Recent Searches
Clear

Kayak and Snorkel Turtle Reef at Olowalu

star-4.5102 reviews
|
Maui County, United States
Kayak and Snorkel Turtle Reef at Olowalu

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Paddle out from the Maui beaches for a guided, 3.5-hour, small-group kayak and snorkeling adventure. Travel the calm, clear waters along the beautiful Olowalu coastline and enjoy spectacular views of the majestic West Maui Mountains. Then hop into the water and snorkel with endangered green sea turtles and colorful tropical fish. Basic swimming skills are required. All snorkeling gear plus refreshments and snacks are included.
  • Close encounter with wildlife
  • Family friendly
  • Snacks and Beverages included
  • Snorkel gear included
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Small-group tour
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Light refreshments
Snacks
Use of Snorkelling equipment
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transportation to/from attractions
Olowalu Beach , Olowalu Beach, Hawaii 96761, USA

7:30 am - Olowalu Beach Reserve - Hwy 30 - Mile Marker 14.5 Check-in at Gold Jeep Grand Cherokee with red, white and blue kayak trailer Life Vests, Water, Snacks, Snorkel Gear included Non-Toxic/Reef Safe Sunscreen Required Underwater Digital Cameras are available BASIC SWIMMING SKILLS REQUIRED

7:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A maximum of 10 people per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Maui Adventure Tours M.A.T., L.L.C.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
102 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews
star-5
Definitely a must-go
Haoyang_L
, Jun. 2022
An unforgettable experience. Kayaking to the deep ocean and seeing beautiful coral reefs and species like fish and sea turtle through snorkeling. The guide are very professional. Giving Instructions and help customers with any issues. My phone dropped while getting back to kayak. The guide helped me dive to pick it up. I really appreciate that.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...hope you can join us for another tour!!
star-5
I highly recommend!
Kay_S
, May 2022
We had a picture perfect day and saw a dozen turtles! Super fun! I highly recommend! Lance was great!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for such a great review!
star-5
So much fun!
LILLI_G
, Apr. 2022
Our guide was super friendly and a wealth of information! We enjoyed snorkeling even though the waters were a bit murky. Over all the experience was well worth it.!
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...hope you can join us for another tour!!
star-5
Awesome experience
Anne_L
, Mar. 2022
Best experience we ever had! Can’t believe the whales came over to us so closely it was amazing. Red and Wes were great both very knowledgeable and informative.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...hope you can join us for another tour!!
star-5
Humpback breached right in front of us!
Raymond_C
, Feb. 2022
So cool seeing humpbacks and their calves, one of them breached right in front of us. We then snorkeled with sea turtles. All around awesome day but be prepared to paddle a lot and be exposed to a lot of sun. Our guide Wes was also terrific.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...we are happy that you had such a great experience!!
star-5
Highly recommend
Raquel_B
, Feb. 2022
Great experience. Very cool to see the whales out on the silent water. It was magical to paddle way out and just listen and watch. Unfortunately the whales were shy that day and stayed really really far away, but still cool
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...we are happy that you had such a great experience!!
star-5
1/4 AWESOME
Ann_S
, Jan. 2022
We were so close to the whales it was AWESOME! I didn’t expect to get that close and to hear them so well. It really was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Happy you could join us Ann!!
star-4
Worth booking!
Mariah_T
, Jan. 2022
I booked the tour very last minute just for myself and I’m so glad I did. Kayaking to go see the whales is much better than booking a tour on a boat to see the whales. I got some great photos and videos of the mountains and some of the whales that got close to my kayak. One thing I would say is that there started to be a little bit of arguing between the two guides once we got to the turtle reef to go snorkeling. There is really no need to get uptight over anything because in reality the people on the tour have no idea what something should look like or how it should be properly done, so once they would start bickering with each other then you could tell there was something not being done right. Also, I would suggest that both guides give an example of jumping out of the kayak and how to get back into the kayak. This was a little bit of an issue for when we were getting back into the kayak and one of the guides was getting a little irritated on how people were getting back into their boats but the thing is no one really showed us how to get into them. So just explaining and giving an example would be really helpful. Overall, I would definitely go again with this tour group! Worth the price. FYI…parking was a major problem so I would recommend getting there early. Someone really needs to be guiding people into spots because it became a huge ordeal and I was almost late getting situated with parking.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Glad you had a good time, thanx for letting us know that there is some room for improvement!
star-5
Amazing!
Mindy_R
, Dec. 2021
The guides were excellent and went out of their way to make sure my kids (adults too) had a wonderful experience!
icon Response from Host , Dec. 2021
Mahalos Mindy, glad you all had a great time!!
star-3
Kayaking and snorkeling with little instruction
Stephanie_L
, Jul. 2021
We did get to snorkel and kayak, but it was just an average experience. We started late, which wasn't a huge deal as it was only 15 minutes, but the tour ended up being under 3 hours (my gps says 2 hours 31 minutes on the water) when it was stated as a 3.5-4 hour tour. One of the guides was super helpful, but the other seemed to be in an altered state and at one point appeared to fall asleep on his kayak and drift off from the group. We spent what seemed like a lot of time waiting for the guides to figure out what they were doing vs actual snorkeling/kayaking. In the end, we got to see a few turtles and snorkeling over the reef was neat, but I feel like our experience was more of a gear rental service than anything else.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
That is disappointing Stephanie, I am sorry you did not have a great experience (we are training some new guides and I will certainly let them know about your review) 2.5 hours on the water is the correct timing. Please remember that the 3.5 hour tour time is the TOTAL time it takes to do the tour which includes passing out all the gear, launching, landing and collecting all the gear again...as with all the other kayak companies the total time estimate helps people to know what time the tour begins from check in until we are back on the beach everything is completed.
star-3
Good but try to go on a day where winds are lower than 30 -30 mph winds
Pauley_T
, Jul. 2021
We did see a sea turtle and lots of fish which was great. Kayaking out to our destination was good until we hit 30 mph winds and my 12 year old son’s kayak capsized. Did not receive a lot of help when that happened and had to ask for help as one of the tour guides paddled by him and said, “You're doing great!” when my son was crying and stuck in the water.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Just interested to know if we got a poor rating due to the weather?? We only go out if wind forecast is under 20 mph...on this day winds were forecast at 10 to 18 mph...keep in mind we do not control the weather!
star-4
Turtles!
Agnes
, Jun. 2021
They were friendly, had the correct equipment, and continually checked on everyone. Best of all took us right to the turtles.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2022
Mahalos very much for your review, hope to see you again!!
star-5
Great Kayak Snorkel Trip!
Ryan_W
, Jun. 2021
My wife and I had a blast! Wes and Red were super nice and informative. Wes guided us in our trip and was really helpful, knowledgeable, and great to talk to. He helped us find turtles and tons of awesome fish. The fresh coconuts upon arrival were an added bonus! Would definitely book with them again.
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...we are happy that you had such a great experience!!
star-5
BOOK IT NOW!!!
Stephanie_W
, Mar. 2021
Really awesome experience. I love Kayaking anyway, but being able to be so far out in the ocean and then to see the WHALES!!!??? Incredible. Honestly, I wish it had lasted about two hours longer! Also the whale-sounds microphone thingy Red has is REALLY cool, as well as the underwater cameras!!! An absolutely excellent deal on an incredible experience!!
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...we are happy that you had such a great experience!!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Fabuloso!
Fabiola_V
, Mar. 2022
Fue una excelente aventura. Estar tan cerca de los animales acuáticos es una muy bonita experiencia. Fue nuestra primera vez en Kayak y no estuvo tan mal. Una experiencia altamente recomendable 💕
icon Response from Host , Jun. 2022
Mahalos for your great review...we are happy that you had such a great experience!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Kayak and Snorkel Turtle Reef at Olowalu
Kayak and Snorkel Turtle Reef at Olowalu

star-4.5102

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD99.00

star-4.5216

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD91.40

star-5141

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD84.00

star-556

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD135.00

star-5331

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD99.00

star-532

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD162.59

star-5134

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD77.03

star-582

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD159.99

star-4.585

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD84.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations