Recent Searches
Clear

Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour

star-4.5214 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Overview

See the best of the Vatican Museums with this 3-hour tour including the Sistine Chapel. Learn about the amazing collection inside the vast museum from your knowledgeable guide. Join a group of no more than 20 people to ensure more chances to interact with your guide.
  • 3-hour tour of the Vatican Museums, including the Sistine Chapel
  • Enjoy skip-the-line access to the Vatican Museums to avoid the long lines
  • See the highlights of the museum with your professional guide
  • Marvel at the beautiful Michelangelo frescoes in the Sistine Chapel
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide for 3.0 hours
Entry/Admission - Vatican Museums
Entry/Admission - Sistine Chapel
Headsets (more than 6 participants)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Via Vespasiano, 28 , Via Vespasiano, 28, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

Get off at "Ottaviano" Stop on Metro A line.From the station, walk on Via Ottaviano following the indication to St. Peter square.When you arrive across at Via Germanico, go to the right follow the street.After 100 mtr, Via Vespasiano will be on your left. At the number 28, you will find our office.

Sistine Chapel , 00120, Vatican City
Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel tour with an expert friendly guide in a small group. You'll avoid long lines & access to the Museums with skip the line tickets and maximize your time inside this magnificent museum. Your guide will guide you through the amazing galleries housing the most important art collections who have been part of the private collections of the Popes in the past centuries. Art and history will be brought back to life and you will learn many stories & anecdotes hidden in the art works.

During your tour you will discover the Galleries of the Maps, Galleries of Tapestries, Galleries of Candelabra and the Raphael Rooms and the Sistine Chapel. You will learn about Michelangelo & Raphael who have been working for the Pope Julius II in the 1500s, they have been rivals for many years, while Raphael was painting the Raphael Rooms next door there was Michelangelo painting the Ceiling of the Sistine Chapel with the Creation of Adam. Enjoy the Vatican with a dedicated Guide!
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Vatican City
The Vatican City State, also known simply as the Vatican, became independent from Italy with the Lateran Treaty (1929), and it is a distinct territory under "full ownership, exclusive dominion, and sovereign authority and jurisdiction" of the Holy See, itself a sovereign entity of international law, which maintains the city state's temporal, diplomatic, and spiritual independence.With an area of 49 hectares and a population of about 825,it is the smallest state in the world by both area and population.
Stop At:  
Vatican Museums
Vatican Galleries including the one of the Maps, Tapestries and Candelabra
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Vatican Museums
Vatican Galleries
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Vatican Museums
Pine Court courtyard, Pio Clementine Museum, Apolo of Belvedere, Laocoon, Nero's bathtub, Room of Muses
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Sistine Chapel
Frescoes of Michelangelo
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders must be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • A current valid passport or ID document is required on the day of the tour for children under 18 as proof of age
  • Please be on time otherwise entry to the Vatican will be denied.
  • Please note that due to security or ticket availability situations, there might be a slight change in scheduling and when this happens you will be notified.
  • Near public transportation
  • Please let us say that few days after Easter and in some days after bank holiday or summer time you might find some groups inside the Sistine Chapel but you still will avoid the huge daily crowd.
  • Please note that, for disabled visitors with certified invalidity of more than 74%, the Vatican Museums offers free entry that is extended to a companion for visitors who are not self-sufficient. To benefit from this, make sure you mention it at the time of booking so that our staff may handle your request.
  • Passport Covid is requested to access to the Vatican Museums
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travelers
  • OPERATED BY VIVICOS INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL SRL
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Also, make sure to budget extra time to climb St. Peter's Basicalla, since it is a must see when at the Vatican!!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
214 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 214 reviews
star-3
Extremely interesting to know about the history behind the ruins
Emelina_C
, Jun 2022
The guide was very energetic and knowledgeable. A lot of details and history. Our problem was, we are old and it was too much physical demand. It was also hot. It was our age not the tour the problem
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for reviewing, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the time with your guide. Unfortunately, the summer season in Rome is very hot so we suggest you, whenever possible to avoid the central hours of the day so that the heat and crowds won't affect your experience.
star-3
It was ok
Miriam_V
, Jun 2022
A group with 22 people is not small from my point of view but all nice people, no complain, it's a long procedure to get in, everything crowded, if you want to avoid that, you better search for other to time slots or invest in a real small group, while being there, I felt kind of pushed through (would have loved to have more time for taking pictures, looking around and rest at some parts),personally didn't like so much the style of the tour guide, in general it's a nice experience to go there but also an exhausting tour, you should start well rested, the ticket itself at the museum costs 17 eur, there might be other guided options which add more value to it than this tour
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Miriam, Thank you for reviewing your tour. It is always useful to receive comments that help us improve our services. Our small group tours are up to 25 people as advertised and we consider big groups with 40 people more or less, but we never run tours this way to ensure the quality of our services. Unfortunately, we are already in the peak summer season: this means that Museums can be crowded due to the large amount of travelers coming to Rome and Vatican.
star-3
The Vatican is an over...
Robert_O
, May 2022
The Vatican is an over crowded and generally unpleasant experience. The Tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting but I just wouldn't go to the Vatican again
star-5
Excellent tour
Linda_L
, May 2022
Our guide Alice was fantastic, she was sure that we were all together and understood her instructions. She was very knowledgeable about the museum, and the items we were viewing.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for your lovely words! We are happy to know that you had a great time
star-2
Meh
Jay_Y
, May 2022
I booked this tour because other popular skip the line tours were sold out. My experience was average at best. We had a local Italian guide, I have a feeling that English tour is not her usual tours as she struggled with terminologies and pronunciations in English (King "Salomon" for example). She was quite pretty passionate and seemed to have a good knowledge of history but honestly it was difficult to understand her. It could've been nice what more we can check out in Vatican at the end of the tour, but well.. Surely wouldn't take this tour next time.
star-5
Most amazing guide ever!...
Darien_S
, Apr 2022
Most amazing guide ever! 😊 We got plenty of info in the most comprehensive and amusing way. All in all, would recommend 😊
star-1
Not recommended
Jill_S
, Apr 2022
Not recommended. Our guide was unorganized. He spent the first 45 mins making sure we had masks, tickets and bathroom breaks. our guide spent over 40 minutes discussing one painting on a screen. No art in person until 1:45 minutes into the tour. Then he complained to us that we were slow and wasting time?? We quit the tour and walked the museum On our own .
star-3
Group was super big more...
Francisco_O
, Mar 2022
Group was super big more than the 15ppl Max. In the product description. I did not like the fact that they’ve combined 2 groups 9:30 (my group) and 11:00 (the group they’ve moved me in). Everything was super crowded and the line to get into the St Peter Basilica was huge at that time. It’s easier to buy the tickets on your own and be free to go early!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great guide, very...
sarpolisaolcom
, Nov 2021
Great guide, very enthusiastic about the art and museums. Patient and charming. This was our second visit and he showed us so much more than we were promised.
star-5
Vatican
Marina_D
, Oct 2021
Wonderfull! nothing can compare to this museum. I will come back to see it again, anyway it is impossible to view even a little part at once..
star-4
Nice hour at the basilica
Peter_G
, Aug 2021
Good guide, well informed and friendly. This tour could have been a bit longer and more inclusive as there are many areas of St Peter’s not addressed.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A Great Morning at the Vatican
Wesley J
, Dec 2019
This tour was a great opportunity to see the Vatican without any stress. Our guide was wonderful and it was a very small group with just 4 people on the tour. I would highly recommend the experience. Also, make sure to budget extra time to climb St. Peter's Basicalla, since it is a must see when at the Vatican!! I would recommend this tour!
star-5
Overwhelming!
Timeout111
, Aug 2019
You definitely have to go! Book online ahead with a private guide. Wear comfortable flat shoes, the marble floors are a killer! Bring water as the line up to the cafe is long......take in everything.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
We always recommend comfortable shoes and a refillable water bottle. Thank you for this beautiful review!
star-5
Great Tour
Mark_M
, Jun 2019
Fea was a terrific tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable and passionate! She fielded questions extremely well and really gave the right context to the art in the museum.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
We pick enthusiastic guides because we want to ensure our customers are able to fulfill their curiosities, thank you for sharing your experience of our Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour!
star-4
Vatican Small Group Tour
Tamara Z
, Jun 2019
So I thought that booking this tour would help you beat the long lines....not so much. We waited in lines with other "pre booked" tours and it still took over an hour (in the rain no less). Our guide's Italian accent was so heavy that my husband couldn't understand most of what she was saying- even with a head set. Having been to the Vatican several times before - I was excited to see some newer areas with artwork, etc...that we had not seen previously. The Sistine Chapel of course is always the highlight, but keep in mind it is very crowded and very controlled. Your time there is limited.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you, Tamara, for sharing your experience. From what you wrote, you probably had a tour day with heavy weather. We are sorry for all the unforeseen complications. For the future, please note that while you may be assigned an Italian guide, they are fully enthusiastic and ready to adapt your needs and so if you require them to speak more slowly or clearly please feel free to ask, the same goes for any details regarding the artwork or tour sites. The Sistine Chapel is indeed the highlight and it is very well protected.
star-3
Average Guided Tour
Murtaza_M
, Oct 2018
Initially wasn't very clear where we meet and we nearly missed it arriving jst a few minutes before it started.The guide was very knowledgeable and her English was very good and could communicate effectively with all of us.It felt a bit rushed the tour and not having time to appreciate the artefacts, paintings, sculptures and carpets. There was not enough time allowed to spend in the Sistine Chapel though we were suppose to be there for 35 minutes but ended up leaving after 20 minutes to go to the St Peters Ballistica. It didn't allow us time to really experience the quality of the artwork, history or how it must have been completed. We felt short changed here.At St. Peter's Ballistica this was rushed also.Overall we did not enjoy the tour and appreciate the Vatican as it should have been better for what we paid. Looking back it would be better to pay to go in on your own and use an audio guide or a specific tour book that you can follow whilst waking around. We do not believe it was value for money for paying over £110 for of us. I will add this on Trip Advisor as well.
star-5
Diego
Jo H
, Sep 2018
Our guide Diego was great! He was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide!!!! I would highly recommend a tour with him.
star-3
A must if you can cope with the...
Anthony_S
, Jun 2018
A must if you can cope with the hordes of people. Fast track tickets only helps to get in faster, from then on its bedlam.
star-5
Fe was our guide for the Vaticans...
Kimberly_K
, Jun 2018
Fe was our guide for the Vaticans Highlights Tour. It would not be the same without her! She was so fun and excited about the tour and it really made us so happy to be around her. She gave the perfect tour and all of the highlights in the amount of time we had. I cried in the Sistine chapel because Michelangelo's work was so beautiful. Raphael rooms were stunning. No trip to Rome is complete without this tour. We ran into Fe a couple of days later in Rome and I quickly went to give her a hug. She is fabulous and we really hope to meet her again one day upon our return to Italy.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
FANTASTIC tour!! Our favorite...
Laurel_S
, May 2018
FANTASTIC tour!! Our favorite. DEFINITELY worth skipping the line! Our guide was Julio sp? and he was WONDERFUL! This was the best of the three tours we did during our time in Italy. The Vatican is amazing and VERY crowded. This covers all the highlights in an intriguing fashion and Julio made the whole experience personalized despite the absolute masses of people there! Thank you!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour
Vatican Museums - Small Group Tour

star-4.5214

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.94

star-4.570

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.90

star-434

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.82

star-4.5548

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.93

star-5237

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.60

star-4.530

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.30

star-5251

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$136.74

star-53

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.84
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations