Recent Searches
Clear

From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

|
Wailuku, United States
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Go snorkeling off the coast of Maui on this boat tour on board 'the Malolo,' a 55-foot (17-meter) power catamaran. Cruise to one of two snorkeling sites—either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens—where you can swim along the reef system to watch for colorful fish and other marine life. The location is selected by the captain depending on the daily conditions. If you're lucky, you may spot turtles or whales, too. Equipment and instructions are provided by the crew. Lunch (hot dog and soda) by selecting the upgrade option when booking.
  • Maui snorkeling tour
  • Travel by catamaran to either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens
  • Look for fish and other Hawaiian marine life along the reef
  • Optional lunch available for purchase when booking
Saved to wishlist!
Professional, safety-oriented captain and crew
Transport on a 55-foot power catamaran
Top-of-the-line snorkel equipment
Flotation devices
Lunch
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
DVD (available to purchase)
Wetsuit and underwater camera (available for rent)
Hotel pickup and drop-off NOT INCLUDED OR OFFERED
300 Maalaea Rd , 300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

Check-In: 12:30 PM Departure: 1:00 PM Directions: Meet at Boss Frog's Dive and Surf (Ma'alaea Location) next door to Beach Bums. Meeting Address: 300 Ma'alaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793 Departure Point: Ma'alaea Harbor, Slip 87

1:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • A 24-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 66 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Malolo Charters
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Is there public parking near the departure point for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:Yes, you can park near the boat. There is also paid parking in front of Maui Ocean Center the cost is $2.00/hour and $5.00/8 hours . You will want to pay for 3 hours to make sure you have plenty of time. (Rates subject to change at any time.)
Apr. 2022
Q:
How long is the boat ride to Molokini on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:The boat ride is approximately 45 mins to 1 hour in each direction.
Mar. 2021
Q:
How much time do we spend snorkeling during the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:On average, we spend approximately 1-1.5 hours snorkeling.
Mar. 2021
Q:
Are there restrooms on board for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes - there are two restrooms on board for your convenience.
Mar. 2021
Q:
What should I bring with me on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:We recommend bringing sunscreen, swimwear, sunglasses, a towel, a camera, and cash/credit card for any additional purchases.
Mar. 2021
Q:
Is there a Vegetarian/Vegan option for lunch on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:Yes, but we must know in advance. Feel free to let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.
Mar. 2021
Q:
Can I bring my own food/drink on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes, you may bring your own food and drink, however outside alcohol is not permitted.
Mar. 2021
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "If you are not comfortable snorkeling on your own, this is the trip for you." See review
  • "To go to Hawaii and waste a day with subpar snorkeling is not ideal." See review
  • "If you're ok with just taking a boat ride out for 45 minutes, seeing a little bit of coral and a few fish, and then hopping back on the boat you'll love it." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
271 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

Showing 1-10 of 271 reviews
star-3
Not what I expected!
Ben_l
, May 2022
We did the afternoon snorkeling, it was not what we expected. It’s 3 hours total only 1 hr is actually snorkeling time, which went really fast. The water is beautiful dark blue. What I didn’t realize is that we would be in 25+ feet of water so it was a bit overwhelming trying to snorkel with a bunch of people and there where not many different fish to see. The crew was awesome on the boat. We ate hot dogs, chips, and cookies and the way back.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We appreciate your response and are sorry to hear that your tour was anything less than expected.Our crew is the best and we are glad that you still had a great evening aboard Malolo.
star-4
Jane's graduation celebration snorkel trip
Geri_V
, May 2022
The crew were friendly and made my family members feel at ease. It was a little disappointing that there was not more fish in the area, but I would imagine this may be due to time of day or because people keep going out to the same area. The crew did manage the trip and people onboard well and were polite and helpful.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review! Passenger safety and comfort are the top priorities aboard Malolo. We are glad that you had a great time!
star-5
Don’t Wait to Go!!
Roy_C
, May 2022
A wonderful ride out to Molokini and the snorkeling views were spectacular!! Very attentive and responsive staff as well!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Our crew aboard Malolo is the best! We love taking guests out to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment.
star-5
Enjoyable Afternoon
Lisa_S
, May 2022
Wonderful crew- fun but also knowledgeable. Wonderful Weather. Very enjoyable afternoon. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a great time aboard the Malolo for the snorkeling tour from Ma'alaea! We strive to provide stellar customer service to all our passengers and guests.
star-5
Great time!
Tamara_W
, May 2022
This is the third or fourth time I’ve been on the Malolo. Love the boat, love your staff! Totally recommend!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
AWESOME! We are so pleased that you have consistently enjoyed your experiences with us aboard the Malolo.
star-5
Just being able to...
James_W
, May 2022
Just being able to snorkel. Got cancelled twice. But finally did it. It was beautiful and would definitely do it again. Water was cold but once you seen the reef and fish all was good. The tour guide that did ours were great Mahalo 😊
icon Response from Host , May 2022
This sounds like a lovely afternoon of snorkeling at Molokini aboard the Malolo. We are so happy that you enjoyed it!
star-3
Great snorkelling!
Julie_H
, May 2022
The crew was nice, however food was not what is on the pictures. Hotdogs, salad and cookies. If you don’t eat pork bring your lunch. We never get sea sick but the waves were too much on the way back.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We appreciate your feedback! Sorry to hear that you were sea sick. Lunch is basic to accommodate being at sea.
star-1
awful experience, trip cancelled
anisha_r
, May 2022
My snorkeling tour was cancelled one hour prior. Someone from the tour called at 1130 and said 0100 pm tour is cancelled without an explanation or reasoning for cancellation(the weather was fine too, so doesn’t make sense). We had planned our short stay accordingly, so it ruined our entire trip. If it was to be cancelled, the least they could have done is called us the day prior , and we could have utilized our day, gone to Hana early morning or done sth else. very disappointed!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for sharing your feedback. Rarely, a trip needs to be cancelled due to vessel maintenance or staffing issues. We do our best to provide ample notice and are sorry to hear that your vacation plans were negatively impacted.
star-3
Underwhelming Array of fish and coral here
Lynn_B
, May 2022
The boat ride, equipment and setup in general was good. The staff are knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and they provide a safe and easy experience ( we even had non swimmers on this trip who were helped to feel safe in the water) What we didn’t know is that the afternoon boats only go to Molokini about 2 times a week due to weather — so the AM boats have access to the areas which have more fish and turtles.. Everyone was out of the water before the hour was up since there wasn’t a lot to see— what we saw was nice but not much more than what is available in front of our condos in Napili… so i would like to go again on a morning boat to Molokini - next trip here! One advantage of this PM boat is that it was not crowded- about 16 people, so that was very pleasant for the boat ride and ease of getting in and out of the water..
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
star-4
Great staff and...
Heidi_M
, May 2022
Great staff and instruction. Disappointed that we were unable to go to Molokini and that taught us to book a morning cruise next time.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for joining us aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour! Yes, mornings in Hawaii tend to be less windy :)
star-3
When checking reviews it...
Derek_T
, Apr. 2022
When checking reviews it seemed many reviews stated that the captian doesn’t consider going to Molokini at all that its really just a marketing tactic to get people to book the nonrefundable reservation- the weather conditions were amazing the day we booked moments before so certainly we thought there would be no reason we wouldn’t be going to the island… that wasn’t the case- the captian lead off with “if you look over there you will see the grey clouds and bad weather conditions, so to play it safe we will be going to the coral reefs today” The skies were clear as far as the eye could see! Everyone on the boat was very confused…. The reefs are cool but if wanting to book Molokini then stay away from this company!
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Thank you for your feedback. Our experienced captains make the final call on snorkeling locations, based on current conditions. It is possible that he knew something you did not. Our top priority is always passenger comfort and safety aboard the Malolo.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful experience,...
Don_C
, Apr. 2022
Wonderful experience, crew was great! Visibility was beautiful, perfect for snorkeling. The only thing I would recommend on the afternoon boarding, eat lunch prior. It stated lunch was provided, however you do not eat until you are on your way back- which was around 3pm.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour to Molokini!
star-1
Cash-cow
David_G
, Apr. 2022
Awful. Weather was terrible so the trip should’ve been called off. They went ahead just to claim the cash. We got nowhere near the crater
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Mahalo for your feedback. Snorkeling locations are always weather dependent. The afternoon snorkeling tour visits Molokini OR Coral Gardens, depending on current conditions. Our top priority is passenger safety and comfort.
star-1
Worst snorkeling experience
joypreet_b
, Apr. 2022
The worst snorkeling experience of my life! That decide at the last minute whether they will take us to Molokini or Coral Gardens and they chose Coral Gardens. Snorkeling at CG is a joke! We saw a total of 10 fish in the water and some corals . I saw more sea life in the water at my hotels beach! I know Molokini is amazing but the “last minute” decision taken by them to go to CG is the main problem. Also “lunch” is just a dry bun/hotdog! Long story short : if you are not 100% sure they are taking you to Molokini, do not sign up for this!!
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
We appreciate your feedback. The snorkeling location is always chosen based on current weather conditions, with passenger safety and comfort as the top priority. Condiments are provided with lunch as we know that not everyone likes their hot dog dressed the same.
star-2
Signed up and paid for...
William_C
, Apr. 2022
Signed up and paid for Molokini snorkeling and ended up at a place I can practically swim from the shore.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
We appreciate your feedback. Snorkeling locations are always based on current weather conditions, with the final decision made by our experienced captain. Passenger safety and comfort are the top priorities aboard the Malolo.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fish on!
KYUNGHYUN_C
, Apr. 2022
Felt very safe. Crew was always in the water with us and my family got to relax and enjoy themselves. I didn’t have to be the life guard and got to enjoy the adventure myself. Would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Mahalo for recommending the afternoon snorkeling tour aboard the Malolo.
star-4
Awesome
Moran_E
, Apr. 2022
Swimming with a turtle was exciting. The fish were beautiful first time was great would like to do it agsin
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Snorkeling with turtles makes for a perfect afternoon on Maui! Thank you for joining us aboard the Malolo boat tour.
star-3
The boat was safe and...
Sonya_W
, Apr. 2022
The boat was safe and filled to capacity. We saw a fair variety of fish. It was too windy to go molokini unfortunately but Coral gardens was a fine backup. Tone is set from the top down. There was a strong push for gratuity.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed snorkeling aboard the Malolo boat tour.
star-5
the whole crew was...
Lynsie_M
, Apr. 2022
the whole crew was amazing and made it a very enjoyable trip. 100% recommend and would definitely do it again!
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
The Malolo snorkeling tour crew is awesome! See you again soon.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Captain and crew were...
Sharon_M
, Apr. 2022
Captain and crew were great! It was a windy day but felt safe the whole time. Food options were as stated - hot dogs and chips but they also gave cookies. The captain even stopped so we could watch the whales.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Whale watching aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour is a total bonus! Thank you for joining us.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo
From Ma'alaea Harbor, Maui: Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo

star-4271

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD89.95

star-4.5890

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD149.95

star-4.5165

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD89.95

star-4.5947

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD74.25

star-4.5631

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD149.95

star-4.586

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD79.30

star-4.5202

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD159.00

star-5176

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD90.02

Explore Similar Things to Do