Recent Searches
Clear

Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points

star-4.5134 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Milano, Italy
Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Second class train ticket with opening windows from St Moritz to Tirano or vice-versa
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional tour leader
Free time in St. Moritz
Explanation on board the train
Round-trip transfers from Central train station (Hotel Gallia)
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel drop off
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan , Piazza Duca d'Aosta, 9, 20124 Milano MI, Italy

7:35am (except different communation) Go to the corner of Piazza Duca D' Aosta and Piazza quattro Novembre. If on your right you will see the main entrance of the hotel and in front of you the central station, you are at meeting point.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:35 AM
This activity will end right where it started.6 pick up points in Milan. Choose the one closest to your hotel. The day before we will let you know the exact pick up time. Wagner area - Hotel Wagner, Via Michelangelo Buonarroti, 13, 20149 Milano MI Duomo area - The Square Hotel, via Alberico Albricci, 2 Porta Venezia, Piazza Repubblica - NH Milano Touring Hotel, Via Iginio Ugo Tarchetti, 2, 20121 Milano MI Viale Fulvi Testi - Starhotels tourist, Viale Fulvio Testi, 300, 20126 Milano MI Central station area - Excelsior hotel Gallia Drop off will be at the central station (for all passengers), our travel guide will give you all the information to reach your hotel.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • The language chosen is not guaranteed for reservations made 24 hours before departure.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY TAOTRAVEL
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
134 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 134 reviews
star-4
Postcard Views Everywhere
Catharina_T
, Jun 2022
The views were amazing. There were clouds and it sprinkled some but it was still worth the trip. Our tour guide as friendly and kind . She felt like a friend when we were done. The reason for 4 stars is I would have liked more commentary from her in the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. Your feedback helps us to improve service for everyone
star-3
Views on train were...
Nina_D
, Jun 2022
Views on train were beautiful but there were NO stops- very disappointing . Not what we expected from description. Never stopped even at pastry shop as mentioned in tour information.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear traveler, we are sorry for your disappointment, but there are no stops on board the train mentioned in the description. In addition, you were free to visit the pastry shop as it is located in the center of St Moritz. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and we will try to improve our service from your review as well. Sincerely
star-5
Must see scenery!
Nancy_C
, Jun 2022
This trip was fantastic! Communication was good. Bus was on time. Guide was engaging and had lots of facts to share about the alps, St Moritz and the history. The scenery is beautiful - should not be missed!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Ciao Nancy! Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We really appreciate your words that gratify us for the work we do every day. Grazie
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Nice trip! Everything is just nice!
Andrew_S
, Jun 2022
The guides are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed this day tour a lot and would like to recommend this day trip to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Andrew! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating - it's much appreciated! Sincerely
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not what I expected at all!
Ana_W
, Jun 2022
I had to take a cab to the meeting point and back to the hotel. Not expected. The tour guide was nice but didn't know exactly the whole schedule. When we arrived to St Moritz everything was closed, we didn't have time to visit the town nor to have lunch. The train, was a regular train not the advertised Bernina Express. On our way back we stopped once but before we got back into the bus the tour guide told me that there was no stop.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
I can understand your disappointment but I do not consider your vote fair as: 1) you never gave us the name of your hotel, how do you think we can pick you up? 2) it is clearly specified that the train you will travel on is the standard train with opening windows 3) our guide knows the program perfectly 4) if our guide told you that there was no stop and after you stopped I don't understand what the problem is. Thanks anyway for traveling with us
star-4
Recommend this tour
Omar_P
, Jun 2022
I recommend it in another time than May and June. I would select it when is the season of snow or when the vegetation is changing. Is a lot cooler in this area so make sure you bring a jacket. The views are beautiful and enjoyed the train ride and the bus ride was not long at all. I would recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are so grateful for your review. Thanks for sharing your rating with us and the community.
star-4
Alps are beautiful
Emilia_L
, Jun 2022
Beautiful scenery. Trip was a bit different than expected. No hotel pick up but pick up location not a far walk. Bus was comfortable and driver was safe and experienced. The trip to St Moritz was by bus which I wasn’t aware of. Time in St Moritz was short and most stores were closed which was disappointing. Train ride from St Moritz to the Italian border was very nice. Bus ride back to the main drop off point so needed to grab cab to get back to our hotel. Mara our guide kept and eye out for us and gave information but was unaware that it was a holiday in Switzerland.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. Your feedback helps us to improve service for everyone
star-3
Better off making your own trip. Not the Bernina Express.
Debbie_M
, Jun 2022
First, we were not picked up at the hotel we specified. The day before we got an email with the location. Luckily we walked around after the email to try and find the spot, which we had to ask an employee at another hotel where it was. We get on the bus, which the ride had lovely scenery and a fantastic stop at the Cascate dell'Acquafagga falls. Our guide was very nice, but her English was just so-so. We finally get to St Moritz and it was a huge rush. We had 1 hour to find a place for lunch, eat, go to the restroom (no facilities on the bus) and get to the train station. No time at all to look around the town. We get on the train, which is on a regular train line so we had to stop and pick up/drop off travelers at several locations. It was not the advertised Bernina Express. Once the train made its way back to Italy, it was back on the bus for another 3 hour ride with 1 stop, another rush, to use the restroom and get a drink, 15 minutes total for that break. Once we got back to Milan, the bus let everyone off at the same place, which for us was ok since it was a 15 minute walk to our VRBO. Other people had to get a taxi back to their locations as the bus was making no more stops. We would have been much better off getting our own train tickets to St Moritz, check out the town at our leisure and catching the same Alps train back to Italy.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, we are sorry for your disappointment, however in the travel details (inclusion) it is clearly specified that the trip includes second class standard train ticket and not Bernina Express ticket. By the way, the standard train is preferred by customers because they can roll down the windows and take their pictures better. So I wouldn't see that as a negative. Regarding the pickup point, it is also clearly specified that for all hotels located in the area of the central station the meeting point is the Hotel Gallia. I want to clarify that your hotel was a 4 minute walk from the meeting point and not a 15 minute walk. However, we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we will try to improve our services.
star-3
False Advertising - not the Bernina Express!!
Lisa_S
, Jun 2022
Scenery was beautiful BUT I was really disappointed as this was a birthday present to my partner and I booked this thinking it was the Bernina Express - as described in your advert. It clearly was not the Bernina Express. False advertising and mis representstion on your part.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear customer, we are sorry for your disappointment, however in the travel details (inclusion) it is clearly specified that the trip includes second class standard train ticket and not Bernina Express ticket. By the way, the standard train is preferred by customers because they can roll down the windows and take their pictures better. However, we thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will try to improve our services.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Our tour guide Alessandro...
shelley_j
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Alessandro was fantastic and knowledgeable. The views were breathtaking! The drive up was very long but worth it. The only negative comment I have is that we were not on the Bernini express which is a glass top train. The train we were on was very clean and nice though. I would highly recommend this trip.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating - it's much appreciated!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Magical Train from St. Moritz
Gregory_K
, May 2022
The magnificent city of St. Moritz is a can’t miss! Magical train ride through the Swiss Alps is a must!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Gregor! We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. Sicerely
star-4
enjoyed the tour, but...
Julia_W
, May 2022
Enjoyed the rail part and the guide. Our hotel location in the center of Milan meant we could not be picked up at our hotel in the morning. We had a ten minute walk to meet the bus. Also the pick up time was much earlier than the time stated on our original booking. All this was in the fine print at the bottom of the descriptive page, so read the fine print, especially if you really need a pick up in front of your hotel. We did enjoy the tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We are grateful that you took the time out to leave us a review. Your feedback helps us to improve service for everyone.Unfortunately, as you may have seen, your hotel is located in an area that cannot be reached by bus, however we are organizing ourselves to be able to serve these areas as well. Thanks
star-5
A Great Time!
AndrewJ_B
, May 2022
A great tour with a wonderful tour guide - Mara - and our driver - Guiseppe. Mara explained many different things to us and was more rhan hapoy to answer any questions we had.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Andrew! We’re glad and appreciate the kind words. Thank you very much!
star-5
Awesome and breathtaking
Melissa_B
, May 2022
Mara our guide was excellent. Pick up was on time opposite our hotel, really enjoyed every single minute at st moritz. Just too bad because it shoulder season, all the shops are mostly closed and pretty quiet. The highlight was the famous red train Bernina express. We were able to open the window so it’s very amazing experience and it’s not so crowded we have the whole carriage to our group. Bonus, it was snowing as well on spring time, really awesome and worth every Pennies. If you are thinking about this tour, do not think, just book it before sold out.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Melissa! Mara will love to read the kind words you left about her service! We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with TAOTRAVEL. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you visit us again! Sincerely!
star-5
Fantastic day
Lorraine_C
, May 2022
A Perfect day! Visited in May which is off season and had a small group tour of the magnificent Swiss Alps. A must see! The trip was well organized with plenty of stopping points to take in views and pictures. Our Guide was very knowledgeable and helpful also with tips of eateries and things to do in Milan. Best part of our visit. Worth the time and cost.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Lorrain! We’re glad and appreciate the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely
star-5
Best trip ever!
Lucas_M
, May 2022
This is the trip to take, look no further. Mara and the driver picked me up promptly at pick up time at my hotel. The coach was a bit dated, but it did the job. The ride to St. Moritz was breathtaking and Mara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of everything we were seeing. The down time in St. Moritz was absolutely perfect with great shops and restaurants all around. Riding the train through the Alps was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life. The ride back to Milano was quick and easy. You are dropped off at a very prime location, easy to navigate. TAKE THIS TRIP!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Lucas! It's a pleasure to read your nice review. Customers like you reward us for the efforts we make every day to improve our service. our staff will be happy to read the nice words you wrote for them. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. Sincerely
star-5
Excellent tour and great guide
June_G
, May 2022
Excellent tour and good value for money. It’s a long day but we’ll worth the time. Our guide Mara was lovely and looked after all of us really well
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao June! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We will share this with the agency team to let them know to keep up the amazing work.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Highly recommend
Aiste_N
, May 2022
Highly recommend, who wants to escape for one day to mountain, best experience with most beautiful scenery!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Aiste! We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. Taotravel staff
star-4
Just do it
Romini_K
, May 2022
I had been debating this trip for a while, and I am so glad we ended up going for it as a family, even though we only had this one day in Milan before we headed out to Lake Como the next day. If you are thinking whether this is worth the time or the cost, just do it. We had an incredibly memorable day, even though it was Easter Sunday and most of the shops were closed in St Moritz. The journey thoughout is breathtaking, as is St Moritz and Tirano where the train journey ends on the Italian side. We started off in a coach with 26 other people and headed out towards the lakes where there was a quick stop for some breakfast before the incredible journey up to St Moritz in the coach, which is a feat in itself. We were there before mid-day and had a good couple of hours for lunch, some incredible chocolate shopping (go for Hartsmann and not the one the guide recommends, I would say). We even ended up having lunch at the place, as it's a restaurant too. Beware of the shocking prices in Switzerland, everything costs at least 3 times over! Do go towards the lake promenade as the icy lake had incredible colours in April. We then boarded the Bernina Express around 2:40 to go Tirano. I would have preferred to pay a bit extra and get a first class seat as those were much more comfortable, but maybe another time. From Tirano around 5pm, it's a long 2 hour journey back to Milan on the coach. The reason I gave it 4 stars is that the guide wasn't that great. She gave the information but we have been on other tours where a passionate guide makes the trip. The other main reason is even though it's billed as a pick up from hotel, it isn't. I don't care if our stop was only 10 minutes away from our hotel, if it says pick up from hotel, it should be just that. We had to leave early from our hotel to make sure we got to the stop on time and at the right place, meaning we missed our paid for breakfast.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for your review!
star-5
Wonderful tour
Kristen_A
, Apr 2022
Had a lovely time with my sisters on the train! The weather and scenery were lovely. Would recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for your 5 star rating!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points
Bernina Express tour, Swiss alps & St Moritz. With 6 pick up points

star-4.5133

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$142.74

star-4107

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$153.79

star-44

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$277.97

star-4.51479

12 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$142.74

star-574

12 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$166.35

star-4.516

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$149.18

star-00

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$268.31

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$364.90
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations