Recent Searches
Clear

Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City

star-3.5453 Reviews
|
Roma, Italy
Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Attend a Papal Audience with Pope Francis I at the Vatican. Tickets may be free but they are extremely hard to come by, so booking in advance is essential. By booking ahead, you're ensuring you won't waste any time trying to get tickets while you're on vacation in the Eternal City. 
  • Papal Audience with Pope Francis I at the Vatican
  • Make a booking to ensure you don't miss this special opportunity
  • Short sightseeing tour with live commentary en route to the Vatican
  • Pickup from centrally located Rome hotels
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
panoramic hop on hop off "One Run"
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Seating not guaranteed
Pick up and drop off
Via della Conciliazione, 40 , Via della Conciliazione, 40, 00193 Roma RM, Italy

the meeting point is in Via della Conciliazione 40 at 7,45 am

7:45 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Depending on the season and weather conditions and the number of devotees visiting that day, the audience can take place in the Audience Hall, St. Peter's Basilica, or St. Peter's Square. 

Start this unique day with a comfortable coach tour that traverses Rome. As you pass by legendary landmarks, learn about the history of the city from your guide. See the ancient Aurelian Walls, the Villa Borghese, and Piazza del Popolo with its twin Baroque churches and the Egyptian obelisk at the center of the public space. 

Then cross over the Tiber River and pass by the imposing Castel Sant' Angelo, the tomb of Roman Emperor Hadrian, before arriving in Saint Peter's Square. 
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Via della Conciliazione
meeting point and departure of our clients: Via della Conciliazione, 40
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Obelisco Vaticano
at the center of the square stands the Egyptian obelisk of red granite 25.5m tall, supported on bronze lions . the obelisk was originally erected at Heliopolis, Egypt by an unknown pharaoh.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
St. Peter's Square
St Peter's Square will astound you with its large plaza located in front of the St Peter's Basilica in the Vatican City, the Architect Gian Lorenzo BERNINI redesigned this Basilica from 1656 to 1667 under the direction of Pope Alexander VII.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • There can be a considerable amount of walking on Rome tours, (often on uneven, cobbled surfaces) due to coach regulations. It is possible for clients to remain on the coach, however this means that many of the sights will be missed
  • Tour is suitable for wheelchair users provided passenger is traveling with a companion who can assist them on and off the bus. Wheelchairs will be stored in the luggage area of the bus
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worships and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops are allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. This dress code is strictly enforced and you will risk refused entry if you fail to comply with requirements
  • Seats are not guarantee at the Vatican during the Papal Audience
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Greenline Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "He or she can also plan her/his own schedule more easier." See review
  • "Tour guide recommended the perfect spot to stand for the papal audience." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
453 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 453 reviews
star-5
Trip of a lifetime
Katherine_A
, Jun 2022
It was out honeymoon and we saw Pope Francis and he blessed us. It was amazing. Massimo the tour guide from Greenline was exceptional.
star-5
A must do activity!
MarieAimee_G
, May 2022
Our guide was great and we got a really great spot! We were so close to Papa Francesco, and this is the highlight of our tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic review! Have a great day! Pina GLT
star-5
Great customer service!!
Ivonne_Z
, May 2022
I had bought tickets to go the Pope Audiences, but I could not go on Wednesday, which is the only day to go to the audience. So, they were very nice and diligent to change my ticket to go to the Hop On, Hop off (Big Bus) instead. It was nice to see the main places in Rome, in 1 hour and then decide where to stop and see. For that reason, I totally recommend that. Thank you for the great service!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Mrs IVONNE Thank you very much ,it was me Pina ! to change your original ticket for the Open Bus 48 hours , i 'm very glad to know , trhat it was a great deal ! Thanks for your positive and helpful feedback! Have a great day Pina GLT
star-5
Papal Audience was the best!
Magdalene_C
, May 2022
Technically, this is not a tour and also tickets to see the Papal Audience on Wed is free. But i didn't get a reply from the Vatican and didn't want to deal with the hassle of getting lost to pick up the tickets, this was my only way in. I personally thought it was worth paying for the best moment in my life, seeing the Pope. The guide does disappear once you get into the seating area. My advise is to sit near the barricades to get an awesome view coz that's where the Pope Mobil will drive pass. I'm grateful for the tour is arranging this. Oh you do get a hop-off, hop-on bus tour. So all's good.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback,wecare happy that you were satisfied of this event. Our best regards Pina Glt
star-2
The guide was great
Lena_B
, May 2022
It’s not a tour worth paying for. We sat far back. The tour says meet the Pope but barely saw Him with the huge crowds. We got in with the pass for the Pope drive around but then anyone could get in for the Pope’s speech and blessings. People who didn’t pay sat where we sat.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear kind customer The papal Audience is a public Audience and even if ,we provide to give you a special invite ticket for this event, it is an Audience with several people partecipating, the blessing is for all the partecipants. The seats as well as descripted on website are not guaranteed. Thank you Kind regards Pina Glt
star-2
Seeing the pope was...
trevtherev_5
, Apr 2022
Seeing the pope was great,but the guide made us hang around the gift shop when we should of been queueing up.plus no tour bus that he gave us tickets for.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We met our tour guide Max...
Elke_E
, Apr 2022
We met our tour guide Max at 7:45 am prompt. He showed us a souvenir shop and directed us to the area to have mass with Pope Francis. FANTASTIC!!!! With this we also received a ticket to the hip on-hip off tour bus which we used for two days. EXCEPTIONAL value!!!! Highly recommend. Thank you Viator 😄
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear kind Thank you very much for your positive feedback !!! We are happy to know of your satisfaction, our goal is improving our services and make your stay as welcoming as possible; Thank you kind regards Pina Mameli
star-3
Hop on/off bud service essentially
austin_m
, Apr 2022
The tour should be advertised as the hop on/off bus service which it essentially is. The tour guide gives you ticket then leaves you And if you want to get seats on the aisle and closer to the front then I would recommend getting to the queue far earlier than 07.45am. The queues were massive. We actually did meet the pope, and had good vantage point to see the service up close.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Good afternoon Mr Austin Thank you for your feedback, the ticket that we give to our customers is a special invitation to the PAPAL AUDIENCE , but the seats are free as indicated in the product , the hop on hop off is a panoramic ride through the central area of Rome by audioguide and assistant on board. Thank you for your feedback useful to improve our services Kind regards Pina Mameli sales resp. GLT
star-1
SCAM
Jenny_O
, Mar 2022
This is a scam. I purchased tickets for an audience with the Pope. When I met the guide they gave me free tickets and told me to “follow the sheep”. They then gave me a bus tour ticket I did not want nor purchase. THIS IS A SCAM. I intend to review Viator online on numerous websites to warn other travellers about this.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear kind all I' m sorry about your disappoint, but we have respected the service,the focus of it , is the papal audience by a special invite tha we give to.our customers, after the audience as a gesture of kindness we give a Complimentary ticket for our hop on hop off bus tour . Thank you Kind regards Pina Mameli Sales resp Glt
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Memory
Stephanie_H
, Mar 2022
There was no real guide. But the experience was worth having someone help in direction to get where we needed to be. We would recommend to everyone!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Mrs Stephanie , I really appreciate your clear and aware explanation of our event Papal Audience, Thank you very much for your precious feedback, and we wish to welcome you again soon ! Kind regards Pina Mameli Sales Resp. Glt
star-1
Horrible experience
Ashley_P
, Mar 2022
The guide left us alone, he gave us the ticket for the audience and then he disappeared. We never saw him again
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Mrs Ashley We are sorry to hear of your disappointment,, but the guide is always present , only due to the presence of many people, sometimes it is quite difficoult to see him, however it is a tour without specific explanation, it is focused on the audience of Pope . Thank you Kind regards Pina Glt
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Seeing the pope was...
Benjamin_W
, Mar 2022
Seeing the pope was definitely a unique experience. Unfortunately I didn’t know the ticket itself was free and that I was paying for the hop off/hop off bus.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Kind all, the ticket for the Papal Audience is free , but it is only by special Invitation, without it, is not possible the participation to the event the hop on hop off it is our courtesy service. Thanks for your kind review Best regards Pina
star-4
Saw Pope at a distance.
Stephanie_L
, Feb 2022
The guide got us all to the front of the massive queue then once in the auditorium, we were told to get a seat. The good seats close to the walk way which the Pope would walk down were already taken. Therefore it was difficult to actually get to see him as he walked past as it was really crammed and I’m only small. I had to walk away from the massive crowd and stand on a chair at a distance to see the Pope. It was disappointing as the meeting time was 7:45 but the guide told us to buy something for the Pope to bless so 30 minutes was spent with everyone in the gift shop beforehand. If that didn’t occur, we would have got great seats.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Kind Mrs.Stephanie Thanks for your feedback, i understand your point of view, but it is not guaranteed the seat, as well as the possibility to have the chair close the Pope...the Papal Audience gathers many people, however we'll try to improve it. Thank you Kind regards Pina Sales Dept Glt
star-5
I recommend this experience
Johann_K
, Dec 2021
A good organized, wonderful experience. Friendly, professional guide, we got great seats, the Pope stayed over one hour!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Good morning from Green Line Tours Thank you for your good reviews , we are glad to know of your satisfaction! Have a good day! best regards Pina Mameli sales resp. GLT
star-5
Highly recommended
Dalton_H
, Dec 2021
Unfortunately didn't get the name of the gentleman that helped us but definitely recommend having a guide. Although the invitation is technically free. The value here is having the "know how" and getting the best seats possible. Great help and very friendly. Went on 12/ 15/21
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Good Morning Mr Dalton, Thank you very much for your kind review , we are happy to get smoother and more enjoyable the experience . Warm regards Green Line Tours
star-5
Meet with the inner power of yourself
Renato_B
, Nov 2021
So excited when the Pope Francisco Blessed the crowd. People got a memorable time ... After meet the Pope the expressions of happiness on the people are unthinkables.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Sir Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are happy when our customers are satisfied of their experience!! thank you Best regards Pina Mameli sales resp. GLT
star-4
Helpful overall
Frances_B
, Oct 2021
Guide knew his way around and led us to the line. We had to queue up anyway and when we got to the indoor venue (it was raining), we found our seats on our own. Some sort of tour in description but due to so many people in the group and crazy crowd in the line, we were not able to understand nor hear much of it as it was only done whilst we were waiting in line.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Fake tour
Hector_C
, Jul 2021
We felt like the tour company took advantage of our tourist ignorance. The tour was supposed to provide us with the required tickets to get to the viewing, but we noticed that none are required as we walked in with everyone else. There is no need for a guide or assistance to go to the Pope viewing. The guide offered hop on & off bus tickets (that I didnt know about) but never gave us the exact address as where to pickup, other than at the other side of the wall. Obviously we never found the office and wasted more time. As there is no need for a tour ticket like you advertise please remove this fake tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Mr Hector, I'm sorry to know of your disappointment about the Papal audience tour, But , i can guarantee,. that it isn't a Fake tour, as we get the invitation tickets for the Papal audience by a special request to the Vatican and those are collected by our guide, these tickets are Free ; I understand that our guide's role is limited and we can accept your criticism to improve our tour, but the cost of the tour is cheap as well as the tour is limited to the Papal audience. The Pick up address is indicated: Via della Conciliazione 40. However I hope you will come to Rome again and we'll , be happy, to offer a free city tour.... Really, Our apologies and thank you for your constructive review ! KInd regards Pina Mameli GLT
star-5
Worthwhile
Gerald_M
, Jun 2021
This is the only event that went well the entire trip through Viator. The guide met us and took us in and we took seats where we could be very near the Pope (2-3 feet away). This was worth the money.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Papal Audience
Mary_M
, Feb 2020
We were picked up on time at our hotel. Driver was very pleasant and courteous. Our tour guide was very interesting and informative. Great experience ... everything went smoothly and efficiently 🙂
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City
Meet Pope Francis at St Peter square Vatican City

star-3.5453

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$33.94

star-4.545

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.52

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$33.94

star-4.54

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.52

star-529

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$100.77

star-3.554

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.13

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.52

star-4.590

42 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.84

star-416

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.37
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations