Recent Searches
Clear

Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg

star-3.571 Reviews
|
Salzburg, Austria
Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Spend the afternoon exploring the beautiful Bavarian Alps on a tour from Salzburg. Led by a local guide, take a walk around Königssee (King's Lake), see Castle Hellbrunn, and spot the historic Eagle’s Nest, once a residence of Adolf Hitler. On the journey back to Salzburg, stop to explore the charming village of Berchtesgaden before returning to your original departure point.
  • Guided, afternoon tour of the Bavarian Alps above Obersalzberg
  • Get a glimpse of Eagle's Nest, the remains of Hitler's mountain compound
  • Stroll around Echo Lake (Konigsee)
  • Visit to Berchtesgaden Village
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1 , Hubert-Sattler-Gasse 1, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

Tour departs from the bus terminal at Mirabellplatz, corner Hubert Sattler Gasse 1 (in front of St. Andrew church) / 5020 Salzburg - please arrive 15 minutes prior tour departure

2:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
Hop aboard your coach with your guide and small group in central Salzburg. Relax on a scenic drive through Austrian valleys and farmland as you begin the ascent to the mountain complex of Obersalzberg. Pause to catch a glimpse of the remains of Hitler's former residence, known as the Eagle's Nest. Soak up stunning panorama views of the peaks as you learn about the history of the site from your guide.

Continue along the Königssee, or King’s Lake, nestled among the mountains. Hop out for a picturesque stroll along the lake with plenty of time to snap photos.

Visit the charming village of Berchtesgaden on the return journey, enjoying some time to walk the streets and rest your legs at a local café or tavern to purchase refreshments. Your tour will conclude back in Salzburg.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Konigssee
Visit the lake shore of the famous Konigsee, stroll along the banks enjoy the views
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Berchtesgaden
Visit the beautiful Alpine village of Berchtesgaden. time for souvenir shopping or tasting local specialties
Duration: 50 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Dokumentationszentrum Obersalzberg
season depending a photo stop
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Salzburg Panorama Tours GmbH
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
71 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews
star-3
Disappointing trip
Ram_R
, May 2022
Wasn't a worthwhile trip. Just went down to a lake for about an hour, past the Bavarian Alps on the way and to a little village where there was nothing worth visiting. Altogether a disappointing trip.
star-5
BAVARIAN MOUNTAIN TOUR
Guy_P
, Feb 2020
I enjoyed the experience very much. The guide was very knowledgeable with a good sense of humor. Gave us more than enough time to see Kings Lake and time in Berchtesgaden.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello, thank you very much for joining our Bavarian Mountains Tour and for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour so much and that you were fully satisfied with our service as well as with our guide. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
star-5
Mountains
Jackie_S
, Feb 2020
Our tour guide Michelle helped make our tour, she was informative and funny. We were grateful of her very careful driving in the mountains, which were beautiful.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello, thank you very much for joining our Bavarian Mountains Tour and for your kind review! Your feedback and compliments for our guide Michelle are very much appreciated - we are delighted to forward your kind words to her. Looking forward welcoming you back someday! With best regards, your Salzburg Panorama Tours team
star-1
Disappointment
dynkwok
, Sep 2018
Assigned time in the Kongisee Lake very limited...could not see the beauty of the lake at all, could not see the famous church. Spent a lot of time dropping people to the Salt Mine and picking up another group. Not a trip that i expect.
star-5
Marvellous but did not take us to...
Kaushik D
, Jun 2018
Marvellous but did not take us to the Eagle's nest as it was closed that time. Very knowledgable but slightly rude guide.
star-5
This was also worth a visit the tour...
nainabhatia
, Sep 2017
This was also worth a visit the tour guide was also nice and we had very nice time
star-1
Time that tour agency gives for...
ilkayd
, Sep 2017
Time that tour agency gives for Königsee lake was so short. It was nonsense to go to Königsee for that much short time. It was a waste of time and money for us.
star-1
ABSOLUTE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY AND...
MRINAL A
, Aug 2017
ABSOLUTE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY AND ENERGY. If you take this tour from Vienna or Budapest you have to put up a one full day for this tour and it is absolutely not worth it. The tour guide will drop you at the parking of Königssee King's Lake and will give you about 70-80 mins to spend some time near the lake which is surrounded by mountains and has few restaurants and boating options but everything is over crowded. There is a shopping street from parking till the lake but it just have souvenirs which are expensive. Spot the historic Eagles Nest this one is utterly stupid, while you are on the bus you will be asked to look out for a house which is called eagle's nest. In the end they will give you 30-40 odd mins for refreshment time in a small village to eat or drink. I will not recommend any one to take this tour as it is of no use and the amount they are charging for this stupid tour is ridiculous.
star-4
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Our driver...
Cheryl B
, May 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed it. Our driver and guide provided us with lots of information as we went along, pointing out interesting and historical sites. The weather on the day was not the best but did not take away from the beautiful scenery. A good tour.
star-3
Overall this was an amazing tour...
lakmymail
, May 2017
Overall this was an amazing tour which covered quite a bit considering the 4-hours time limit. The time limit was perfect for me as I sadly had only 1 day in Salzburg and it allowed me to fit this in after the sound of music tour. Once again this is almost a taster session to visit the Bavarian alps and definitely worth doing to get a general feel of the area. The main stop in the trip was Lake Konigsee and many of us did 20 min the hike around the lake to get the amazing views bus to the lake was another 7-10 min. it might take more time with prams which many of them had or for if you generally walk at a slower pace. it also had plenty of tourist shops and little cafe's and icecream shops around , however that isnt where we stopped for tea. It definitely would have been better if we had stopped in a similar place for coffee/tea/snack/dinner rather than where we stopped on the touch, which was just a small town center and didn't have any views or anything around to do. Additionally , with regard to Eagle's net while we were told we could take pictures of it from the bus , it would have been great of there had been at least a couple of minutes stop to photo stop to actually get down from the bus and take a proper photos of it . Castle Hellbrunn - when it is said that see Castle Hellbrunn in the description, its just that you don't actually get to properly see around it or inside it, even briefly say 15-20 min . it would have been great to see at-least the grounds to get some pics and get a general feel of the castle. This is where the gazebo of sound of music is. It must be mentioned that Walter had a wealth of knowledge about the areas and was a great guide. its definitely worth a trip to get the general feel of the are with magnificent views of the lakes and the mountains.
star-4
Our guide Walter was fantastic and...
Marion F
, Apr 2017
Our guide Walter was fantastic and kept everyone amused on the way to the Salt Mines, Konigssee and Berchgarden. We did not go to the salt mines and spent over an hour at the lake at konigssee which was delightful except for all the souvenir shops to get to the lake! Berchgarden was a lovely little village with easy walking and view of the mountains. On the way Walter pointed out where Eagles Nest Hitlers retreat that was never used was so you could see if from a distance. To get to it you must be there after May as the road is snowed in and there is no access before then.
star-4
This was a very enjoyable half day...
Andrew M
, Jan 2017
This was a very enjoyable half day trip crossing into Germany - no passport required as there was no border control! Our trip was focused on visiting Konigsee Lake where we spent around an hour This was enough time to walk to a view point recommended by our guide to see the lake clearly We also spent time in Berchtesgaten but unfortunately it was dark when we got there so the views from the town were not visible. I would suggest that if possible this tour could start earlier in winter so it is still day light when getting to Berchtesgaten Our guide Walter was very informative although some of his jokes we had heard on our other trip
star-5
We really enjoyed this 4-hour day...
Leanne F
, Jan 2017
We really enjoyed this 4-hour day trip. It was great to get out into the countryside and the route was beautifully scenic. Our stroll around the King's Lake Königssee was the highlight. Both the guide and driver were very professional and full of knowledge. We also enjoyed getting something to eat at the Christmas markets in Berchtesgaden. It is a great way to spend an afternoon and good value for money too.
star-5
The bus was a big coach seating 70...
Samantha S
, Jan 2017
The bus was a big coach seating 70, and the guide was a fantastically knowledgeable and interesting Australian man who's been living in Germany for a long time. The route was amazingly scenic, it took less than an hour for our very experienced driver to navigate city traffic and then mountain roads to bring us to our first stop. About half the passengers were on the tour to the Salt Mines, so we dropped them off before heading to Konigsee. I would've liked more time out of the vehicle to spend more time leisurely exploring the area, or perhaps even flexibility to stay one night in Berchtesgaden for a better feel of the area. Given the limits of a half-day tour, it was very well executed and the highly experienced drivers and guides made us feel very comfortable indeed.
star-3
The scenery was nice, but we always...
Corey_P
, Dec 2016
The scenery was nice, but we always felt a bit rushed. I also did not like that they combined this tour with another. We spent about twenty minutes dropping people off at the salt mine tour and then of course, we had to go pick them up later. This was a four hour tour, but we only spent an hour and fifteen minutes enjoying the sites. We dropped the people off, then went to Konigsee Lake. We had 45 minutes there, which seems like enough time. But it took about fifteen minutes to walk to the viewpoint where you could see the entire lake. We had enough time to walk there, spend five minutes or so taking pictures and then walk back and that was it. Then we had to pick up the people from the salt mine and then we were only given 30 minutes at the last location. This seemed like a transportation tour more than anything else. We got a little history on the way to the first location, but other than that, we were on our own at the different stops. Yes, we enjoyed seeing the lake. But overall, it was a disappointing experience and I wouldn't recommend it.
star-4
I had loved to stop here and there...
Ccile_N
, Dec 2016
I had loved to stop here and there for a picture as we just passed by bus along mountains like the Watsman. The walk to the lake was nice. Berchtesgaden is beautiful.
star-1
If you are looking to see and...
Tessa M
, Oct 2016
If you are looking to see and explore nature, I would not recommend this trip. There is only one stop in the mountain touristy town and then you go to another touristy town. In the beginning, half your bus is going to the salt mines and you need to waste your trip time dropping them off to the salt mines this takes longer than you'd think!.
star-4
I liked the tour, however it seemed...
AnnaEmilia_P
, Aug 2016
I liked the tour, however it seemed like we were on a hurry to get to the next stop all the time. I would have preferred spending a little bit more time in each location.
star-4
I took some beautiful pictures against...
Cherine C
, Jun 2016
I took some beautiful pictures against the beautiful mountains! Trip was very pleasant!
star-4
our guide was great, the bus was fine...
Hugh M
, May 2016
our guide was great, the bus was fine with very scenic drive.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg
Bavarian Mountains including Berchtesgaden from Salzburg

star-3.571

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.33

star-4.5278

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.17

star-4.5589

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$86.05

star-4168

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.49

star-4.52827

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$54.46

star-4.5255

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.48

star-4.59

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.68

star-4.53

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$793.21

Explore Similar Things to Do