Recent Searches
Clear

Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

The Vatican Museums and St. Peter’s Basilica are home to some of the world’s top artistic masterpieces—and this seamless, small-group tour makes it simple to discover the collection highlights. See the Sistine Chapel and then delve deeper into the galleries: works like Raphael’s School of Athens and the ancient Laocoön and His Sons sculpture can be found within its walls. Then, continue to neighboring St. Peter’s Basilica, where you’ll view Michelangelo’s Pieta and other masterworks.
  • A small-group tour provides an intimate way to see the sights
  • Discover the Vatican’s best-known artistic masterpieces
  • Learn the stories behind the artworks from your guide’s commentary
  • Skip-the-line entry helps you save time and beat the crowds
Saved to wishlist!
Small-group tour of max 16 people
Headsets for groups of 6 people and more
Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Skip-The-Line Tickets
Visit of St. Peter's Basilica included
Professional English-Speaking Guide
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Transportation
Viale Giulio Cesare, 241 , Viale Giulio Cesare, 241, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

The easiest way to reach the meeting point is via the metro on the A line, and we recommend getting off at the stop "Ottaviano". Climb the stairs up to the station and take the last exit on the left. Go up the stairs to the street. Stay on the left-hand side of the road and walk past the news-stand towards Via Leone IV, approximately 2 blocks. The flower stand is located on the corner of Viale Giulio Cesare and Via Leone IV. There is a Burger King directly across the street from the flower stand.

