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:00 AM
We pick up at all hotels, condos or Airbnb in the Jacó area, check the pick up time. PLEASE INDICATE IN YOUR RESERVATION THE NAME OF THE HOTEL WHERE YOU WANT YOUR PICK UP
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 180 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Bay Island Cruises / Isla Tortuga
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "It takes about 1.5 to get to the dock, then it’s 2 hours by boat to the island." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
29 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews
star-3
Great experience
Carrisa_C
, May 2022
The tour was great. Wasnt so pleased with the roaches aboard the boat. Food was great rum punch was definitely different but all in all good tour would definitely do again.
star-5
Great Service
Herlandez_C
, May 2022
This is the boat tour to do for ISLA Tortuga!!!! Great time for Couples, Families, Single , and big groups. The service was the best I have experience in my time in Costa Rica. Food and drinks at every turn!! Dj had the best hits and energy. The food was great all through the day. Pro tips -Bring a speaker and towels for the beach. -Don't be scare to mingle with people on the beach and the boat. -Come with the Pura Vida Vibes. -When you get to the Island there are a lot of actives to do. -Bring lots Cash for snacks and drinks on the island. Actives can take card.
star-5
Friendly staff, perfect day trip
Hillary_R
, Apr. 2022
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly - my grandma relies on a walker or wheelchair to get around. The staff was able to safely get her on and off the boat, onto the beach and would frequently check on her. Tortuga Island was beautiful and the perfect day trip!
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-3
Dated boat but WONDERFUL CREW!!
Anonymous
, Apr. 2022
First and foremost, the boat and island staff and drivers are top notch! They attended to every’s needs promptly and we’re some of the friendliest people we met in Jaco! The island is a bit crowded and the snorkeling left a bit to be desired as the water was a bit cloudy and the colorful fish few and far between. Otherwise, the waters near the shore are a beautiful blue with the lovely palm tree background welcoming you as you arrive. Unfortunately that’s where the good things ended. This company operates two boats, the larger pictured here and a smaller/new boat. This “catamaran” was extremely dated and in need of a a good paint job and desperately needs more chairs. The boat wasn’t even full yet people were scrambling to find seats on the way back. There was also a lack of seating in the shade on the island. Each tour company has their own clearly defined section and there were plenty of chairs, but it seemed that after the long, stiflingly hot slump across the bay, no one wanted to sit in even more sun. But those aren’t even the worst complaints. The boat moved at a literal snails pace creeping across the bay getting lapped by smaller and larger vessels alike. Although the scenery on the way to the island is absolutely gorgeous, after 10/15 mins or so it became nearly impossible to truly enjoy as the boat deck, with no shade was unbearable. You’ll want to pack a large brimmed hat and lots of sun screen even if you enjoy a good tanning session as the sun and heat was brutal from 9-11 am. Sitting inside was even less thrilling. Given the smaller size of the “””catamaran””” you felt each list of the boat and the rumbles of the engine below which made one member of my group a little sea sick. It didn’t help that the boat was dark and dingy on the inside with again, TOO FEW SEATS for the number of people sold tickets IMO. There were nicer boats with nicer bars (prettier drinks etc) so if that’s your vibe, definitely look elsewhere. The day was overall a nice way to spend 12 hrs in Jaco but I think I’d skip this tour next time.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
Costa Rica birthday trip 🙌🎉👏🎆💕😻🎂🎈💗❤️💋🥳🌞💘💞😘
Bridget_l
, Mar. 2022
My trip was awesome we had a great experience this is our first time to talk to the island and it was so beautiful the sand was sugary and the water was beautifully turquoise blue I recommend this trip to anybody looking to have a a full day of relaxation fun and food.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-4
Guides were exceptional,...
Eric_H
, Mar. 2022
Guides were exceptional, food, snacks, drinks were great!! Island was beautiful and with lots to do. Fun for families or couples.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-2
Amazing island but terrible agency
Efrain_C
, Feb. 2022
The island itself is amazing however this agency is awful. The pickup of a group out of the way added an extra hour in total commute time and they were not even part of our boat cruise! The breakfast was a sandwich. The drinks didn’t taste like alcohol at all and hardly made you feel anything. There was no instruction at all for snorkeling by the staff and I almost wore the wrong life jacket. Lunch was good. Find another tour agency.
icon Response from Host , Mar. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-1
Absolutely embarrassing
Chris_M
, Feb. 2022
This was an absolute joke of an experience, the shuttle service did not get us to the main boat on time and they left without us. We were then transported on a piece of garbage boat but had to stop on a random island for gas. We then lost several hours of our beach time and the company offered zero concessions for us. Once I tried to request a refund they told me that they felt I had the entire tour. If you have a single issue with this company they will absolutely not care and make any concessions for you. They are saying I should pay the same amount of people who got 100% of the experience even though I only got roughly 50% of the experience. Absolute JOKE.
icon Response from Host , Feb. 2022
Good morning dear, Receive a cordial greeting from Bay Island Cruises. As you mentioned, on the day of the tour, there were road closures that prevented arrival at the pier in Puntarenas on time. The detour that the transport had to make was from 45 minutes to an hour. The company; so that you could reach the island in a short time, he offered to travel by speedboat. His arrival was at 11:20 am. Once on the island, we provide them with the food they had missed until now: snack-type breakfast, fruit, and ceviche. In addition, they requested more fruit, which was offered without problem. The rest of the tour was thoroughly enjoyed; our operation was to leave the island at a specific time at 3:30 pm and we left at 4:20 pm; and, to compensate for your late arrival, we delayed the departure and in this way, you could enjoy the 5 hours of stay that the company guarantees. Additionally they were able to snorkel. They did not want to carry out the banana boat. His disagreement led him to demand that they provide him with free liquor drinks; however, they were not contemplated in their reservation. Given the situation, his disrespect and shouting at our crew generated disagreement in other passengers. On our part, we complied with what was offered and the situation was even handled in the way that the quality and service that characterizes us was always maintained.
star-4
Trip with a loud music and dancing
Tatiana_J
, Dec. 2021
Pro‘s: +the Staff is really great, positive, funny, Interactive and pays attention that you really enjoy the fun trip Con‘s: - the music was a bit too loud and listening to it 3 hours in each direction assumes you like it. But you can to the other side of the boat where it is quite - we witnessed the red tide : water had algaes and was not clear, snorkeling was limited -Tortuga Island is just a smaller beach… you cannot walk across the island
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-3
Nice island, travel to and from too long
David_M
, Nov. 2021
The snorkeling was very good and the beach was nice. However the time required to get to the island and back was too long, about 6 hours while we only got 5 hours on the island.
icon Response from Host , Dec. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-2
Scammed out of a good time
Brittany_P
, Oct. 2021
I would like to start off with saying that the island was beautiful and there were plenty of activities to enjoy. My friend and I loved playing sand volleyball. The lunch was also delicious after a long day out on the boat, swimming, and hanging out in the heat. However, that does not make up for the money we were scammed out of on this trip. Our trip included rum punch which is exactly what we ordered. Our server came back with rum punch and shots that we did NOT order. We told him no but he insisted. We assumed that he was being friendly and wanted us to have a good time. We took them and he immediately brought more. We continued to tell him no but he wouldn’t stop. At the end of the trip he charged us for all of those drinks we never asked for and continuously said no too. He was also being extremely attentive to us after we got back from snorkeling and realized later than money from our wallets was stolen. The only time we left our items was while snorkeling. While there is no definitive proof he stole the money; we have our intuition that he was keeping his eye on us so that when we left he could take the time to dig through our stuff for cash. It’s a shame because this could have been a great day but instead we felt cheated out of money. My advice is to stay away from this tour.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Black Americans had a ball
Michael_L
, Oct. 2021
The beach was fantastic. And the tour guides were amazing. The drinks were a flowing. Get the coconut water with rum coconuts. Delicious!!
icon Response from Host , Oct. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Highlight of vacation
Christina_C
, Sep. 2021
We met so many amazing people! The crew was fantastic and the food was delicious. We did the snorkel tour and although we saw lots of fish visibility was 10 feet max. Still fun! And we did the banana boat ride which was also fun. There’s a gift store on the island as well as a pay bar and lots of outdoor game activities. Highly recommend
icon Response from Host , Sep. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-2
Not worth it
Julia_M
, Aug. 2021
Everyone got sick on the boat ride over which took 3 hours, not enough drinks/food provided for a 12 hour tour. Beach was really pretty but not worth it.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
Paradise!
Jackie_B
, Aug. 2021
Love the colors of the water and the boat ride was amazing with spectacular views. The entire was extremely professional and friendly! Loved every minute! Will definitely go again!
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
Worth it
Winston_C
, Aug. 2021
The boat ride was comfortable and the staff did a great job of providing refreshments considering the need for C-19 restriction. The food that was provided on the island was much better than I expected considering the island is not a resort with a real kitchen. The hotel pick up in Jaco was included worth it considering the distance involved.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
A truly complete tour
Maria_G
, Jul. 2021
Excellent experience. Great amount of activities and fun. Lunch delicious and entertainment appropriate.
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
A great way to experience Isla La Tortuga
Charles_M
, Jul. 2021
We had a great time! The boat was comfortable, the crew was great at service and the DJ music aboard was great! The setup of beach chairs, a great lunch with DJ music and great service by the crew really made this a memorable experience for our trip to Isla La Tortuga.
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
Great Fun!
Cesar_R
, Jul. 2021
It was a 13 hr day for us…but, we have no regrets! We were picked them from our hotel in Jaco beach a little before 7am and returned at 8pm. It takes about 1.5 to get to the dock, then it’s 2 hours by boat to the island. You’re there for 5 glorious hours, then it’s 2 hrs back and another 2 hr drive to the hotel. However, they have a DJ on the boat, food and drinks, and on the rise back it became more like a party boat which we loved! The food on the island was delicious. They have a gift shop there and plenty of chairs for everyone. Worth the trek!
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!
star-5
Worth every penny
Melissa_A
, Jul. 2021
the ride to and from the dock was pretty long and the ride on the boat back was long but the experience was beautiful! It is a full day tour that includes snorkeling when you get to the private island! They kept us fed and the drinks coming, however the alcoholic drinks aren’t free. The staff was kind & a lot of fun!
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2021
Thank you very much for your comments! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the experience we offer both on the catamaran and on the island. It will always be a pleasure to serve you!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco
Full Day Tour to Tortuga Island from Jaco

star-429

12 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD128.21

star-51

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD104.00

star-4.587

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD129.00

star-53

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD104.00

star-599

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD195.00

star-4.512

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD91.29

star-31

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD247.52

star-520

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD389.75

Explore Similar Things to Do