Recent Searches
Clear

Two Tank Intro to Boat Diving in Oahu from Waikiki

|
Honolulu, United States
Two Tank Intro to Boat Diving in Oahu from Waikiki

From USD199.00

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Learn the basics of scuba diving during a 5-hour introductory course in Waikiki. Your professional scuba instructor teaches foundational scuba skills before taking you out by boat to a dive site in shallow water. Have time to get comfortable with the equipment in the water, then follow your instructor as you scuba dive around the coral reef. You can see marine critters such as sea turtles and colorful fish, an amazing experience to add to your vacation in Hawaii.
  • 5-hour introduction to scuba diving experience
  • Learn to scuba dive with a professional scuba instructor
  • Try out scuba in Hawaii’s warm ocean waters
  • See tropical fish, sea turtles and other critters
Saved to wishlist!
Full equipment rental
Water
Snacks
Lunch
Gratuities
424 Nāhua St , 424 Nāhua St, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

Please arrive to the shop at your scheduled time well rested and ready to dive! Please review medical waiver before arrival.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Traveler shoe size option and a T-shirt size upon booking.
  • Please review medical questions in advances so that you can obtain a consent from a doctor's office for you to go diving. You are required to present the doctor's consent. Free cancellation is up until 24 hours prior to the scheduled trip departure time, Cancellation, change or rescheduling due to delay in clearing medical within 24 hours will incur full booking cost..
  • Avoid diving within 18 hours of flying. Always inform us directly if you are flying within 18 hours. All participants will be required to complete a health questionnaire prior to diving. Some pre-existing medical conditions (eg asthma, heart conditions, etc) may prevent you from diving, please consult your doctor
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
  • OPERATED BY WAIKIKI DIVING CENTER
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Traveller Tips


  • "Experienced divers, stay away, even if it is for family members who are not experienced." See review
  • "And if stinky damp wetsuits bother you bring your own 😂" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
68 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews
star-5
Good For Inexperienced Divers Looking To Try It Out
JC_W
, Jul. 2022
Very comprehensive experience. I hadn't dived in over 15 years, and my brother never had and this trip worked out great for us. Starts with a 20 minute instruction session at the shop, followed by a quick ride to the docks. Instructions are clear and well delivered, good for new drivers. Crew takes the training pretty seriously too, but in a fun way to keep you engaged. Dives themselves are pretty tame. Follow a rope down about 50 feet, performing the basic skills they teach you in dive #1. Then swap tanks and go back down to explore for about 30-45 minutes (depends on how quick your group members deplete their tanks). Saw some Eels, starfish, lots urchins in the coral, and of course fish. Was told rays and turtles are around sometimes, but didn't see one. As an inexperienced diver though, I had fun just being down there, doing flips in the water and just feeling like you're "flying" around in the big open water. Skills they teach are for sure important too. Had my respirator knocked out while under water by a stray arm from a fellow diver and was easily able to retrieve it with what was learned. Felt pretty safe. Had a great time. Probably not for experienced divers, but great for those trying it for the first time or for the first time in a long while. Great crew.
star-2
CHAOTIC
Katie_J
, May 2022
Overall, I think the team was very knowledgeable. That said, they could benefit with better organization. At literally the very last minute as we go to enter the water, they realize some of the divers in my group are getting their certificates. WTF. It was chaotic, and not enjoyable for my first time diving. Definitely ruined my experience hated the cluster, I was thrown into.
icon Response from Host , Jul. 2022
Aloha Ms. Jensen, I'm sorry to hear about your experience in your point of view. We assigned three most experienced dive leaders on the island to guiding your trip. It is impossible for the crew to not know who the students were on the boat as we had manifest to show US CostGuard on the entire trip each and every trip who the students, certified divers and beginner divers are. In addition, we pride ourselves for keeping the ratio extremely small in the last 43 years as the top 5 star PAD IDC academy. I see you are a certified diver and allow me to assume you are familiar with the PADI standard and guidelines. The PADI standard on the certified diver to instructor ratio is 6+ divers to 1 instructor. Unlike some diving companies will do 10+ to 1, we do less than 6 to 1 ratio. As evident in your dive trip, there were 3 certified divers including you to one instructor. Your guide is one of the best experts and an avid free diver on the island who's known as "Octopus Tracker". Rest assured we do not throw any divers into a cluster but a highly attentive small group for increased experience, albeit at a higher cost for us. The 4 students on your boat were with a separate instructor by design, but I understand how it can be perceived. We also have other options to consider such as having a private instructor at additional cost. I hope you could let us know at the shop so we can help address your concerns. I personally didn't understand how "WTF" served any value in helping others improve, and representing our shared passion for ocean and humanity. Nonetheless, we love our divers at Waikiki Dive Center. Our team always go out of their ways to make divers happy within safety measures. There is always something we take immediate actions per your feedback to do better with our communication, in raising the bar. I'd like to invite you to come back to dive with us again. If I can be further assistance, please contact me directly. Anna
star-5
Mike was great!
Jamila_S
, Apr. 2022
My tour started with a call stating that I was about to get left as the tour started at 0945 but my booking stated 1015. I kept insisting that my booking said 1015 and they looked it up and saw that I was correct and the tone changed to, “oh, we will be waiting.” It took a long time to leave even after I arrived, although I was told that I was about to be left. During the dive, Mike and Josh were great. This was my second time trying scuba but I struggled badly this time. Mike was super patient and tried to help me as much as possible. I wasn’t able to do my second dive and Mike suggested that I ask for a partial refund (wasn’t expecting a refund at all) but since it was suggested, I figured that it would be welcomed. So I got back to Ana and asked for a partial refund and she was not having it, which was fine, but she was a little rude. Don’t ask Ana for a partial refund even if it’s suggested to you lol.
star-1
Upset customer
Justin_K
, Mar. 2022
They cancelled the trip about 12 hrs prior to the trip. Still have yet to be refunded for the trip. Thats all folks.
icon Response from Host , Apr. 2022
Aloha Justin, I'm sorry to hear. We issued the refund request to TripAdvisor the same time of the cancellation. We do not have your payment the first place as TripAdvisor will not pay us until a month after the service is actually completed, in this case the trip did not start. TripAdvisor will process your refund accordingly. Feel free to call the shop at 808-922-2121 if we can be further assistance.
star-5
Amazing Instructors!
Jay_K
, Mar. 2022
Great group! They are fun and very experienced! Never a dull moment with them! I was new to scuba diving and they taught me and my family step by step! Amazing instructors! Will be coming back!
star-5
Awesome dive company!
Lisa_F
, Mar. 2022
Jared and Phil were absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend diving with this company. If we ever come back to Hawaii I will be using them again. And I also wanted to mention Grace she was working in the shop when I came in and she was so pleasant and kind. Loved listening to all the places that she has dived at.
star-5
BOTB scuba diving.
Tasha_V
, Jan. 2022
We had a fantastic time with Nick. We are a bit older and had been 10-20 years since we have dived. He was very patient with us. Yoshi (sp?) captain, was wonderful too. He kept our friend who was not able to dive comfortable and entertained. Absolutely loved the experience!!! Will do again for sure!
star-5
Fun from Wisconsin
chris_S
, Dec. 2021
Jeremy was so helpful with me and my son! He fell in love with scuba diving now!! Very nice people!!
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Best way to see ocean life
jsjamieson33
, Dec. 2021
Very awesome and very safe. Chad is a very very good diver who is constantly checking on you and looking to show u the best the reef has to offer saw shark, turtles and fish such a blast!!
star-2
Too many students per instructor
Yinglu_W
, Dec. 2021
I definitely did not feel safe. One instructor would take 3-4 people. One girl in front of me being panic made me panic. Then I felt drowned for a good 5-6 seconds because the instructor did not see me (busy dealing w the girl in front of me). In addition, not recommend the area. The water was extremely dirty..
icon Response from Host , Dec. 2021
Aloha Yinglu_W Our Student per Instructor ratio is always in full compliance with all PADI standards and governmental regulations. In fact, we often run our beginner diver charters with an extra instructor on board, in order to assist those that might find this activity to be difficult. In addition, we also offer private, one to one instruction and career training. Aloha,
star-1
I don’t think this...
Zhaoping_C
, Sep. 2021
I don’t think this introduction to scuba diving class is for someone who is the first time to learn how to dive in open water.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-3
trade winds = bumpy seas
Laszlo_B
, Sep. 2021
This excursion started on shore with an instructional video and equipment fitment. The van driving us to the boat was in terrible condition, rusty, dirty, cushions falling apart and no AC. Small, but clean, boat got us to the dive site, where instructors let participants to the water one at time. Rough seas and strong current made the boat rock 3-4' that made some sick. Apparently this is normal condition due to trade winds, but this was too much to my stomach especially after ingesting some ocean water during the initial training. Unfortunately, I couldn't enjoy the rest of the activity as felt too nauseous, but others went on for a 2nd dive spotting fishes and eels. Make sure you are ok with salt water in your eyes, nose and mouth if you consider this activity.
star-4
Good beginner course
Shylah_B
, Sep. 2021
Good beginner course. First they show you how to communicate in the water. You get a tank to learn all of your basic skills. Once you get that down you get a fresh tank to go explore. You do have to stay in your group so you don't get lost. The site said it would last about 4 hours. We were there for about 3. I still had 2/3 of a tank left and we surfaced. It would have been nice to go longer but I think someone else in the group had lower air. Overall great experience just wish it would have lasted longer. Side note. My husband couldn't get his ears to equilze so he was unable to get the full experience so that was disappointing. But, that isn't the shops fault. A small discount for not using the 2 second tank would have been nice though.
star-5
a MUST!!!
Paulina_D
, Sep. 2021
It was an amazing experience… the crew was really good at training us… I would definitely do it all over again…
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
You can see everything
Sharon_W
, Sep. 2021
The dives were amazing, allowing us to see all sorts of marine life being just fish. The employees were funny and we had a great time.
star-5
Great Time.
Jeremiah_F
, Sep. 2021
Great staff and a great experience. The staff were very friendly and were with you every step of the way to make sure you were ok. Once you were in the water, it was beautiful we saw many fishes and swam over a coral reef. Just a word of warning, take a pill for sea sickness because it can hit hard as I had to learn. Aside from that incident which was on me, 10/10 would love to do it again!
star-5
Donovan was a great guide.
Michael_H
, Aug. 2021
Donovan was very fun and patient with us. Yes, 6 of us. The Brady bunch. I am certified, but it was the first time scuba diving for the kids. They are hooked! We enjoyed our time with Chris the owner and Chris Jr was fun to have on the boat.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-4
A great place to learn diving.
Michael_F
, Aug. 2021
Great teachers, great gear, great intro and a fabulous day to get dives in to see various creatures and even hold an octopus.
star-3
Show me the money!
Chenney_C
, Jun. 2021
I’m still awaiting the partial refund from the trip we took last Friday(June 25). I also suggest that they really need to look at sea conditions before sending anyone out. It was really choppy and since I didn’t even had a chance to be in the water to snorkel they say since they took me out to sea, they couldn’t refund me the whole thing. We’ll still waiting for the partial refund.
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Great
lyu_D
, Jun. 2021
I am a newbie, they were verycareful to guide us. I was feel prettysafe. Definitely a great experience. Jay was really nice and responsible. Worth a try.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Two Tank Intro to Boat Diving in Oahu from Waikiki
Two Tank Intro to Boat Diving in Oahu from Waikiki

star-467

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD199.00

star-561

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD235.89

star-4.5292

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
USD99.00

star-4.568

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD214.35

star-433

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD159.00

star-4.552

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD214.35

star-4.513

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
USD248.00

star-511

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD214.35

star-4.5676

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD135.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations