Recent Searches
Clear

Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality

|
Roma, Italy
Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants
Non-refundable
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 15 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Visit the Golden House of Nero (Domus Aurea) with a prebooked ticket for a virtual reality tour. With a special VR headset, the Roman history of the site comes to life and you’ll experience the palace in its glory days. Listen to video commentary to get the lowdown on the lavish life of the Emperor Nero, and see the “Raphael and the Domus Aurea” exhibition — a gallery dedicated to the rediscovery of ancient paintings.
  • Book online to secure your place on a popular VR Golden House of Nero tour
  • Save time at the Golden House of Nero ticket office with a prebooked ticket
  • Explore the restored Roman palace at your own pace with a VR headset
  • Get access to an exhibition of rediscovered paintings after your VR tour
Saved to wishlist!
expert staff to guide you through 12 steps
Domus Aurea admission ticket
All Fees and Taxes
virtual devices
Via della Domus Aurea , Via della Domus Aurea, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

Go at the entrance of the Domus Aurea, located at VIA DELLA DOMUS AUREA 1. Show the entrance ticket we sent you in PDF.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • We recommend comfortable shoes and jackets
  • It's required to be at the meeting point 30 minutes prior your scheduled start time
  • Attention: within 2 days prior the visit we will send you your entrance ticket that has to be shown at the reservation desk. Please check your email account before to go
  • The controlled atmosphere inside means that the temperature is always around 10 decrees Celsius (50 degrees Fahrenheit), with 100% humidity - you're strongly advised to take a coat, jacket or pullover with you at any time of the year
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY onceuponatimetours
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

3.0
star-3
22 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews
star-1
Do not book this attraction this way
Tamara_T
, Jun 2022
The vendor put the wrong time on one set of our tickets, as a result the four people in my family could not get into this attraction. This booking only allows you to do two tickets at a time when booking… so we had to book the same thing twice to get a total of four tickets. One set of tickets had the right time and the other did not. When I brought this up to the vendor and Viator they only gave us a refund for two of our four tickets (the two that had the wrong time on them)… stating that since two of them were good that we could’ve use them. We, however, are a family of four (including two teens) who were there to tour together. Viator also said even though the vendor messed up and gave me the wrong time on one set of tickets, the fact that they gave me a link to the wrong tickets ahead of time and I should’ve noticed (and gotten it fixed before going) and that justifies their actions to not give me a refund. I, however, struggled to find the email where they sent us the ‘right’ tickets… We were sent four separate emails with four different statements regarding how to get said tickets. Three of the ‘get your tickets’ buttons sends/gets you to a pretend ticket that is not the right one, which is what I originally presented the day of the attraction. At the attraction, in the confusion while trying to enter is when I found out there’s yet another email with a different button that I was supposed to press… When I pressed it on-site it gave me tickets with the wrong time for two of my tickets, frustrating the people at the gate who no longer allowed any of us to enter at that point… even if we were to figure out how to get it fixed. They had us leave. I let variator and the vendor know this and they still refuse to give me a refund for two of my tickets. The vendor marked us ‘late’ on their end and Viator is saying that also is a reason we can’t get a refund for our remaining tickets, what a mess. All the while it is acknowledged and known that two of our tickets were done incorrectly by the vendor and that we struggled to get in as a family (couldn’t get in as a family) and they STILL will not fix this for us). As a result, I highly recommend against booking this way to go to this attraction. Instead, buy it directly on location or from the website of the attraction itself (don’t be afraid to do so, it’s fine and more reliable and your tickets will be accurate)… Not only will you save money but you will not have the frustration of dealing with a third-party vendor and Viator which is not providing proper customer service. Do not recommend. I’m sure this is a great place to visit, just don’t book it this way.
star-4
A glimpse of another world
Juliet_B
, Jun 2022
Utterly fascinating. A really well informed guide, the VR was great and the visual projection at the outset of the tour helped to understand how the site was developed then lost. It would really improve the quality of the tour if the guide had an iPad on which to show the illustrations (too dark to see so we had to use torches on iPhones). Also, it would really help if we had audio guides (as in The Vatican Museums and other sites we have visited.) Some in our group were not native English speakers and it was quite hard to hear the guide and follow what was being said, so it would be helpful all round if we had individual earpieces. Thanks for a unique tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to understand that you loved our service and our tour! Thank you also for your tips! We will improve our service more and more....
star-2
Choose a different company
Rachael_G
, Jun 2022
Go with a different company. The address on the right keys were incomplete so if it’s your first time there you have no idea where to go and there is no one to meet you. Because if this we were late and missed the first half of our tour. The actual domus is amazing but choose a different company
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Mrs Groll, I am very surprised to see your review.... We sent you your entrance ticket 1 week before your visit toghether with a map to find the Domus Aurea entrance (even if this was not required). You didn't see our email and you called me on the day of your visit (10 minutes after the starting time). I helped you to find your ticket, I helped you to get inside the Domus Aurea and to find your guide even if was late.....honestly I don't undestad why you say "choose a different company" I was expecting "thank you"....
star-4
Very well worth doing
Helen_W
, May 2022
The Domus Aurea itself is spectacular and the Virtual Reality experience really brings it to life - our grand daughter really enjoyed it. The only downside was that the guide, who was very knowledgeable, wore a mask but spoke very quietly and in a monotone voice. I understand the wearing of the mask in Covid times BUT because of the echoing walls etc ( you are underground) there is a need for some sort of microphone to be worn by the guide so that the guests can enjoy a full experience.
star-1
Very upset with...
Janice_D
, May 2022
Very upset with Viator....tickets would not download pdf file and guards would not let us enter...tried the email, text message link and kept getting the page that indicated we paid but that it was not the actual ticket....extremely frustrating and very unlike Viator. Clearly a glitch with program. Would have addressed it earlier but was traveling and did not have an easy way to contact directly
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello, I am sorry to understand that your experience with Viator didn't meet your expectations but you posted your review on our tour company page and not in Viator page.... We sent you your entrance ticket on Viator platform. I understand that you couldn't find it. If you had contacted us by message or by phone I would have been more than happy to help you.
star-4
Good tour but mis-advertised.
Margaret_M
, May 2022
The tour was well guided and the Domus Aurea is a truly remarkable place. The only disappointment was that the tour was advertised with entry to a Raphael exhibition. In fact, this closed over a month ago. Come on get your advertising up to date and honest!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello, thank you very much for your review! We are very glad to hear that you appreciated the Domus Aurea. Please note that as written online and on your confirmation voucher, the Raffaello exhibition was a temporary exhibition offered free of charge until last January 7th even. We hope to have you again in future as our welcome customer!
star-5
Trip to the domus aurea was the highlight of my trip to Rome
Mark_T
, May 2022
The scale Of the palace all the rooms all underground We're extraordinary and the VR Visualization of what the palace looked like when it was finished was incredible
star-1
Closed once again
Ann_H
, Apr 2022
Sadly, once again it was closed. I’m not sure I’ll ever get to see it. The substitute offered, Stadium of Domitian, was not equal to what I’d expected at Nero’s Golden House
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Mrs Hicks, Unfortunately the Domus Aurea admin decided to temporary close the archeological site. We offered to attend another tour and since is not the same of the Domus Aurea we partially refunded your booking. I know you appreciated our assistance and our job and I am sure you didn't know that the low rating of your review will impact only our tour operator. I really hope to meet you in future when the Domus Aurea will be open again!
star-4
Almost!
Carol_S
, Apr 2022
Tour was fine. Guide was knowledge! Tour group not so much. Third party never sent q&r code to let me in. No one from tour company was there. A very kind tour guide from another group called company and asked what was going on. Once she spoke to them code appeared. She was my hero!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Mrs Schramer, I am glad you loved the tour at the Domus Aurea but I'm a little bit surprised about what you say regarding us. I don't know why you was waiting for a code on the date of your tour. We sent you your entrance ticket by mail 3 weeks before your tour and when our colleague call us we sent you again by whatsapp the ticket and the picture of the email already sent to you on march 21st. We hope to have been your heroes too and we hope to meet you again in your next trip in Rome
star-4
Great visit but Viator need to sort out their system
Caroline_E
, Dec 2021
The Domus Ayres is wonderful- Viator’s ticket system awful - the links never brought up the actual ticket
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear customer, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you loved our tour at the Domus Aurea. Viator customer service uses to send a confirmation that they call "ticket". Within 2 days prior the scheduled visit, we (the tour operator) send a new email with the entrance ticket in attachment. I am sorry if this could cause confusion but fortunately the staff at the entrance could help you to find your entrance ticket yesterday. We hope to meet you again in future!
star-4
Great tour
Nicole_M
, Nov 2021
I loved seeing the change from when I visited two years ago. Only downside it would have been nice to have a small headset as I feel we may have missed some things as our guide was very quiet. Also I would have loved some information on Nero himself
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Off the beaten path!
Randall_P
, Oct 2021
An “off the beaten path” tour! Excellent presentation, we learned a lot and really enjoyed this tour! Don’t miss it!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other customers. We are very excited to know that you loved our tour at the Domus Aurea we hope to meet you again in future and to let you explore Rome with our services!
star-5
Great, but too expensive
Jaap_S
, Oct 2021
Wonderful, but the price of a ticket is 19,50 euro and I paid 50 at Viator. So somebody did get a lot of money being person-in-between.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that your experience was perfect. The price you saw on the ticket is reserved for travel agents or tour operators and its shown without the presell fee that we pay to the Domus Aurea. The difference between this price and what you paid is fee and taxes applied by Viator that guarantees the service booked and the payment you did online plus the fees and taxes we apply, that is part of our earn. We hope to see you again in future!
star-1
Es una estafa, compran...
Stefano_B
, Jul 2022
Es una estafa, compran las entradas oficiales para que se agoten y revenderlas despues más caras (el doble). Por tanto busquen la página oficial las entradas
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
por cierto no esperava un comentario como esto siendo que usted apreciò mucho mi ayuda en el enviarle el boleto via whatsapp. Por cierto el precio que usted pagò incluye el servicio del sitio web que le da la posibilidad de reservar tambien 1 hora antes de la visita y incluye el servicio de asistencia que le hize yo por telefono (de domingo, cuando las oficinas de la Domus Aurea esta cerrada). Espero encontrarla en futuro y realmente espero que valorize mas el servicio y el trabajo de las personas.
star-2
Ich erhielt die Tickets...
Reinhard_S
, Jul 2022
Ich erhielt die Tickets erst nach zwei Telefonaten per email! Das war sehr mühsam!! Domus Aurea wahr jedoch fantastisch!! Sehr zu empfehlen!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
helo, I am happy to understand you appreciated my help even if I was expecting a better review regarding this. the ticket was sent to you just 15 minutes after your booking. You called me because you were at the entrance and you was showing your confirmation instead of the ticket we sent you. I sent you the ticket twice by mail and fortunately you could find it. I hope to meet you again in future! Best regards,
star-5
Das Erlebnis, mittels...
Hartmut_L
, Jun 2022
Das Erlebnis, mittels Virtueller Realität in Neros Palast hineinzuversetzen werden, ist phänomenal, ein unvergleichliches Erlebnis!!! Einfach nur genial!
star-5
Entrare , scoprire e...
RENATA_M
, May 2022
Entrare , scoprire e immaginare. Se vi va bene così ok altrimenti non faccio nulla. Uffaàaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
star-5
Sehr empfehlenswert
Monika_M
, May 2022
Tolle Verbindung von kompetenter Führung und Multimedia. Sehr beeindruckende Führung. Erweitert das ROM Wissen.
star-3
Ich konnte im Handy mein...
Caroline_D
, Sep 2021
Ich konnte im Handy mein Ticket nicht öffnen und erhielt umgehend einen sofortigen Support, damit ich trotzdem an der Tour teilnehmen konnte. Dieser Service war toll und die Ansprechperson sehr zuvorkommen. Leider war in der Beschreibung auf Viator.com nicht sichtbar, dass zurzeit (wegen Corona) die Virtual-Reality-Tour nicht stattfindet. Von daher ist dieses Angebot momentan nicht zu empfehlen, da es für den Preis kein Mehrwert bietet.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear customer, thank you for your review . I am happy to know that you appreciated my efforts on assisting you with the ticket. I always try to be at my customer's disposal and I am glad to know that I could help you. From 3 years this tour is offered only in one way....immersive reality and video-based project which enhances the experience with multimedia installations such as the videomapping of large surfaces and virtual reality. Only the 15 minutes with the VR oculus aren't temporary offered due to covid-19 pandemic as informed in COVID-19 HEALT AND SAFETY MEASURES. The tour is and has been offered exactly as described. Before the pandemic the sensorial experience of this tour (composed by 12 different steps) was enhanced by 15 minutes during which a customer could use the VR oculus and see how the Domus Aurea was. Due to the covid-19, in order to avoid potential dangerous physical contacts between customers we preferred don't offer the vr oculus experience and I hope you can appreciate our efforts on keeping safe our services. The rest of the tour is still offered as it was before the pandemic. Actually, and until January 2022 will be offered free of charge an extra tour to the exposition of Raffaello that temporary is hosted inside the Domus Aurea. The tour, as per the description, is a walking tour with immersive reality and video-based project which enhances the experience with multimedia installations such as the videomapping of large surfaces and virtual reality and “sensory” projection in the entrance hall. I hope you enjoyed the tour in general and I hope to meet you again in future. Regards,

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality
Domus Aurea skip the line ticket + virtual reality

star-322

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.38

star-317

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.53

star-522

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.26

star-00

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$21.80

star-53

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$36.34

star-545

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.49

star-512

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.96

star-4.534

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.81

star-00

40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$36.34
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations