Recent Searches
Clear

Colosseum with Arena Access and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Roma, Italy
Colosseum with Arena Access and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Overview

Rome’s Colosseum is one of the most famous Roman monuments in the world, but with four million annual visitors, lines can be long in peak season. This tour ensures a hassle-free visit with skip-the-line entrance; access to the Arena and the gladiator stage; plus a walking tour of Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum.
  • Skip-the-line access to Rome's Colosseum
  • Head straight into the Arena, where gladiators once fought
  • Perfect introduction for first-time visitors
  • Small group ensures personal service

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Get access to the arena floor on this priority tour, which includes the Forum and Palatine Hill.
Saved to wishlist!
Guided tour
Monolingual speaking guide for 3 hours
Admission ticket to the Colosseum
Admission ticket to the Arena
Admission ticket to the Palatine hill, Roman Forum
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transportation to/from attractions
Food and drinks
Via Frangipane, 30 , Via Frangipane, 30, 00184 Roma RM, Italy

To reach our office take the metro line B and get off at Cavour station, take the exit with the stairs you will be on Via Cavour. Please walk down on Via Cavour and just before arriving in Largo Corrado Ricci turn left in via del Colosseo and walking up on Via del Colosseo you will see a little square with the restaurant and our office. This is Via Frangipane 30.

This activity ends in a different location. See details below:
  • Roman Forum , Via della Salara Vecchia, 5/6, 00186 Roma RM, Italy
  • Colosseo , Piazza del Colosseo, 00184 Roma RM, Italy
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Normal sized backpacks are permitted as huge backpacks will not be admitted.
    • Small group tour will average 16 people (with a maximum of 24 people).
    • Please be aware that to enter the Colosseum it is necessary to pass a metal detector security check;
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • If you arrive late you might lose the entrance at the Colosseum or a part of the tour
    • The order of the visit of the itinerary might change
    • There might be a slight change in the departure timing. In this case we will call you in advance.
    • Please bring a copy of your ID or driver license since it is necessary for the entrance at the Colosseum
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Please Note: In some areas the stroller must be carried by yourself due to architectural restrictions
    • Please note that due to summer heatwaves the duration of the tour may vary slightly depending on the needs of the group.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Italy Wonders SRLS
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Learn more about cancellations.


    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "We certainly covered some ground so wear comfortable walking shoes and I daresay in summer it would get very hot so hats and water would be a necessity." See review
    • "Make sure you have good walking shoes on and are in good physical condition as one will be going up and down multiple steps and hills" See review
    • "It is a lot of history to know in a short period of time, so I recommend seeking small groups, which will make me return to know more and enjoy the guide's knowledge." See review

    Reviews

    5.0
    star-5
    799 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 799 reviews
    star-5
    Bring your camera to the Colosseum!
    Shana_R
    , Jun 2022
    I’m glad I chose this particular tour and David was like our own historian. Unfortunately it was a major heat wave in June and it was a little hard to be out side but our tour guide David made sure he found shaded areas to speak to us near the sights. You get to go in the Colosseum and see and learn about the battles. Our tour guide was David was excellent! Very knowledgeable and friendly. You’ll see other historical sights as well!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Colosseum tour
    Jane_W
    , Jun 2022
    Very interesting tour of the Colosseum, our guide was passionate about it’s long, harrowing but fascinating history.
    star-5
    Great tour guide kept us engaged in 42 degree heat
    Natasha_R
    , Jun 2022
    Great tour guide, very passionate & well informed. Group was larger than expected, around 20. Extremely hot day & very busy but our guide did his best to find shade for us.
    star-4
    Good tour
    Jo_W
    , Jun 2022
    Our guide Mateo was great. Very knowledgeable and he had great energy. The tour was interesting and a good pace. My only complaint is that I needed to pay 35 euros per person to change the time of our booking even though I contacted the complaint the day before as our flight was delayed. This was a huge expense for our group of 5 and seemed arbitrary given the tours were not booked out. There were 28 people in our tour which I don’t consider “small group”.
    star-3
    Good, but would choose differently next time.
    Sahel_K
    , Jun 2022
    It was a good experience, I would just choose a different tour guide next time. He was super friendly and courteous. The fact that he had so much knowledge did make it difficult for someone with little knowledge to understand. I would overhear fun facts from other tour guides near me and wished I had an easier to comprehend experience.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Alicia was a very...
    Brianna_A
    , Jun 2022
    Alicia was a very knowledgeable guide made the tour a blast. Organized and easy meet up instructions.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    This is the one!
    Jacob_C
    , Jun 2022
    This was our first visit to Rome and we knew we wanted to get an experience worth chatting about back home. We booked this tour and though a lot of walking, our tour guide Elena was amazing!!! She had so much historical information for us and took us through the major sites: the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. Even on a very hot June day, she was full of energy giving us background information and pointing out particular areas worth noting. Elena Made this experience so wonderful and we’re thankful we had her as our guide! Grazie mille Elena!
    star-5
    Great tour!
    JANELLE_J
    , Jun 2022
    Really detailed and fun tour! I enjoyed my time with the tour guide and we got to see a lot of interesting sights. I highly recommend this to anyone who visits Rome!
    star-5
    Great Experience
    Amina_P
    , Jun 2022
    Our tour guide, Ilaria, was friendly, knowledgable, and fun to be with! She made this a great tour. It was great having arena access as well. I would recommend this tour to friends.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Walking on the oldest road in the world
    aadalan
    , Jun 2022
    Our guide Jan was very knowledgeable. He is an expert in city planing, history and art. We were about 22-23 people. We skipped very long lines and were treated like a VIP. We had access to the Arena floor. Highly recommend! It was about 3 hours. Everything was very professionally handled. There are some steps and walking on this tour. Wear comfortable shoes and a hat if it’s sunny. Bring a plastic bottle for water. There are fountains even dispensing sparkling spring water from the mountains. You will get a chance to refill. Bathrooms are also accessible and very well maintain considering this is a massive outdoor archeological site. Everything on this tour was amazing and worth hearing the story of Ceasar while you walk on the same streets he walked and assassinated. Great thought provoking tour.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    It's wronderful to hear that you had a great tour and such an amazing time, thank you so much for supporting us and for sharing your experience
    star-5
    Yuri was awesome!
    Melissa_L
    , Jun 2022
    Yuri did a great job teaching us the history of the site in all of its layers (like lasagna), with ample interesting stories of Roman emperors, kings and the rise of Christianity, as well as the goriness of the fate of the enslaved and gladiators inside the arena walls.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you Melissa for your kind words and valuable feedback, we're happy to know you had an awesome time with us, have a good day!
    star-5
    A must do trip
    Mark_B
    , Jun 2022
    Our tour guide was Dennis he has a phenomenal amount of history knowledge and was so informative The colosseum the Roman forum and palatine hill incredible history
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you so much Mark for your kind words and valuable feedback
    star-5
    Unforgettable experience
    Anna_W
    , Jun 2022
    Amazing experience, loved walking out onto the Arena floor. Our guide Marcius was fantastic and knowledgeable. You're provided with a mini radio and ear piece so you can hear the tour guide clearly over the noise of all the other visitors. Well worth it.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you! We are happy to know you had a beautiful experience with us and we hope it will last long as a wonderful memory!
    star-3
    It was very crowded and...
    Mark_M
    , Jun 2022
    It was very crowded and loud so it was difficult to hear so felt we missed most of the tour. Just thought it was going to be a smaller experience.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thank you for reviewing, during the summer high season, Colosseum is definitely one of the most visited sites in the world therefore it is likely to be sold out and overcrowded
    star-5
    David/Davide 5 stars
    Niall_M
    , May 2022
    There are hundreds of offerings available giving the same tour and itinerary, therefore the experience gained really depends on the guide provided by the agency. Random selection was in our favour when David / Davide (Dah-vee-deh) appeared as our guide for the tour. He was extremely down to earth, witty and personable which added his knowledge and passion and finally his tolerance with our year old's notions of monsters battling in the arena made the much needed connection that makes a tour memorable. I could sense that the whole group felt similar sentiment. If you have the time to call the agency and find out what tours Davide is scheduled to deliver then I urge you to do it, as based on a guide at another site previously who was the complete contrast, it really makes a difference. Thanks David, you are literally one in a million. You brought the ruins to life in the most tactile way.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Many Thanks for choosing us and for the awesome review, we work hard to meet expectations like yours and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Have a good day!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Great tour
    Phil_K
    , May 2022
    Even better than hoped. Ourbguide Davida did a great job of sharing so much information as we strolled through all the sites. It was so informative. I could not imagine doing it without a guide and properly appreciating what was being viewed.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Phil, thank you so much for your lovely words: this encourage us to keep on working hard to find the best guides! We are glad to exceed your expectations.
    star-4
    Knowledgeable Guide
    Kristin
    , May 2022
    Tour guide was excellent and highly knowledgeable but we were delayed by 20 minutes because the microphones didn’t work. So unfortunately tour got off to a slow start.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you for reviewing and sharing your experience, we are glad you enjoyed the tour but we're sorry to know about your delay that was due to microphones, we appreciate you brought this issue to our attention.
    star-5
    Highly recommend!!
    Victoria_E
    , May 2022
    I am a solo traveler and this tour was everything I was looking for. The building was easy to find and the workers were all very nice. Our tour guide, Renata, was very knowledgeable and kept everyone enthralled all 3 hours. Entry to the Roman forum and colosseum were very fast and easy. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Seeing that you had a 5Star experience is the best thing we could hope for! Thank you Victoria for your review and your recommendation
    star-5
    Group tour
    John_I
    , May 2022
    If you have a good guide it will be a good experience! Lots of walking and crowds are the only downside , early morning is best to beat the heat .
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and leave us a 5 star rating.
    star-4
    Great sites, but a lot of time standing around
    Denise_W
    , May 2022
    Seeing the Colosseum is a must see for a visit to Rome. It would have been nice for the tour to include the under the stage area but it not. I think there was too much time spent talking about the history of the Colosseum. So a lot of time standing around. And because of all the time spent in the talking about the history at the end of whole tour, everyone was very tired. The tour would have better if the time was shorter by spending less time standing listening… even 30 minutes shorter.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you for reviewing, your opinion is helpful for us to improve our services, this tour did not include undergrounds of the colosseum but access to the arena stage.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Colosseum with Arena Access and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour
    Colosseum with Arena Access and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour

    star-5799

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $37.10

    star-5151

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $26.50

    star-579

    1 hour

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $53.00

    star-4.5548

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $35.93

    star-526

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $51.84

    star-525

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $33.71

    star-4.563

    2 hours 20 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $62.54

    star-4.5421

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $80.55
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations