Recent Searches
Clear

Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

star-4.5246 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Sorrento, Italy
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Avoid the hassle of navigating the local train by yourself and zip past the crowds at Pompeii’s entrance with this fast-track tour. Meet your assistant at the Sorrento train station to board and get off just outside Pompeii, where you’ll skip the long line and head directly inside the ruins with your guide. Take in the top villas, temples, and more in just two hours before the return train to Sorrento.
  • An assistant to provide train tickets and help you board in Sorrento
  • Save time with priority admission to Pompeii accompanied by your guide
  • An express tour focused on the most important ruins inside the vast site
  • Headsets to follow the guide’s explanations and insights during the visit
Saved to wishlist!
Professional English speaking guide
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
return train tickets
earphones for groups more than 15 people
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Pompei entrance tickets (16€)
Piazza Giovanni Battista de Curtis , Piazza Giovanni Battista de Curtis, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy

Customers are kindly invited to be at the Sorrento CIRCUMVESUVIANA TRAIN STATION by the Newsagent EDICOLA ERCOLANO, which is by the steps to the track not later than 9.30am.There they meet our assistant,wearing a red polo shirt, who gives them assistance

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • not recommended for travelers with other serious medical conditions
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Belmare Travel srl
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The train was not airconditioned but this was not problem at 23C in late Oct but it would be uncomfortable in mid summer with many more tourists." See review
  • "We had to stand, but if you get there a little earlier, you are much more likely to find a seat, since the train sits there for a while before leaving." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
246 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 246 reviews
star-5
Pompeii tour
Tamara_F
, Aug 2022
Great tour very well organised. Our guide Gino was superb, full of information and very funny too! I would definitely recommend this
star-1
rude and unpleasant guide
Sarah_M
, Jul 2022
extremely rude and unpleasant guide . Unhelpful and made us feel we had done something wrong . I would not recommend this trip at all
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Sarah_M I was expecting your review because as you know our company refused to refund you. We declined your request of full refund not because Gino is an excellent guide. You can just read the numerous reviews on him. The reason is that you did the tour from beginning to the end even you had a problem with the earphone. Gino asked you to stay by him so you could hear the explanation without any problem.He also helped you at the station to catch the train when the tour was over. And he waited,with the other 22 customers, more than 10 minutes at the beginning of the tour while you were for shops. Of course we respect your opinion and we thank you for sharing your experience even negative and I'm sorry for that. The rest of the group was so happy that they applauded him. Kind regards Fatima De Martino
star-5
Very informative and knowledgeable guide of the Pompeii ruins..
Derek_D
, Jul 2022
We were met by a representative of this travel tour.She was very helpful and informative.. We then met up with the experienced guide of many years of informative knowledge around the remains of the Pompeii ruins.. The afternoon was so so interesting. I don’t think we would have had the same experience if we didn’t have a guide to explain Pompeii’s past.. I would definitely go on this tour if the chance came along..
star-2
Long, drawn out, no benefit of skip the line & key things missed
Julie_B
, Jul 2022
This was a long, drawn out experience that missed some key sights. No benefit vs doing it yourself and hiring a headset. Not worth the cost.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Julie_B, it is never nice for us to reply to a negative review. We respect your point of view. Maybe you were expecting somethging different, but honestly I can tell you that on the same day other customers were very happy of the service we provided. Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience Kind Regards Fatima Belmare Travel Sorrento
star-4
Great guide! Cheap trick! Read the info carefully!
Murtadha_H
, Jul 2022
I gave 4 stars purely because of the guide who was fantastic, very knowledgeable and funny. Made the trip worth it. Downside is that there's a bit of trick where if you don't read all the information you'll be Blindsided by an extra 16 euros per person price of tickets to enter Pompeii. This info seems to be purposely mentioned last in (what's included) so that you don't notice it if you don't click on "see more" quite a cheap and totally legal trick. If you don't notice it you're the fool. I didn't like that at all but again, the guide is amazing so it's worth it.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Murtadha_H Thank you for your review. I just want to inform you and all the other customers that are reading your review that as soon as we receive a booking we send an email confirming meeting point and time and informing customers that entrance fees are not included. Besides, when you book it’s quite clear that the admission tickets are not included. It's unfair to say it's a trick, as we really work hard to provide a good service and first of all with honesty and transparency. There's no trick at all as it's clear that admission fees are not included. By the way we are glad you appreciated the service we provided with our knowledgeable guide. Thank you for sharing your experience Kind Regards Fatima Belmare Travel Sorrento
star-5
Great Pompeii trip
MICHAEL_G
, Jul 2022
Well organised tour. Gino the tour guide was professional, informative and light hearted. It was so nice to have a guide who gave you all the facts about Pompeii. Not having to worry about tickets was a bonus too
star-5
Fascinating with Perfect tour Guide
swanspost
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide Gino was was Absolutely perfect from the train journey, his knowledge of Pompeii was Outstanding & his humour was excellent which made Our 2 hours pass very quickly. Pompeii is definitely a must on your viewing list as it’s history & size is fascinating. Wear good walking shoes, plenty of water & sunhat as it’s warm even in the morning.
star-5
All went smoothly met...
stephen_m
, Jul 2022
All went smoothly met lovely amelia at sorrento station outside newsagents as in photo.She gave us tickets to train and took 16 euros for pompeii fast track.Met guide gino at station and 10 am train to pompeii station took 40 mins.Easy walk from station to pompeii entrance.Recommend toilet break and grab water before enter site.Gino local guide born in area and tour in english with headphones so we can hear gino and not get lost.saw all main sites in pompeii more to see if wanna spend hours there.Gino very amusing and knowledgeable.Time to take photos.Tour of site 2 hours appx and can browse souvenir shop and museum free.Return train at own pace goes every 30 mins appx back to sorrento.Recommend bus from port to train station unless enjoy walking.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour!
Andrea_L
, Jul 2022
The tour guide has a lot of great facts about Pompeii and was very friendly. They made it easy to find everyone and clear directions. I was by myself and felt very comfortable.
star-5
Gino is AMAZING!
Mallory_L
, Jul 2022
Our guide, Gino, was INCREDIBLE! He was very knowledgable and had great jokes. Highly recommend the tour with Gino!
star-5
A fantastic value for money Pompeii trip
Paul_R
, Jul 2022
Gino, our Pompeii guide, made the trip amazing. His English is impeccable and has a wonderful sense of humour. He made Pompeii come alive with stories and information about the ruined city. The trip was one of the cheaper options as he travels with you to Pompeii by local train, which became part of the adventure. The guided tour lasted approx 2 hours which was just right due to the heat but you can stay and explore as long as you want after.
star-5
Pompeii with Gino
Robert_W
, Jun 2022
Super tour with Gino our tour guide. He gave us a fabulous tour of Pompeii based on his many years of being a guide. The highlight for us was when he produced am old photo taken of the last Vesuvius eruption taken from the streets of Pompeii in the 1940s... Thanks Gino!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent experience
Kenneth_D
, Jun 2022
Gino was a great guide, kept us going with his funny jokes and comments eventhough our tour was on a very very hot day. He made the whole experience very enjoyable, educational and memorable. Can't imagine walking around such a big place on our own. Thank you very much.
star-4
Very good tour with Josie
David_H
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Josie, was really good and knowledgeable. Tour meets at the train station, ride together to Pompeii, get the guided tour for 2 hours, and when it's done you can either stay and look some more at your own pace, or leave with the guide. Either way, you have your own return train ticket, so it is very easy. If you're only doing the tour to "skip the line", I'm not sure you need it -- I didn't see any line at all at the ticket booth. But the tour itself is very good, and then you still get to go at your own pace afterwards if you wish. (And all of the logistics are taken care of). I'd recommend this tour.
star-4
Tiring 2 hours
Alan_A
, Jun 2022
The brothels and the frescos. Tour guide Josie was very good and informative in the limited time. Staying in pompeii after the tour we saw some interesting parts that were not included in the tour due to time schedule.
star-5
Guides were amazing! Gino...
Grace_M
, Jun 2022
Guides were amazing! Gino our tour guide was the best tour guide I’ve ever had! They made sure we got on the train and off but also looked out that we were all together at the park
star-5
Excellent experience. Both Amelia and Gino were very impressive and informative.
Patricia_S
, Jun 2022
Gino the experienced tour guide made all the difference to our tour with his excellent information and sense of humour!
star-5
Great guide with loads of information and interesting information
Robin_M
, Jun 2022
Great and interesting information amazing remains and great guide with super information and very knowledgeable
star-5
Impressive
Christine_S
, Jun 2022
Gino was a fabulous guide, he was very knowledgeable, funny and moved us through the tour well under the hot sun!
star-1
Hello, we weren't able to...
beth
, Jun 2022
Hello, we weren't able to attend because our cruise ship had to change ports from Sorrento to Amalfi. I was in contact with the tour guide to let them know our situation and asked if we could get a credit toward another tour since it was not our fault. They said we could not get a refund or credit. We have 6 more days on the cruise and would definitely be interested in booking a different tour in another port if we were given some credit for a situation out of our control.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear beth, we are always very helpful to our customers, but the first time I personally heard from you it was Saturday morning when I called you on the contact number you provided to check where you were, as the train was leaving.No reply, just an automatic voice message. I left you a message. I also sent you a txt. Only at that time you replied and said you had the problem with the boat. By the way I offered you to go another day,besides it was beyond the cancellations terms, but you declined We accept your 1 star review, but this's not fair. Kind Regards Fatima Belmare Travel

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

star-4.5246

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$22.76

star-4.523

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.90

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.09

star-4.52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.91

star-4.595

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$77.61

star-56

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$119.00

star-41

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.43

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.30
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations