Recent Searches
Clear

Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)

|
Barron, Australia
Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)

From USD143.41

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore the Kuranda Rainforest — a UNESCO World Heritage site — on a full-day tour from Cairns. Travel on the Kuranda Scenic Railway to Kuranda, getting views of the rainforest and Barron Gorge along the way. Visit the Rainforestation Nature Park and see the wildlife during a tour in an amphibious Army Duck vehicle. Then step on board the 6-person gondola at the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway for the return journey to Cairns, with time to stop at Barron Falls and Red Peak Station en route.
  • Full-day tour to Kuranda, from Cairns
  • See the the ancient rainforest of Kuranda, a UNESCO World Heritage site
  • Admire the Barron Gorge from the Kuranda Scenic Railway
  • Look for wildlife during a guided tour in Rainforestation Nature Park
  • Stop at Barron Falls and Red Peak Station when returning via the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Air-conditioned vehicle
Kuranda Scenic Train
Army Duck Tour
Skyrail Rainforest Cableway
Food and drinks
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Australian Butterfly Sanctuary (discount available)
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Freshwater , Barron QLD 4878, Australia

Freshwater Train Station

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Pick up time is approx, please reconfirm your booking and pick up time 24 hrs prior to travel.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Some Covid restrictions may apply
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers
  • OPERATED BY Tropic Wings Cairns Tours & Charters
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB).
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB).

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
33 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews
star-4
Kuranda
Sam_L
, Dec. 2021
The trip was excellent well planned and the organisers did a great job weather permitted us going on the Skyrail which was sad
star-5
Worth the trip
Danielle_W
, Aug. 2021
The views were spectacular, the ride was comfortable & informative. Kuranda is a little bit of paradise with quaint little shops & lovely people. Highly recommend!
star-3
Day trip to Kuranda
Grandma
, Jul. 2021
Really enjoyed and would highly recommend the train ride and the Skyrail. Disappointed with Butterfly enclosure. Last time we were there we saw very big colourful butterflies- not this time. Army duck-saw no creatures. Did learn a little about the rainforest vegetation. We visited on a Monday, very few shops open and by 2.00 pm most food outlets closed.
star-4
Great experience
Kate_M
, Jun. 2021
The whole tour was informative and well organised. The tour guides gave great information and the views from both the train and shy rail were breath taking.
star-3
Highs and lows
Judy1001
, May 2021
The scenic rail trip was enjoyable. Too much time between rail trip and army duck. Army duck was average - did a circle of a lagoon. Unfortunately issue with sky rail and trip back was delayed preventing us due to time restraint from hopping off on way down and having a look at falls. All Information provided on the day about the area and history was great.
star-3
Train was great
Ken_K
, Jan. 2020
The train was wonderful but due to weather, the skyrail was cancelled. Army duck was a little hokey.
icon Response from Host , Jan. 2020
Hi, Thanks for exploring Kuranda with Tropic Wings and taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the train. Skyrail operates separately to Tropic Wings, however, Skyrail ceased operations on the day of your tour for the safety of comfort of their guests due to severe weather conditions.
star-4
Loved the Railway and Skyrail. The...
Errol_T
, Feb. 2018
Loved the Railway and Skyrail. The Army Duck was interesting with the operator talking about the plants etc but at the end of the day these Army Ducks have a little play in a pond / small lake and then suddenly its all over. Maybe my exceptions where to high but was hoping to see more wildlife in and around the water.
star-1
Worst experience ever!! DO NOT...
Tony_Z
, Jan. 2018
Worst experience ever!! DO NOT BOOK!!! DO NOT BOOK!! My husband and I attended this tour Dec30/2017. The company said the driver will pick us up at 7:15am, but he is late for 15mins. It is a small town,15mins walking you can go anywhere. I can understand for the late. Then the driver drop us off at the railway station around 7:50am. We wait outside for one hour! It is very humid and hot! No AC! I do not understand why the company drop us so early! And the driver did not tell us anything! we think we should have a tour guide, however it is not! We do not know how to get the tickets for railway!and the company did not tell us which cart to go! It is messed up! No tour guide the day! At noon time,the driver gave us the tickets for the Skyrail,he told us it is 3:00pm .He confirmed for many times! He told us to take the 3:00pm skyrail. But when we were there the tickets shows it is 4:00pm. So many people at there,we are so upset! It is very hot without AC! But the staff worked there is very nice,she lets us go in. We still need to wait for the long line. Finally we were down and arrived the terminal at 3:45pm.other company already arranged many buses to pick up clients arrived at different time, tropical wings company did not show up until 430pm and they said they can only departed at 5:00pm. We waited again! We wasted our money and time! There are thousands local tour here, cheap and better service! We are so disappointed with our tour! When I complained this to the company, their service attitude is so bad!! They never apologize!! They waste my money and time for nothing!!! I am so upset with their terrible service!!
star-1
This was basically a tour that gave...
wwcindy
, Dec. 2017
This was basically a tour that gave you a train ticket and a sky rail ticket and a short Ducktour. We were picked up late. There were several different tours sold and picked up on the same bus. We got different colored stickers and handed our itinerary times. Our tour included less, so we hung around doing nothing for 2 hours waiting for our return to the hotel because the other tours were ending later. The Ducktour was very short and the water portion useless. Buy your own train ticket and Skyrail and do it yourself.
star-4
Good tour of a rain forest and free...
Tom B
, Dec. 2017
Good tour of a rain forest and free time to get to know nature or shop whichever was your preference. Train ride up and gondola down was perfect trip.
star-4
We enjoyed this trip. The scenic...
Jan R
, Dec. 2017
We enjoyed this trip. The scenic railway was beautiful, only to be outdone by the skyrail trip back. The skyrail stops at a couple of places where you can venture off into the forest! The duck boat operator was informative, but it is a really short tour that only ventures out about a mile.
star-5
This basically becomes a self guided...
Wendy H
, Oct. 2017
This basically becomes a self guided tour but all transport is covered beautifully scenery from the train and sky rail Do it
star-5
Excellent day with breath taking...
Nigel D
, Mar. 2017
Excellent day with breath taking scenery. Skyrail amazing. Army Duck tour very interesting and worth doing. Only slight moan was a bit too much time to wander in Kuranda after doing some shopping.
star-5
First of all this is an all-day...
Dorothy H
, Jan. 2017
First of all this is an all-day experience and worth the cost. This is the chance to see the Kuranda area by railroad and realize just how difficult it was to build the whole thing. The Army Duck Rainforest Tour could have been longer. We would have enjoyed riding the duck more. But the Skyrail was just plain awesome!!! And what made it even better is that you can stop at two places and get off and take your time to see the area. Great fun!!!
star-5
This is a must for any tourist or...
Cecilia T
, Oct. 2016
This is a must for any tourist or even residents. Wonderful experience to see the beauty of Kuranda rainforest by rail and skyway. So much beauty in every turn. The duck tour was a wonderful experience. We saw native plants, tour guide explaned what they were used for, oh so much information but worth knowing it all. It was also wonderful to visit the different shops. Had to control myself not to buy a lot of things I liked. Thought of my luggage weight. Skyrail was awesome, we were so high up in the air, horizon was beautiful, forest floor was awesome and we had a chance to gey off the gondola to walk in some areas of the rainforest. We had light sweater just in case it gets cool.
star-5
Fantastic tour and experience. I would...
William_S
, Oct. 2016
Fantastic tour and experience. I would recommend this tour to everyone going to Cairns
star-3
The train ride to the rainforest was...
Supriya M
, Sep. 2016
The train ride to the rainforest was not all that spectacular as it was advertised. The rainforest itself was mediocre. We took a duck tour through the rainforest but didn't really see much other than a few types of ferns! Our duck also broke down and we had to change the duck in the middle of a pond. The cable car ride down from the hill top was scenic and was the highlight of our trip. Would not do it again.
star-4
This was a very interesting tour...
DebraK_T
, Jul. 2016
This was a very interesting tour. The narrow gauge railway was very scenic, but the duck ride was especially fun! We didn't know those existed, and it was good to see those vehicles from World War II being recycled.
star-2
The Tor by Train and Skyrail was ok...
Stefan M
, May 2016
The Tor by Train and Skyrail was ok. The stop in Kuranda was a boring stay as there is absolutely nothing to do than shopping in expensive tourist shops even the shops at the airport are not so expensive. The Army Duck Tour was very poor: a very short tour with a lot of stops on a prepared road and not a really offroad Rainforest tour i assume this was not more than 2km. There are other tours which are much better!!
star-3
There was a lot of time between...
Philip D
, May 2016
There was a lot of time between arriving at Kuranda and being able to return to Cairns. Would rather have been able to leave about two hours sooner

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)
Kuranda Village, Army Duck Tour with Train and Skyrail (KDB)

star-433

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD143.41

star-4.5687

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD127.71

star-553

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD113.63

star-4.5146

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD127.71

star-4.514

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD154.91
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations