Recent Searches

Oahu Da Local's Food Tour

star-4.531 reviews
Honolulu, United States
Oahu Da Local's Food Tour

From USD150.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Oahu is full of excellent places to eat but, for visitors, it can be tricky to avoid the tourist traps. This small-group tour takes you to eat some of the best authentic local food at eateries that are loved by locals. You'll try everything from traditional Hawaiian food to fusion flavors inspired by Hawaii's multicultural heritage.
  • Foodie tour of Oahu: Discover the best places to eat
  • Sample dishes including poke, garlic shrimp and shave ice
  • Small-group tour (maximum eight): A more personallized experience
  • Includes hassle-free pickup from your Honolulu accommodations
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food & Drinks
Hotel Pick Up & Drop Off

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
Please note that we only pick up within the Honolulu & Waikiki areas! Hotel Pick Up / Drop off – Please list Hotel Name or Airbnb when booking otherwise you will need to contact us at least 24 hours prior to your tour start day and time. Pick up from your hotel lobby or AirBNB residence between 9:00-9:30 am (Depending on local traffic conditions). You will be notified the day before of your tour of the exact pick up window and other pick up details.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Hawaii Free Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Oahu Da Local's Food Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travellers
See all safety measures taken by Oahu Da Local's Food Tour.
What is the policy on sanitisation during Oahu Da Local's Food Tour?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Oahu Da Local's Food Tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Oahu Da Local's Food Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Oahu Da Local's Food Tour.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips

  • "Be prepared to walk in the sun (ie - good shoes) and try things not normally in your comfort zone (it’s totally worth it)!!" See review


31 reviews
4 stars
3 stars

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews
We had such a great time!...
, Apr. 2022
We had such a great time! Victor was an excellent tour guide and had all of the answers to our questions. The Poke was so delicious! Highly recommend this tour.
1 traveller found this review helpful
Informative and delicious
, Apr. 2022
There’s a great knowledge of local food and mom & pop shops amidst all the big restaurants on the island. You’ll try some great stuff you didn’t know existed!
Disappointed tour
, Mar. 2022
Expectation on this tour was Hawaiian local food and its history. Did not meet at all. We stopped by 4 places including a horrible fish market and a food court in H mart. Chatting in the van and stopped by the places and sampled the food the guide ordered. I have done some food tours other locations, however, I would not recommend this tour to anyone for sure.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Aloha Nadia & Hines Family! We reviewed and replied to your first 2 star review; Please take a look at our reply. We would appreciate it if you guys could stop making multiple bad reviews. Please contact us at . Looking forward to speaking with you! Mahalo, Victor
, Mar. 2022
This is a terrific tour and an opportunity to see Honolulu from a different perspective. Elless arrived on time for hotel pick up in a very clean and new van. He was knowledgeable and personable and shared his love for the city and its cuisine. The sharing of information about the city went way beyond the food.
Makes ya feel like a local
, Mar. 2022
Our guide was very professional and knowledgeable. He gave excellent food descriptions, preparations, etc. Good variety of food to sample with generous portions. Was able to accommodate vegetarian needs and shell fish allergies.
Local food tour
, Feb. 2022
Elliss was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We started out at Liliha Bakery and tried 3-4 different pastries that were all very tasty. We then went to a seafood market for poke and then on to an H mart for garlic shrimp. We finished up with Hawaiian shaved ice that was very good. Elliss suggested we try one with an ice cream base and sprinkle a salted plum powder (li hung mui) powder on top. Very good and different. I’m glad we went with this tour.
1 traveller found this review helpful
Great experience
, Feb. 2022
Our tour guide Victor was great. Everything you would want in a guide: hospitable, warm, funny, always considerate and polite. Grew up on the island so knows it well. Interested in showing us the best time not about the money.
da local eat good
, Jan. 2022
We had a great morning with Elless and Peter. They picked us up and took us to 4 places where locals eat in Honolulu away from the touristy area in Waikiki.
1 traveller found this review helpful
Our guide, Victor was had...
, Dec. 2021
Our guide, Victor was had knowledge on any question we ask, history, buildings, food etc. He was concerned for our tastes and always gave us choices. Without his guidance, we would never have found the markets he took us to. It was a unique experience.
Fantastic food.
, Oct. 2021
Fantastic! Not only did we get to sample foods off the beaten tourist path, but had the foods explained to us. Our guide/owner was excellent and even gave us insights into other places to dine and shop. I enthusiastically recommend this food tour.
Many good food samplings.
, Oct. 2021
Since just two of us were touring, our guide personalized part of our tour. Because we had already tasted the garlic shrimp, he took us to a quaint little market for an excellent Hawaiian lunch instead. We had huge samplings of many foods, most of which were very good. It was an enjoyable morning of tastings.
1 traveller found this review helpful
Great taste, great experience
, Sep. 2021
We had a great experience!! The food was delicious and the hospitality was incredible - this is a great way to experience local food
Honest Review
, Jul. 2021
Honestly my family was very hesitant to leave a review, but we felt that consumers should know this information prior to buying this tour. My family loves food and was very excited to participate in a food tour while we are in paradise. Unfortunately this food tour did not meet our expectations. The tour starts off with pastries and poke which was both eaten behind the back of a van. We had a group of 4 adults and paid $150 per person. After paying that price we expected to individually have our own servings of food, but the pastries and the poke were shared amongst the group. The famous garlic shrimp offered to us was from a food court within a market. The serving of the shave ice was also small. Although the food was okay, this is not what we expected for the price that was paid for. The whole experience only lasted 2.5 hours which was also disappointing. My family made the most of the experience together but we wish there was more offered for the price they’re asking.
icon Response from Host , Aug. 2021
Aloha Alea & the Avila Family! 

We are sorry to have not met your expectations for the local food tour. As a small business, we would like to address some of the things that you have mentioned in your review. First, I would like to say that even though you booked for 4 people, you decided to bring a 5th person without notifying us prior to the hotel pick up and we decided not to charge you at all for this additional guest. Regarding eating outside of our van: Due to our State’s COVID19 measures, nobody is allowed to eat in the bakery or the seafood market that we brought you to so the next best option was to eat near our van. We tried our best in accommodating by providing utensils, plates, hand wipes, napkins, and water and soda and even a cooler for leftovers (which you had plenty of). Regarding having your own individual serving of food: Your party of 5 (4 which were paid) had a total of 10 regular sized pastries at the bakery (2.5 pastries for everybody). At the seafood market, we provided a generous portion of different types of fresh ahi poke (3 types), tako poke (1 type), opihi (1 type) and musubis (1 type) and beverages which totaled to just under $60 for just your party. At the garlic shrimp restaurant which was located in the food court, you each had your own garlic shrimp plate + soda and water. We understand that the location may not have been ideal but in order to get the freshest food from the most local places we often find ourselves in markets and at open air vendors -- that's where we eat as local residents for the best! The same name garlic shrimp restaurant at its original location would’ve been a 30-45 minute drive and a 30min - 1 hour wait for the same plate. At the shave ice location, we paid for what your family ordered including the two custom bowls and no concern was voiced. In addition, we also included a shave ice for your brother who joined our tour for free. Nonetheless, we're sorry you did not share your concerns with us during the tour, when we would have been able to order additional food for you or visited other places. We will continue to strive to ensure every guest has the best possible experience, and hope on a future visit to our beautiful islands you offer us another chance at providing you aloha and if not, we’d be more than happy to share where the best local spots are for your family to visit on your own. Mahalo Nui Loa, Da Locals
8 travellers found this review helpful
, Jul. 2021
The guys are great. Got to try SO MUCH food. Went to places outside Waikiki that we wouldn’t have known of otherwise. Excellent info on other places to eat during our stay.
2 travellers found this review helpful
The #1 tour of Kauai you need to do
, Jul. 2021
This was our favorite Honolulu excursion!! Our guides Victor and Peter were super fun and made sure everyone was having a good time. When they say come hungry, they mean it - so much good food on this tour! Be prepared to walk in the sun (ie - good shoes) and try things not normally in your comfort zone (it’s totally worth it)!! We can’t recommend this tour enough to our friends and family visiting Honolulu - one of the best memories from vacation for sure!
1 traveller found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Oahu Da Local's Food Tour
Oahu Da Local's Food Tour


3 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours 5 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours 55 minutes

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



27 minutes

Free Cancellation



50 minutes

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations