Recent Searches

Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour

Rome, Italy
Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour

From $318.78

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more


Take off from Rome for the day and hit the enchanting Amalfi Coast and haunting Pompeii on this small-group day trip. After the comfortable ride south of Rome, stop in Pompeii to get a guided tour of the amazing archeological ruin before heading off to striking seaside Positano for lunch and then amazing Amalfi to explore.
  • Full-day semi-private trip from Rome to the Amalfi Coast
  • Take some time to wander around the well-preserved ruins of Pompeii
  • Have lunch in the dramatic seaside town of Positano
  • Spend some time in the relaxed and beautiful town of Amalfi
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pick-up and drop off in Rome ( hotel inside aurelian walls )
Official guide at Pompeii
Small group limited to a maximum of 14 people
Pompeii excavation entrance tickets
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Rome , Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy

Pickup is available for all the accomodation within the aurelian walls

  • Anantara Palazzo Naiadi Rome Hotel , Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome Italy
  • Sina Bernini Bristol , Piazza Barberini 23, 00187 Rome Italy
  • Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora , Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome Italy
  • 7:30 AM
    This activity will end right where it started.We offer pickup in Rome from all the accommodation within the Aurelian Walls.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • We suggest you wearing comfortable clothes and shoes. In summer, bring a bottle of water; in winter, don't forget an umbrella
    • The pick-up is included for all coomodation inside aurelian walls
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Infant seats available
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
    What is the policy on sanitization during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
    What is the social distancing policy during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Regular temperature checks for staff
    See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.

    Traveler Tips

    • "Only caution I would throw out there is if you get car sick, bring something with you." See review
    • "Not much time to take pictures since it was from one station to next." See review


    52 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews
    Beautiful one of the best tours I have done with viator
    , May 2022
    Amazing great time we had with Stefano. He was super nice and picked us up and drop us off from our hotel. We loved Pompeii tour and got to see amazing views in Positano and Amalfi coast. Beautiful communities we loved them! We highly recommend. Specially if you have a mix of ages with different walking abilities and strengths.
    Excellent Day Trip!!
    , Apr 2022
    Great all day excursion! Small group of 8 tourists…van picked us up at our hotel, and was on time! Tours were great! Pompeii had an English guide with hearing devices to make it easy to hear. Lots of people because of Easter. Wear good walking shoes and mind your step! Lots of places to twist an ankle! It was a 13 hour day, but well worth it! Amalfi Coast was incredible! Wish we could have stopped every so often for pics as you can’t get good ones from the moving vehicle. Enjoy!
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Thank you very much for your email, we work hard for the success of the tours. Kind regards Michele
    Horrible experience
    , Jan 2020
    Our tour guide only showed us what he wanted too. I felt like there was a lot more to been seen, he only showed us one of the bodies and I have seen lots of the history in others pictures. We should have had a longer time walking around touring Pompeii on our own since they changed my day to Sunday and most of the coastal town of Amalfi was closed. I don't think this tour should be available on Sunday, we spent 3 hrs. sitting around cause not much was open
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
    We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the tour. The guides in Pompeii are all certified professionals, they always make sure to let you see the most important things while explaining their historical importance. Pompeii is as vast as it is beautiful, so it is unfortunately not possible to see all the available locations and bodies in a shared guided tour. In addition, please notice that, in an effort to preserve them, not all the bodies and locations are available to the public and can only be seen through pictures.
    Bellisimo - A memorable tour of Pompeii and Potisano.
    , Nov 2019
    Our driver Andreas was wonderful . Pompeii was such a historical wonder. Our tour guide had much knowledge to share that added to the wonder of Pompeii. Andreas our driver was waiting for us when we finished the tour and took us to a wonderful restaurant by the ocean where we had a wonderful meal. He patiently waited while we shopped. He was a careful driver and had great manners. Would it be possible to get the same driver if we re-visited?
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Thank you very much for your review! We're glad to hear that our guide helped making the experience even more unforgettable and that Andrea provided excellent service. Our drivers and guides are always very happy to hear about the positive feedback!
    Beautiful positano.
    , Sep 2019
    Family of 5. Pick up at hotel with one other couple. Driver and "guide". He was learning English to be a real licensed guide. He really didn't talk much during trip. We driving fast like 75 to 100 miles/hr. Long drive. Our second guide at Pompeii was late and we were on a strict time table to make it to amalfi, positano. Pompeii guide was rushed but pretty good. Not much time to take pictures since it was from one station to next. We chose not to goto amalfi to enjoy more time in beautiful positano. We had 1.5 hrs free time No guide. Long day but enjoyed positano the best.
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Thank you for your review. We always want to give the chance to visit as many places as possible in our tours, while also learning about their history. We're happy you enjoyed the beautiful Positano and hope to welcome you again in Italy in the near future!
    Great Day Out
    , Jul 2019
    Day trip to Pompei and the Amalfi coast. Transportation was very comfortable and tour guide Debra and the driver Nico could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Pompei was amazing and the local guide Hector provided a fascinating insight into the history of the city and eruption and what presently remains of the city. Amalfi and Positano were included as part if the tour and the views were breathtaking. Although there is free time in both Amalfi and Positano, our host Debra went out of her way to provide insight and explanation of the key points of both cities. A great day out and highly recommend.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful experience with us. Our guides are really happy to know that you have enjoyed the tour in this wonderful location in the Amalfi coast!
    , Jun 2019
    We couldn't go to Amalfi Coast due a road closing, so we ended up going to Naples and walking around for 4 hours without any direction at all...I wasn't even able to get a partial refund because in order to get a refund, "I would have had to tell them before the trip started." The guide hadn't even been to Naples before except when she was a kid she said. So basically I paid 560 dollars (for myself and my fiance) to get dropped off and forced to walk 10 miles in a city that I didn't even want to go to. Lunch wasn't even comped. Trip was so disappointing!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    We are sorry about your disappointment. Due to road closing, not depending on us, we had gave you the opportunity of visiting Naples, one of the most beautiful and famous city in Italy. Please notice that as written on your rservation voucher lunch is not included in the product you have booked.
    Pompei and Amalfi
    , Jun 2019
    Magnificent!!! From our pick up to our return to the hotel the experience was excellent. Our guide Lore and our driver Diego provided an excellent service. The ruins, the view of the lovely Amalfi and Positano are still theme of conversation in our family. 100% recommended!!!!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Thank you for your beautiful review, we are so happy to know that you had an excellent experience with Lorie and Diego. Pompeii and Amalfi coast are among the most suggestive places in Italy!
    Good day tour
    , Jun 2019
    The staff was super freindly and engaging. Two tour guides, and a driver. The main tour guide spoke good English and the driver and the tour guide trainee spoke Spanish. As a person who is bilingual i found this very helpfull and made for a more fun excursion. In transit to our destinations there was plenty of time for rest, bathroom stops and food stops at said rest areas. The only complaint I had is that we did not get enough time at our second stop and third stop. I would have liked more time at the city of Amalfi. That said, highly recomend this trip.
    Wonder Tour with great tour guides and a great driver
    , Jun 2019
    Would highly recommend taking this tour. The only negative is the tour guide in Pompeii should have a microphone or provide audio equipment. She spoke excellent English but we could not hear her at times. The walking tour was 2 hours. The driver was excellent and private tour guide accompany us was very informed during the ride. We totally enjoyed the day. They picked us up at our Airbnb @7 and dropped us off at 9:30pm. It was quite private; only a total 6 persons.
    Choose a different tour
    , Jun 2019
    The first part of the day at Pompeii was great - our guide there was Ana Sophia and she was terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the afternoon stops at Positano and Amalfi was awful. We were given only 45 minutes at Positano to have lunch, use the facilities and visit the town - an impossible feat. We managed to find a restroom, choke down a panini on the run and stop into one shop before getting back in the car. At Amalfi we were given only 25 minutes to visit. Our guide for the drive was awful (can't remember her name). She gave us no information and when we asked questions she made up answers that were not true (as compared to guide books and plaques we saw on the walls). Our driver Diego was great and tried his best to give us information but his English wasn't that good so he was limited in his descriptions. The girl guide who was awful made the trip boring and frustrating. Other than Pompeii which was great thanks to the local guide Ana Sofia, the rest of the day was spent 90% driving in silence. Would absolutely not recommend this tour. Do Pompeii on it's own and spend a whole day (at least) on the Amalfi coast.
    , May 2019
    This was my favorite visit out of all of Italy. Amalfi Coast is wonderful and Pompeii was fantastic. Our tour guide was fantastic. I felt I was on a tour with a friend. I was picked up and dropped off at our Airbnb and the best part was the small group. We didn't have to travel in a huge tour bus but two small mini vans. It was much nicer. Only caution I would throw out there is if you get car sick, bring something with you. The roads on the Amalfi Coast are like a roller coaster!
    Great service. Victoria arranged for...
    , Feb 2018
    Great service. Victoria arranged for a local guide at the Pompeii ruins who was informative and entertaining. Victoria also recommended a restaurant at Amalfi Coast which was absolutely heavenly - the views, the service, the food were impeccable!
    Good day to you all, My...
    Lucy P
    , Jan 2018
    Good day to you all, My mom and I took this tour, ANDREA our guide who at the same time was our driver is a very nice men, very caring, drives carefully, very nice person, speaks English perfectly well. As if we had a body guard, he stayed with us all day, when I was trying to buy souvenirs he helped me and started bargaining with me. My mom needed to enter the bathroom, he paid for it and never accepted to take the money back. The tour overall was amazing, actually more than I expected, our first stop was at Pompeii, an English speaking guide was waiting for us, Pompeii is a must see destination. After Pompeii, Andrea took us to Amalfi coast and to Positano, two incredibly beautiful islands, we had enough ti,e to buy souvenirs and to take wonderful pictures. Your trip to Italy will be without a meaning if you don't go to Pompeii and to these beautiful islands. Thank you dear ANDREA for making this trip an unforgettable one, God bless you. Lucy and mom
    This tour was exactly what we had...
    steven h
    , Oct 2017
    This tour was exactly what we had planned it to be. Since we were not able to incorporate more time in southern Italy on this trip it gave us a chance to see Pompeii, the towns of Amalfi and Positano where we had a great lunch thanks to the recommendation of our very wonderful driver Andrea. Andrea also took us on the famous Amalfi drive along the gorgeous coast which was a definite on our bucket list. The weather was clear and sunny and Andrea's expert driving and care for us stopping at beautiful look out areas was exemplary. His care for us as we toured was very dedicated and focused. This was a very long day starting early in the morning along with an ambitious itinerary that was made easier by his recommendations. We feel that it was a good trial run for our future visit to southern Italy. And if you get the chance to have Andrea as your driver so much the better.
    Very nice tour and great tour guide...
    Soudabeh V
    , Sep 2017
    Very nice tour and great tour guide. They were very helpful
    This tour was the highlight of our...
    , Aug 2017
    This tour was the highlight of our stay in Italy. Our tour guide was superb. We were scheduled to be in a small group of six, but my wife and I were the only ones on the trip. So, effectively, we had a private tour, and our guide was knowledgeable, friendly, articulate, and caring. Easily an A.
    I would give this tour 10 stars if I...
    Suzanne S
    , Aug 2017
    I would give this tour 10 stars if I could. Absolutely a day and a drive that our family will never forget. Our guide, Victoria, was absolutely amazing and made sure our day was perfect. She was very knowledgeable about Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast and obviously is very proud of her country as she should be as Italy is amazing. She was an excellent driver and I can't say enough about how wonderful this trip was. We ended up having a private tour and it was so worth the money! Perfect day and tour!!
    I was initially nervous about doing...
    , Jul 2017
    I was initially nervous about doing this tour because I did not get the final pick up time finalized until the day before. The tour company called my hotel with the time. I believe the reason for the delay in time was because they were waiting to see if other people were going to join the tour. In the end, it was just my partner and I, which was pretty awesome. Our guide was Victoria and she was fantastic! She is a great driver, funny, and really easy to talk to especially about Italian culture. We drove from Rome to Pompeii first. It was a long drive and felt like 3 hours or so. When we arrived, we joined another tour group fairly large and Victoria tagged along. It was skip the line. The tour for Pompeii was really funny and she pointed out the highlights of Pompeii. Victoria also told us about parts of Pompeii. We could have explored more, but it was too hot to stay too long. After Pompeii, we went to Positano. The roads were insane and I am glad Victoria knew how to drive through the windy roads. Parking was almost inevitable because of peak season. We had free time for about an hour and we went to a restaurant recommended by our guide. We couldn't go to the Amalfi town due to forest fires, so that was disappointing. The ride home was incredibly long due to traffic from people coming from the beaches and waiting in the tolls. This was the only tour for Pompeii and Positano that was available on Sunday that I found. I believe it is because they are willing to deal with the heavy Sunday traffic, which I am highly thankful for. I really recommend this tour because you really get the private, exceptional experience and an informative guide.
    This was amazing! Beautiful Amalfi...
    Govind S
    , Jul 2017
    This was amazing! Beautiful Amalfi coast, amazing Pompeii, and very informative guides!

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour
    Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour


    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    10 hours

    Free Cancellation



    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    12 hours

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours

    Free Cancellation



    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations