Recent Searches
Clear

Skip the Line Tour: Colosseum Official Guided Tour - Entrance Fee Included

|
Roma, Italy
 Skip the Line Tour: Colosseum Official Guided Tour - Entrance Fee Included

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children0 Infants1 Infant
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Overview

Take a guided tour of the Colosseum, including skip-the-line admission, to get the most out of your visit. By exploring the amphitheater with an official Colosseum guide, learn all about the history of this iconic Rome landmark. Hear stories about gladiator battles and Roman emperors, and marvel at the engineering of the ancient structure. Suitable for children.
  • Learn about the Colosseum's history and engineering from a guide
  • Listen to tales of gladiator battles that once took place here
  • Skip-the-line admission to the Colosseum with a guided tour
  • Tour limited to 25 people with all entrance fees included

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Get skip-the-line access to the Colosseum and see the first and second tiers.
Saved to wishlist!
Colosseum walking guided tour
Professional tour guide
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
group of max 24 pax
All Fees and Taxes
Gratuities (recommended)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks, unless specified
Roman Forum and Palatine guided tour
Via delle Terme di Tito, 72 , Via delle Terme di Tito, 72, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

The meeting point is at Via delle Terme di Tito on the corner with Via Nicola Salvi. Our staff will wait beside the park entrance with a "Tour in the city" sign.

Colosseo , 00184 Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Customers have a mandatory meeting time stated 15 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time due to managing and organizational reasons.
  • To get inside the Colosseum it used group ticket and not individual one. It cannot be asked just the ticket entrance.
  • The activity can suffer 20/30 min variation due to organizational resons
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • You must have a valid photo ID to enter the Colosseum (student's ID, Driver License, Passport or State ID all work.) You will be asked to also provide your name, last name and date of birth (at the beginning of the tour, if not provided beforehand.) Security may prevent you from entering the site if the information provided is not accurate and/or don't match the one on your ID.
  • Child discount is applied only with a valid ID card
  • Please note that for safety reasons the Coliseum can accommodate up to 3.000 people at once.This could lead to delays in access to the site, even for pre-booked visitors.
  • For security reasons all visitors and their luggage shall be screened.
  • To facilitate the security checks please insert any object (including mobile phone) in the bag/backpack or in the tray to be included in the X-ray
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Forbidden objects inside the Colosseum: bottles and glasses containers, alcholic beverages and aerosols, backpacks, camping, bulky bags and luggage / trolley
  • Can be introduced medium and small size backpacks to shoulder, which must be checked, as any other bag, with metal detectors, opened and visually inspected by the Urbe Security Institute, responsible for the entrance inspection
  • Please notice that the Colosseum Administration, which depends on the Ministry of Cultural Assets and Activities has the faculty to close the Colosseum, or parts of it, with or without notice, for events, strikes, heavy rain, or any other reason. In which case, we will offer an alternative itinerary as it seems fit and offer a partial refund
  • Activity not recommended for people with motor lag
  • No change on a booking can be accepted after 24hrs to the starting time of the tour. In that instance, no refund will be issued.
  • For the safety of all guests, the tour operator reserves the right to refuse service to passengers who are intoxicated or show signs of intoxication. If, as a result, your tour is canceled, you will not be entitled to a refund.
  • PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED
  • Not recommended for travelers with walking problems
  • We kindly inform you that any kind of disability (visual impairment, hearing impairment,... ) or anything that might prevent you to regularly join the tour, MUST BE communicate in advance to our staff.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tour In Rome by Tour in the City
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Make sure you do this early in the day, if it is going to be hot, and take a photo id." See review
  • "Expect to wait a long time in the queues to get to each room." See review
  • "I would recommend doing your research beforehand because it will improve the experience a lot." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
691 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 691 reviews
star-3
Colosseum
Maureen_C
, Jun 2022
Enjoyed seeing the inside of the Colosseum. Wish it included a stop at the gift shop. It was hard to understand our tour guide’s English and he spoke very fast. We missed a lot of the historical information because of this.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Client, We are very sorry that the tour did not quite live up to your expectations. We have reviewed the feedback provided by the participants from your group and we couldn't find any other similar complaint, nevertheless, we have also forwarded this to our Guide Management department so that it can be looked at and followed up with the guide in case it is needed. Our local guides try their best to share their passion for their country and local History, we apologies if you felt that due to the accent the experience was disappointing. Of course, this may not be to everyone's taste. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Should you wish to contact us directly at info@tourinthecity.com with your comments, please do not hesitate to do so and provide your booking reference number so we can follow up with the relevant people for you. Thank you for leaving us your review once again. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind Regards Stefano Tour in the City
star-5
Enjoyable
Orlaith_O
, Jun 2022
Booked the fast tour 1 hour 30 mins Had an excellent tour guide young funny and knew his stuff decided to pay extra did the palatine and forum Both fabulous so longer tour Unfortunately it was 37 degrees so would be better experience if it was cooler but well worth it Went in June 2022
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
The tour guide was very...
Scott_N
, Jun 2022
The tour guide was very hard to understand and his voice was going in and out constantly. Wish we had more personal information about each place. The info was very general and Wikipedia-ish
star-3
Will never do Viator again, most of the stress was finding the meeting place to redeem tickets.
Nal_H
, Jun 2022
The meeting place indicates next to the entrance but was on the opposite side on a hill at the entrance of a park. We were minutes away from missing this tour, if not by the grace of God by another tour operator.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Knowledgeable
Jan_M
, Jun 2022
I thought it was good except I thought people should have been socially distanced and wearing masks. The guide seem to be Very enthusiastic and Knowledgeable
star-4
Patient and kind tour...
Christine_B
, Jun 2022
Patient and kind tour guide for the express tour. I appreciated that they gave us headsets so we could hear her at all times.
star-2
too mnay on tour, could not hear what guide said-no overview provided just spewed details
Catharine_N
, Jun 2022
Disappointed with the tour--guide gave details like a list he was running through. Too many people to make a guide worthwhile
star-5
Must do!
Katia_Z
, Jun 2022
Our guide was excellent! Super knowledgeable and charismatic. This express tour is perfect for anyone interested in getting the highlights without tiring out or overloading on information. Highly recommend it! We were multi generational, grandparents, a teen, a small child and two more adults.
star-2
Underwhelmed by the support but the building itself is amazing
Jonathan_E
, Jun 2022
Lack of clarity on numbers meant we left late and were therefore overall 45 mins delayed at the end of the tour (we departed after the Colesseum only); guide was adequate but English not great and there was not much depth to the presentation. Additionally the whole thing is overcrowded and disorganised with groups crossing over each other
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Mr. Jonathan, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear that our tour didn’t live up to your expectations. At Tour in the City, we always try to provide the best possible service to our customers, so it’s disappointing to hear that was not the case with your tour. This tour is designed to provide valuable insight into the history of the Colosseum while also sharing information regarding the city of Rome itself. Please note that as we approach the high season, the number of visitors attending the Colosseum is higher than during the winter. Unfortunately, Tour in the City has no control over the crowds, as the Vatican set up its own venue capacity. We are sorry that you felt the tour was overlong. We can confirm that your ticket included Skip the Line access, as the lines for the Colosseum otherwise can be astronomical. We are sorry that you experienced delays; in normal circumstances, the skip-the-line access should mean no significant delays, but in circumstances where there are very large crowds, this can occur. We have reviewed the feedback provided by the participants from your group, and we couldn't find any other similar complaints. Our Guides are carefully chosen for their personability, expertise, and passion, and we apologize if this time your guide hasn't been able to meet your expectations. Your guide had excellent reviews up until this point. However, I have passed on your feedback to our Guide Manager and Product Management teams so they can take action on your advice to improve the performance of your guide and ensure that other customers do not encounter similar issues. At Tour in the city, we take the client's feedback seriously, and once again, we appreciate your comments, as they help us keep improving the quality of our tours. Best regards, Stefano
star-5
Short and sweet.
Paul_B
, Jun 2022
Clear instructions and a great tour guide. Less than 2 hours. Note this did not include Palantine hill guided tour but this ticket gets you into Palentine and you can explore on your own. Good value.
star-1
Be aware of policies
Nicole_M
, Jun 2022
We did not take this tour because of thunder and lightning storms during the tour time. We have been unable to get a refund because apparently the tour still happened with this weather. Just be aware of weather and refund policies.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are especially sorry that your comment has nothing to do with our service but only with the fact that, even if it was raining, the tour took place. I would like to point out that of the whole group only you had problems with the rain and that it was not so bad that you could not do the tour. We would like to clarify that it is also listed clearly in our terms and conditions and our voucher that timed tickets are non-refundable. This is a norm established directly by the Colosseum, and this is the reason why we can't give any refund. However, we are concerned about the issues you raise because it is patently out of our control. We will pass your feedback to the relevant department, and thanks for leaving this review once again. Best regards, Stefano - Tour in the City Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Unbelievable colosseum sites
Steven_T
, May 2022
Fantastic experience what a brilliant afternoon unbelievable sites and great commentary although went on a little to long
star-5
Brilliant
MrsShivaun_S
, May 2022
Brilliant tour, lots of interesting facts, but not to much and our Guide was superb. I would definitely recommend.
star-5
Easy and worthwhile
Anton_T
, May 2022
The tour was great and the guide was amazing - good sense of humor and deep knowledge of the site. Highly recommend Raffael
star-5
Guided Tour
Christina_E
, May 2022
So awesome! Great tour. We were confused on where to find destination point but company called us and helped / waited to begin the tour. So sweet of them! 10/10 recommend.
star-4
Our guide was very...
jason
, May 2022
Our guide was very knowledgeable. Unfortunately, some members of our group were not capable of doing the tour and we had to keep stopping for them. I understand waiting once or twice but after that the guide should have told them we had to move on without them. This was supposed to be a 1 hour Express tour but it ended up taking over 2 hours. Thankfully, we gave ourselves enough time between activities that it wasn't a problem for us but it would have never taken that long if the guide would have let the group members who were unable to do the tour know we had to move on without them.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Client, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are deeply sorry that you felt that the tour didn't live up to expectations. In particular, we are dismayed that you felt our guide wasn't giving the best possible service they could during your tour. We at Tour in the City do our best to hire guides who are passionate and really ready to engage clients, and so when we hear that this may not have been the case, we take this very seriously. We have reviewed the feedback provided by the participants from your group, and we couldn't find any other similar complaints. Nevertheless, we have also forwarded this to our Guide Management department so that it can be looked at and followed up with the guide in case it is needed. We would like to invite you to send us an email at info@tourinthecity.com with your booking reference number and any further details about your experience so that we can follow up with the guide and offer a possible solution. Thank you for your understanding; we look forward to hearing from you! Best regards, Stefano D. Tour in the City Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Colusseum
SandraLee_G
, May 2022
Excellent tour. Guide was extremely knowledgeable and well spoken. Did a fantastic job on delivery of information. Francesco was previously a professor of history at the university… so his depth of information is a wonderful fit for this role. He also walked at a nice pace. Thank you
star-2
Please make sure that your tour guides have a strong grasp of the language they are doing the tour in.
Tracy_C
, May 2022
I was very disappointed with the tour. Whilst our tour guide did seem knowledgable, he had a very strong Italian accent and we found it very hard to understand him. We only caught around 50 percent of his talk and it was very frustrating.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Client, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are deeply sorry that you felt that the tour didn't live up to expectations. In particular, we are dismayed that you felt our guide wasn't giving the best possible service they could during your tour. We at Tour in the City do our best to hire guides who are passionate and really ready to engage clients, and so when we hear that this may not have been the case, we take this very seriously. We would like to invite you to send us an email at info@tourinthecity.com with your booking reference number and any further details about your experience so that we can follow up with the guide and offer a possible solution. Thank you for your understanding. We look forward to hearing from you! Best regards, Stefano D. Tour in the City Team
star-3
Bad Directions
Eleanor_W
, May 2022
Tour guide good! But directions on where to meet were very bad! We were almost late. A nice lady at the entrance helped us find the tour… which was nowhere near the entrance as stated in the directions
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Eleaonor..., We are very sorry to read that you found some problems reaching our meeting point for our Colosseum, Palatine, and Roman Forum Tour; your feedback for us is very important to improve the quality of our performance. We understand that for foreigners, sometimes it could be challenging to find the meeting point following the details in the voucher in a new city where most people speak a different language. All other customers found the meeting point, and the tour left regularly. Our phone number is reachable H24 7 days a week; we only found a message sent by you by email 20 minutes after the guided tour left. While we do have to skip the line access, every patron will still need to go through the security checkpoint set by the venue. Nobody can bypass this for security reasons, and they may increase the strict rules of this check which could result in longer than usual time to go through. For this reason, in the voucher and description of the tour, it is clearly explained that customers have a mandatory meeting time stated 20 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time due to managing and organizational reasons. Please note that the final price paid for a reservation for this tour includes everything from the skip-the-line access tickets, headsets, and the guide. The tickets that skip the line for the Colosseum are, timed and, in case of late arrival, are lost because not refundable. This is why we ask you to be on time at the meeting point. About the problem you finding the meeting point, we believe this is unfair to leave in the review as we have no control or responsibility concerning the method chosen by our guests to reach ours to the meeting point. We are one of the very few agencies that have a meeting point far from the crowd and very close to the Colosseum entrance and as a result, we can hold no responsibility for your late arrival, as this is very clear from the moment of booking. Again, we are very sorry to hear that this tour did not reach your expectations. However, we always welcome any feedback from our customers as this will allow us to keep improving our services. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review. Stefano
star-5
Very good tour.
Charles_T
, Mar 2022
good location meeting point with friendly check in. Tour Guide very friendly and accommodating. Skip the line was quick and efficient. Tour guide very knowledgeable with the history of the colosseum. This site is magnificent. We wish we had the opportunity to explore to the "underground" parts as well. Overall, very good experience.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Skip the Line Tour: Colosseum Official Guided Tour - Entrance Fee Included
Skip the Line Tour: Colosseum Official Guided Tour - Entrance Fee Included

star-4691

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$57.28

star-540

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$42.42

star-4.51112

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.92

star-4.543

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$62.58

star-587

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.37

star-4.5203

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$83.80

star-5125

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.34

star-5412

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$44.55

star-5131

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.95
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations