Recent Searches
Clear
Whale Watching

Whale Watching

star-4.562 reviews
|
Honolulu, United States
Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Every year during the winter months, humpback whales travel to the warmer waters of the Pacific to give birth to their calves. Embark on a whale-watching tour from Honolulu and observe these gentle giants in their natural habitat. You can also see other wildlife like dolphins and green sea turtles while you sail.
  • If no whales are spotted, guests can ride again for free
  • Take in the coastal views of Oahu while you sail
  • Learn about the local ecosystem from your guide
  • Hassle-free pickups from Honolulu are offered
Saved to wishlist!
Private transportation
Gratuity
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Pink Sails Pick-up Location , Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

Right across from Prince Waikiki on Holomoana Street. Use this google map link https://goo.gl/maps/KKdLR9XVz5Vk3gAZA

Pink Sails Pick-up Location , Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA
2:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.Right across from Prince Waikiki on Holomoana Street. Use this google map link https://goo.gl/maps/KKdLR9XVz5Vk3gAZA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Pink Sails
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Whale Watching?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travellers
  • Temperature checks for travellers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Whale Watching?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Whale Watching?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale Watching?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
62 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews
star-1
Terrible experience
Solveig_M
, Feb. 2022
If I could give zero stars I would. The company sent a linked address which is incorrect and led me to a spot about 5-10 minutes away from where the boat actually was. I showed up 30 minutes early and tried to find the spot on my own. Without any luck, I finally decided to call them at 1:55 when my reservation was at 2:00pm. They proceeded to not answer and finally called me back around 2:10 stating that the boat already left and that I couldn’t receive a refund or reschedule. The Pink Sails team member Jason then screamed at me once I stated that this seemed like a scam. Very unprofessional behavior, once I stated that I would be getting ahold of Viator, Pink Sails quickly stated that I could reschedule but at this point all I wanted was a refund considering that I was given the wrong address and screamed at. I contacted Viator who now stated that I didn’t show up for my rescheduled time that I never agreed to I ASKED FOR A REFUND. I wouldn’t waste your money or time, they are very unfriendly, give inaccurate information, and refuse to give refunds no matter the circumstances. 0/10 this was a horrible experience that reflects very badly on Viator.
icon Response from Host , Feb. 2022
Aloha Solveig, We respect your feedback although we appreciate if you can provide fact, truthful and fair feedback only. First of, we sent out a google map link thru email and thru text to help our customers find our location. That day we have over 200 guests, which all of them except you guys were able to go tour dock or location with no problem if the link that we have provided is incorrect. We also reviewed our recorded call that you had with our dispatch officer and there was no raising of voice nor he screamed at you. He even gave you a one time courtesy to reschedule - which you agreed but still didn't show up nor provided any notification that you will not go.
star-3
Nice Day on the Water
Kristina_F
, Feb. 2022
A very nice boat ride out in the harbor - we did get to see some whales which was wonderful! The crew was great but my only complaints are that the boat was pretty crowded, and when everyone gathered at the front to see the whales it made it difficult to appreciate. Rather than let the boat drift naturally so that everyone had a chance to see the whales the captain would constantly turn the boat facing forward so you were constantly trying to see around people. Other than that nitpick it was a pleasant experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb. 2022
Aloha Kristina, We appreciate your feedback, and we will definitely take note of your inputs so we could improve in our tour. Hopefully we can tour with you once again. Mahalo!
star-2
Don't waste your money
Shelley_H
, Feb. 2022
The 3 crew members were nice. We did not see any whales but they offered us a free do-over trip (we had to leave and did not have time in our schedule for this). I wish the crew was interactive and knowledgeable about the area/whales. If they were, they did not offer any information. It was a long 2 hour boat ride essentially. I am also spoiled by an amazing whale watching experience in DePoe Bay Oregon where the staff are highly knowledgeable and interactive! And we ALWAYS see whales. I know there is never a guarantee but some how she always finds them! I have also been told Maui is the place to go whale watching vs Oahu. An expensive lesson to learn.
star-5
Simply the Best!!
Pamela_S
, Jan. 2022
This was sooooo worth the money!!! Staff was great! And the whales OMG they were everywhere we looked! So fun and exciting! We will be back! Way to go Pink Sails!!!
star-5
Whale Watching
Karen_S
, Jan. 2022
The tour was great. They really spent some time making sure we did get to see whales. It was a lot of fun spending time on the water.
star-5
Beautiful Day!
Shani_B
, Jan. 2022
This whale watching tour was wonderful. The Captain and crew are funny, responsive and courteous!! We had the privilege of spotting two whales living their best whale lives. The view of Honolulu is so beautiful onboard as well.
star-5
It was a great...
Michael_W
, Dec. 2021
It was a great experience. The staff treated us great and were very informative. It was truly a blessing to have seen a couple of whales.
star-5
A great experience
Maureen_M
, Dec. 2021
The entire boat ride was pleasant and relaxing. We would have enjoyed it even if we didn’t see any whales. Our guides were great and they kept searching. We were fortunate to see a couple of whales and it was amazing. Highly recommend!
star-4
The boat ride was awesome...
kkelle29
, Dec. 2021
The boat ride was awesome - fun, wet, beautiful scenery. The crew did everything they could to show us whales and turtles (we saw 2 turtles) but the whales were hiding from us. Mother Nature gave us a gorgeous day but no whales….
1 traveller found this review helpful
star-5
Guaranteed fun with Professional Whale Watchers
Tim_F
, Dec. 2021
Amazing experience by a well organized crew (sorry forgot their names). We saw two whales and watched them breach the surface twice; also got to see a turtle. Definitely a must do anytime you’re in Oahu during the whale migration.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Whale Watching
Whale Watching

star-4.562

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD0.00

star-4.528

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD96.75

star-4.5400

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD75.01

star-5459

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD193.88

star-4.5112

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD96.75

star-5188

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD176.96

star-3.577

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
USD40.00

star-444

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD89.00

star-5189

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD134.00

Explore Similar Things to Do