Saint Peter's Square , Piazza San Pietro, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Customers with mobility difficulties, disabilities or special needs are required to report them in the “special requirements section” during the booking process, in order to guarantee the proper management tour and related services.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements.
  • Important: since the passageway between the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica is still closed due to COVID, we will enter the Basilica via St. Peter's Square after our visit to the museums so the Basilica remains part of the itinerary. This means we must pass security again and the tour length could be extended by 45 minutes on average.
  • All visitors must pass through a security check to enter the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's Basilica
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please note that the Vatican Museums provide free entrance for visitors who are (according to the requirements stated by the Vatican City) at least 74% disabled by presenting the appropriate certification and, if one needs assistance by another person, that person also receives a free entrance. Please inform us when you are booking if you fit into these requirements and we will remove the pricing of the entry tickets from the price of the tour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Through Eternity Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
45 Reviews
3 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews
star-5
Best tour guide ever
David_D
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide, Thomas, was terrific! He has degrees in both art and history and has been giving these tours for 17 years. He is witty and knowledgeable. Definitely a great experience. Can't recommend him more highly.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thomas will be so delighted to read your feedback, he is indeed one of the best.Thanks for your review David. Rajae
star-5
Best Tour in Rome!
ScottandRia_B
, Aug 2022
Our guide Gracelyn was amazing! She was very easy to understand and was very knowledgeable about the history of these places. Lots of fascinating facts and information.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hey! it is always heartwarming to read reviews about how brilliant our guides are. Gracelyn is indeed a gem :) Thank you for your review & so happy you enjoyed our tours. Rajae Through Eternity Tours Team
star-5
Great Experience
Rey_R
, Jul 2022
John, our John Tinto, was awesome! He was very knowledgeable and wanted us to get the best experience on the tour. I highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hey! Thank you for your feedback. John is brilliant indeed. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour with us! Rajae
star-5
Worth it!
Daniel_U
, Jul 2022
Great tour we got lucky with a non busy day the guide said. Seemed really busy but still got to see the amazing Vatican and St Peters.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Great Daniel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour :)
star-5
Just fantastic and interesting
Andrew_H
, Jul 2022
It was the basilica that was unbelievable - it was upsetting that we were told in advance that there was to be silence & no photos inside the Sistine Chapel there was very little respect shown which I know isn’t your fault
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your feedback. Indeed it is upsetting to see some visitors not complying to the rules of the Sistine chapel but as a company that values heritage, we do our best to respect the spaces where we offer our tours.
star-5
Great Tour
Denise_A
, Jul 2022
Our guide, Robert, was really awesome. He gave us a thorough history lesson throughout the tour and was very passionate about the evolution of the artists.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Denise, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your tour with Robert, he is indeed a brilliant guide.
star-5
Vatican experience
Maria_S
, Jul 2022
Enrica was a great tour guide. While there is toouch to see, she highlighted important aspects of what to see, particularly in the Sistine Chapel and La pieta. Patient. Attentive to seniors.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Happy to hear this Maria! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience with us.
star-1
Total waste of money.
Jason_A
, Jul 2022
The tour guide was ok but the microphone system was horrible in the sisteen chapel portion. His information was good but not great. Not worth the money we spent at all. Could have done a self guided tour and got what we did out this.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Jason_A, We were so very sorry to see and read this review about your experience with us for our Vatican essential tour. You bring up a few points that need to be addressed. First of all, the microphone system is the one that we are obliged to use by the Vatican Museums so I strongly suggest that if you were unhappy with the system, please do write a review on the dedicated Vatican Museums page on Trip Advisor to express your frustration. We unfortunately do not have a choice in which headsets we can use. It was also noted that you spoke about how horrible the explanation was in the Sistine Chapel. This was also strange since it is expressly forbidden for people to speak inside the chapel since it is considered to be a sacred space, especially guides. We are not allowed to speak inside that chapel to explain things for any reason and no TE Guide is allowed to do so which makes us question is you had even followed one of our tours. Having said that, if you did indeed follow our tour and you were truly unsatisfied with our guide and tour that we offered, please do reach out to us. We are open to discuss the possibility of a refund. We work very hard to give people the best possible experience that they can have and if we have not risen up to our high standards in your opinion, we take this very seriously. Please do reach out to us at office@througheternity.com. Kindest Regards, Rob
star-4
Great for "the hits"
Dave_E
, Jun 2022
Great tour. Didn't feel like a number, and the pace was good for taking in "the hits". Philipo spoke slowly and very clearly, and had knowledge to spare. Enjoyable for me and my wife (50s) and our 19yo daughter. Not strenuous, but if you want get your workout in, do the cupola afterwards and don't take the elevator.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Dave_E, The team is thrilled you were so happy with your Essential Vatican tour and that you and your family didn't feel like a number. Filippo really is a fantastic guide; we feel so lucky to have him. Maybe you’d like to share with your friends who are due for a European break soon? We’d love to continue making holiday dreams come true for customers like you. A presto, Marco
star-5
Amazing!
Cathy_R
, Jun 2022
Tatiana was so knowledgeable and an amazing guide. She knew so much information and could answer an question we had. We had an amazing time and learned a lot.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Ciao Cathy_R, Thanks for leaving a review, and mentioning our guide, Tatiana. You’re right, she is very knowledgable and we're happy to hear you had a lovely time with her and that you learned a few new things about history. Next time you’re here, try our new Colosseum Gladiator Arena Floor tour – it is one of our customer’s favorites! Until then, Marco
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful!
Taneil_S
, May 2022
We had Thomas as our guide today and he was excellent. He was engaging and interesting to listen to and clearly knows his stuff. I felt I got a lot out of the day and enjoyed what he chose to focus on. I’d highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
What a wonderful review, Taneil_S! Thank you for the lovely words, receiving great reviews like this means the world to us! We’re thrilled to hear how impressed you were with Thomas and most importantly that you felt you got a lot out of our Essential Vatican tour. We hope to welcome you back in the future! All the best, Marco
star-5
Congratulations to John for an excellent job.
Jorge_N
, May 2022
John is extremely knowledgeable and did a great job describing the treasures in these three sites. He greatly exceeded our expectations.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Jorge_N, Thanks for leaving a review, and mentioning our so very knowledgeable John. You’re right, he exceeds our expectations, too; we're so lucky to have him! We can't wait to have you back! A presto, Marco

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica
Likely to Sell Out
Essential Sistine Chapel Tour, Vatican Museums and St Peter Basilica

star-544

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$71.64

star-5109

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$82.03

star-4.5478

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$165.61

star-5249

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.30

star-549

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$155.23

star-4.526122

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.88

star-4.51765

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.30
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations