Recent Searches
Clear

Turtle Watching Tour

star-4.541 reviews
|
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Turtle Watching Tour

Select Date and Travellers

Number of travellers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Turtles are a big see on Costa Rica beaches, but if you don’t know where to find them, you may miss spotting them in their natural habitat. This Turtle Watching Tour from Tamarindo takes you to a popular beach where turtle nesting happens yearly for six months straight. Your guide knows the specific areas to visit to see these shelled creatures. Plus, pickup from Tamarindo is included.
  • Costa Rica is one of the best places in the world to see turtles
  • A guide knows where to look for turtle nesting areas on the beach
  • Hotel pickup is available from Tamarindo and surrounding areas
  • This turtle watching tour is offered daily for convenience
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Bottled water

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:00 PM
Just let us know your location and we will pick you up . Tamarindo and surrounding area. Hotel Occidental Langosta Beach
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Side by Side ATV Tours & WILD LIFE
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Turtle Watching Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Turtle Watching Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitisation during Turtle Watching Tour?
A:The policies on sanitisation are:

  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
See all safety measures taken by Turtle Watching Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Turtle Watching Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Turtle Watching Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Turtle Watching Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Turtle Watching Tour.

Traveller Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
41 reviews

Reviews by Viator travellers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-4 of 41 reviews
star-2
An odd experience
Brianna_R
, Apr. 2022
Let me start off this review by stating we were mostly with Lester who was GREAT. He was very kind and told us a lot about the turtles. Overall the experience was very strange because we thought we would be with a group but we were picked up by a separate taxi and driven to the beach where we would go see the turtles. Upon arrival the leader/owner of the company was called to be informed that we were there. He was very rude and seemed not to care that we were waiting with no guide. It was also raining. We got to the beach where no turtles, hatchlings, or our actual tour guide was to be seen. There was definitely a slight language barrier with Lester (also our tour guide was supposed to speak english) but he tried his best to make sure we were interested still. It was about 45 minutes to an hour later when the guide actually showed up with the tour group. (The tour was supposed to begin at 6pm he did not arrive till after). We had already decided to leave because it was thundering and lightening at this point. (The tour description states that good weather was required for the Tour. We were not informed that we should cancel due to the poor conditions). The guide spoke to Lester and didn’t seem to understand why we were leaving. At this point we hiked back to the car and went back to our hotel. The overall experience was poor.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
we provided that you didn't pay and the tour couldn't call me because at that area there is not cellphone service and that area we use radios. you went to see the turtles and you didn't pay for the service and after you saw turtles you decided that it was time to leave and yes started raining but we don't control the weather and running the tours cost money. Please we get a service please pay for 🙏 have a successful year.
star-5
The van we we’re picked...
Tom_C
, Mar. 2022
The van we we’re picked up in was old and the the a/c wasn’t working properly. It did break down after arriving at the beach but a replacement arrived for the return trip and it was comfortable with strong a/c. Our guide Anthony was great, explained everything in English and made sure everyone had a chance to see the turtles up close. We saw a mother arriving on the beach. Another mother digging her nest and then laying her eggs and some babies going into the ocean. We had a great experience. I would recommend.
star-4
Saw 5 Pacific greenbacks!
Paul_A
, Mar. 2022
It was quite a drive from Tamarindo. The guide was knowledgeable and respectful of the conservation rules. We saw about 5 Pacific greenbacks in total. We saw them coming in and out of the ocean, 1 digging a nest and 2 babies heading for the sea. As a genuine nature lover it did feel intrusive to me. They say they can't see the red light but any animal would sense that human presence. That said, the tourists help fund the conservation.
star-4
Need to speak the same language
Paula_T
, Jan. 2022
Our tour guide and separate driver barely spoke any English which made both experiences difficult and not enjoyable. We wish we could’ve asked a lot of questions and been able to learn about everything possible. But we couldn’t due to the language barrier. Fortunately we ran into two other groups and their tour guides spoke English and we tagged along. I rated this an overall 4 due to we saw turtles and that made it an enjoyable and amazing experience. If we didn’t see the turtles I would’ve gave this a one or two star review. This really should be fixed and shouldn’t happen to another customer.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Turtle Watching Tour
Turtle Watching Tour

star-4.541

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD60.00

star-4.575

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD46.16

star-53

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD61.54

star-4.5284

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD135.00

star-4.5105

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD38.00

star-422

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD135.00

star-4.552

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD130.00

star-413

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD46.16

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
USD80.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations