Recent Searches
Clear

Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1

star-4.5181 reviews
|
Makawao, United States
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1

From USD248.96

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Watching the sunrise at Haleakala Crater is a note-to-be-missed experience, which is only made better by hopping on a bike and riding back down to the beach. Begin early with a pre-dawn pickup before making the winding journey in the dark to the 10,023 ft. summit. As the horizon begins to slowly turn red, then gradually to orange and yellow, the lunar beauty of Haleakala Crater begins to come into view. After the sun has crested the eastern horizon and bathed the crater in light, ride back down to the national park boundray.
  • Watch the sunrise from Haleakala Crater
  • Ride a bike down a dormant volcano
  • Explore the towns of Makawao and Kula
  • Receive instruction from a professional guide
  • All transport, safety, and bike gear provided

Why Travellers Choose This Tour

From summit sunrise to sand, this is one of few Haleakala bike trips to finish all the way at the beach.
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Snacks
Local guide
Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike
Gratuities
Lunch
886 Haliimaile Rd , 886 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, HI 96768, USA

Departure Point: Guests will need to arrange their own transportation to meet at our Office/Baseyard... Mountain Riders 886 Halimaile Rd., Makawao HI 96768 Return point: Returns to original departure point (times will vary depending on the season).

2:45 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Weight restrictions apply; maximum weight is 280 lbs
  • Minimum height required is 5 feet
  • Age restriction; riders must be over the age of 12 years.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Mountain Riders LLC
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travellers
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "Bring warm clothing (actual winter stuff) because this tour gets you up there early enough so you can get a good spot to view the sunrise." See review
  • "It was freezing and uncomfortable at times so bring many layers, warm scarf and a warm hat." See review
  • "Really worth the early wake up to get there and get the great viewing point" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
181 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 181 reviews
star-5
A great experience!
Lindsay_G
, Jun. 2022
Our tour guide was great! He made the tour so much fun! We loved the bike ride. It went by almost too quickly! What an experience to get to the bottom of the mountain and think you started your day at the summit and traveled all the down. The highlight of our Maui trip! Thank you for an amazing tour! The summit is freezing and the winds strong. Pack winter hats and mittens. You’ll be thankful you did. My summer clothes and light jacket didn’t hold up to those low temps!
star-5
Increíble trip!
Mathew_O
, Jun. 2022
The sunrise was spectacular and the guides from the bus ride up to the top and the bike ride down were excellent. The stories they shared about the history and living on Maui made the experience really memorable.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and kind words.
star-5
The sunset trip of a lifetime
Alexandra_L
, Jun. 2022
I love the trip I wish I could remember the woman who runs the office and drives the van because I loved her I wanted to say her name is Lena but it probably isn’t I also want to give a shout out to Billy he’s so cute and made everybody feel really special especially me because I was scared of the speed on the way down and he put me up front with him so the whole team is amazing I can’t say enough I will do it again five stars 20 stars !!!
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Thanks so much for the positive reviews. We will let Nani know you enjoyed your trip
star-5
Amazing
Aryan_p
, Apr. 2022
Amazing experience. Must do this thing . My kids liked it very much . Will do it again when we will be back
star-5
Ride in the van if you’re scared!
Arriane_E
, Apr. 2022
If you’re scared of the bike ride, you can ride in the van no problem. In fact, it’s safer for you and all the other riders if you ride in the van when you’re unsure. Sunrise was beautiful and the guides took awesome care of everyone. Don’t be fooled by the fun, though… it’s very dangerous and is best for experienced bike riders. It’s the date/time that worked for us, so we booked knowing we would likely not ride the bikes but we had to see the sunrise!!! 🌞😍
star-5
amazing
chris_h
, Apr. 2022
what a fun trip. the bike ride is all downhill very little pedaling, and lots of braking. the tour guide was great !!!! need to get up early for this trip.
star-5
Such a great time. Would...
Dean_B
, Mar. 2022
Such a great time. Would highly recommend this. Can’t wait to do it again. Bobby was very insightful and helpful.
star-5
Breathtaking sunrise, super fun down hill ride!
Trina_R
, Mar. 2022
The sunrise was so beautiful, super cold so brings lots of layers. I bought a blanket even and we had the van around the whole time even biking so it was great I didn’t have to pack it down the bike ride. Cruiser Guides where great! Loved it! Had so much fun on bike down! Thanks
star-2
Sunrise super cold and windy, could offer better customer service
Peamid_K
, Mar. 2022
The sunrise was sooooo cold and windy it was below 10 degrees with windchill. You would never think Maui could get that cold. Most of the people There were other buses that handed out windbreakers jacket and pants. If they offered this, this trip would’ve been 4 stars b/c we would’ve enjoyed the sunrise. When I mentioned this to the lady, she said it would get stolen…. Which is unlikely, since other tour buses, made people return it when people got back on the buses. It seems they more interested in collecting tips without offering extra service.
star-5
An absolute must do experience!!
Laura_S
, Nov. 2021
This tour was so much fun. So many laughs with Bobby and Nani. The tour was knowledgeable and exciting. The sunrise was incredible and the bike tour down the mountain was a crazy adrenaline rush. Must do with Mountain Riders!! You won’t regret it.
star-5
Unreal
Paige_C
, Oct. 2021
Amazing experience and a must do but bring thick layers of clothing for the sunrise. Long sleeve, sweatshirt, jacket shorts with pants over them and hat and gloves! You’re standing for an hour in 40 degrees with wind…super cold! You will remove layers as you work your way down on the bike. If you’re scared of heights would not recommend, you’re gliding down with multiple turns at 20mph on a bike just an FYI. However it’s an unreal experience!
star-5
Amazing, fun tour
Della_H
, Oct. 2021
Seeing the sunrise was incredible, but the bike tour with the fresh air and sweeping views was some of the most fun I’ve had.
2 travellers found this review helpful
star-5
Wish I could do it every day
Dennis_B
, Sep. 2021
I can say a truly awesome experience. If you like the pictures it will never do justice for the view. Magical and awe inspiring. Next bike ride. Thank you to all but thank you most to our team Abe & Donald. top-notch respect did everything they could to make the trip more enjoyable. Really made it a truly one of a kind experience from start to finish. Special notes for all that are going to attend this type of adventure. * dress real warm for the sunrise part of the view. It can be blustery and bitter cold. It won’t take away from the experience but I will definitely make you more comfortable as you are there before the sun rises. * no your level of bicycle riding. I’m not saying this is a crazy jumping off cliffs and doing exotic moves however you have to be able to handle your bike appropriately as you can head down trails between 15 to 25 miles an hour. Pretty much everything is street travel however awareness is key. All in all if you listen to the tour guides they will educate you and everything to expect and top-notch support for your skill and ability. I can say out of one of the most visually stunning tours leading to an awesome bike ride over the course of 30+ miles I cannot ask for anything more my wife and I totally agree this is worth the money and worth the time
star-5
Once in a lifetime!
Elizabeth_D
, Sep. 2021
Driver was such a joy to be around and so knowledgeable. He gave us ginger candies to help with motion sickness caused by the ride up the volcano. The bike tour guide was a rockstar! I was alittle nervous about the ride, and he made me feel so comfortable. This tour is definitely worth it! The sunrise was unreal and the bike ride was an experience of a lifetime!
2 travellers found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful sunrise, awesome bike tour
Kris_O
, Sep. 2021
The early morning was rough and cold, but the sunrise view was well worth it. All the staff from beginning to the end were extremely friendly. The bike ride down was exhilarating, wish it could have been longer. Manny was fun, interesting and experienced.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
Rise and Ride
Robert_G
, Sep. 2021
The sunrise was amazing we were so lucky that there was no wind today and the crescent moon was rising up from the horizon above the sun, we were the first group there so we got a prime spot, the bike ride was nice I was hoping we would get to ride at our on leisure but we had to stay with the group which was a little slow for us, and it starts outside the park entrance so it’s not from the top, the only complaint was there was no coffee or breakfast, just water and cereal bar, since we had to leave the hotel by 2:30 am there is no place to get breakfast and at the cost they should at least have coffee and a danish or something, but the guides were great and would recommend this tour
star-4
Memorable experience
Kim_L
, Aug. 2021
The sunrise was a spiritual experience! Billy and Bobby were great guides. My only recommendation is to end the tour at the beach.
star-3
Viator bungled and mountain riders helped us out.
Nelson_P
, Jul. 2021
This is a 2 part review. Viator who booked the biking adventure screwed up big time. I paid for 5 family members to do a once in a lifetime trip to see the sunrise atop Haleakala in Maui. I received my tickets but they mistakenly only confirmed 2 people to get in to experience it. There was no way to fix the problem in time and 3 of us had to miss out. It was heartbreaking, as this trip had been many years in the planning and of course is very expensive. They did issue a refund for the 3 of us, but that was no consolation as our family didn’t get to experience it together and can’t reschedule. So zero stars for them. Don’t use viator if you want to be sure that things go as planned. Mountain riders on the other hand tried to accommodate us to make the situation better. They helped us to at least do the bike ride together, and they did it free of charge for the 3 of us that missed out. It helped salvage a very painful moment for our family. 5 stars for them!!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fabulous Adventure
Peter_S
, Jun. 2021
Quite an experience. Very safety oriented pleasure trip. The guides are friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2021
Thank you so much for the positive review safety is definitely our number one priority of course with a whole lot of fun added in there
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
MUST DO MUST DO MUST DO
Danielle_B
, Jun. 2021
ONE OF OUR FAVORITE ACTIVITES IN MAUI! Our driver got us up to Haleakala quickly and quietly. We were one of the first busses to arrive which means we had first pick on our spots in the viewing area. It's cold and the elevation is high. Drink lots of water the day before and during the tour. Bring lots of layers and then some! We were lucky enough to have an incredible sunrise and incredible weather for our ride. I had no idea what to expect from this bike ride and both me and my boyfriend were pleasantly surprised at how much fun we had. Nani and Bobby took GREAT care of us, making the bike ride fun and safe. Bobby had lots of funny jokes and cool moves to ease an tension or anxiety during the ride. This tour is pricey but more than worth it. Nani and Bobby were amazing, the sunrise was amazing, the bike ride was amazing! I wish I could give more than 5 stars!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2021
Thank you😁

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1

star-4.5180

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD248.96

star-5420

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD258.29

star-513

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD289.00

star-576

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD212.35

star-555

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD350.00

star-4.530

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD110.00

star-5181

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD250.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations